Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,079 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

RS

8 de oct. de 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

VP

13 de sep. de 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filtrar por:

401 - 425 de 1,580 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Sayandip S

10 de abr. de 2017

A very good introduction to functional programming. Challenging and mild at the same time. Good content, worthy assignments and an awesome instructor.

por Guillaume H

17 de dic. de 2020

A course well structured, with challenging problems. Figuring out the problems allow to gain confidence in the in and outs of functional programming.

por Georgreen

22 de jun. de 2019

Good stuff. Challenging, informative and learn from first priciples. The professor is rather experienced he knows his stuff. I recommend, try it out.

por Chris T

18 de sep. de 2016

Great tour of functional programming features. Only slight improvement I would suggest is to give some more practice making functions tail-recursive.

por Vivek G

8 de ago. de 2016

Very informative and challenging assignments. Well organized lectures and moderate pace. Kudos to the entire team for organizing this course. Thanks.

por Rich Y

15 de may. de 2018

Great course,it's useful for me to review functional programming, and give me a fundation to learn spark and go far. Thanks for professor's efforts!

por Julien G

16 de ene. de 2017

Excellente introduction à Scala, Martin est très pédagogue dans ses vidéos. Qui de mieux que le créateur du langage lui-même pour vous l'apprendre ?

por Daniel S

25 de feb. de 2019

Very good training for base functional programming princicples

in Scala. Many interesting examples and exercises provided by Martin in good pace.

por Navid Q

4 de nov. de 2016

I found this course very helpful to gain deeper understanding of Functional Programming Principles as well as getting familiar with Scala language.

por Dmytro P

20 de dic. de 2016

Thanks, awesome course. I will do the course again to make sure I understand everything correctly. There were few moments really difficult for me.

por Patrick L

28 de ago. de 2016

Nice to hear teacher, passionate about the language he invented, and (a bit surprisingly, due to the complexity of the subject) easy to understand

por Valerio B

25 de mar. de 2017

This course not only teached me functional programming principles, but also helped me a lot in learning how to write concise, readable and elegan

por murmelssonic

29 de may. de 2016

Excellent course. It's good to already know how to program in some C-like language before you start, as the exercises are reasonably challenging.

por Miguel R

30 de ene. de 2021

Great introduction to Scala language and FP concepts. Examples and problem sets are detailed and related well to material from lectures. Thanks!

por Dinh B K

16 de ago. de 2020

This course is awesome. It got me addicted to scala language. I actually solved a real problem of my company using the idea of week 6's exercise

por Aria A

26 de may. de 2018

One of the greatest course I've ever taken! Martin Odersky's teaching is also very great and he gives great insight into new way of programming.

por Tri N

12 de dic. de 2016

Rigourous introduction to Functional Programming. Harder than most of tutorial books but the reward is a better grasp of Functional Programming.

por .the. m

8 de mar. de 2021

It's not as hard as it sounds. But it's still hard. Especially if you try to write in the FP style. It remains to take the rest of the courses)

por Deleted A

16 de ago. de 2016

This is an excellent introductory course for those who want to learn the principles of Functional Programming taught by an exceptional profesor

por Suhas K

19 de mar. de 2022

​Nice introduction to Scala and functional programming, It changed my way of thinking but will be better if they explain the space complexity.

por Antonio M

11 de oct. de 2018

I finally understand the functional programming paradigm thanks to taking this Course. It is well-structure, and I had a ton of fun taking it.

por Luigi F

11 de dic. de 2017

Learning the basics of Scala with this course was really simple thanks to the amazing set of videos!

Exercises were fun and non-trivial at all!

por Joohong K

25 de sep. de 2017

I regret that I didn't study this before I study JavaScript. All the puzzles when I study JavaScript resolved while I am studying this course.

por Joaquin S R M

17 de jul. de 2016

Excellent course, really interesting. Progressive assignments. Sometimes it is needed to spend more time in some lectures ( a little theory)

por Korntewin B

21 de dic. de 2020

Best course so far for functional programming, software engineering principles and scala. Strongly recommend! Though, it is a bit too hard ;)