Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,060 calificaciones
1,632 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

RS

8 de oct. de 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

AJ

23 de sep. de 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtrar por:

1351 - 1375 de 1,575 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Daniel Z

5 de ago. de 2019

I thought this course was really hard. The lectures are 1-2 hours of video every week and the assignments are very challenging. Some of the videos are in the wrong week. Wish case classes were better explained. I learned SO SO SO SO SO much though. This is NOT a course you can zip though. I thought I would do it in just 7 days...NOPE!!!!

por Eric M

11 de ago. de 2016

The material was fantastic, but the lectures seemed to be a bit basic in comparison to the actual coding assignments. Even after understanding the martial covered in the lectures it felt at times as if the coding assignments were drafted against an entirely unrelated topic (or at least by someone with a completely different approach).

por Leonhard R

5 de abr. de 2018

Great for getting started, all the assignments can be solved in reasonable time and help in really understanding the concepts.

Some parts of the course materials are a bit outdated though (e.g. the project files for the last assignments don't work out of the box, you have to fix the path to the text file containing the words)

por Zeb A

13 de jun. de 2017

The concepts in this course are essential to understanding scala. However, I feel as though the instructor (Dr.Odersky) doesnt properly prepare students for the assignments present in the course with his materials. FP in scala (red book) is far better at teaching these concepts once you learn the basics from the videos.

por Sean L

27 de may. de 2017

Very good overall, although it gets too abstract too early with the material in Weeks 3 and 4, before become more concrete again in the final two weeks. I would have reordered that material, placing the Scala Collections API material before the discussions of how Scala's object-oriented and functional aspects interact.

por Deleted A

5 de feb. de 2018

It is a good course. However, what I find missing is having real world examples instead of trying to solve something libraries have solved. I understand the effort is to understand the concepts and data structures, but this could be done in a nicer way too. Including some real world examples could be quite helpful.

por Gonzalo R

16 de nov. de 2017

The pace of the course is greate anda the excercises are challenging yet affordable. A little more clarity in some aspects of the excercises would be appreciable. Also, I would have liked to get a "best" or "correct" result after I passed each excercise to check my solution against someones with more experience.

por Gerard k

10 de sep. de 2016

Good course, learnt quite a lot even as someone with some existing experience of Scala. The exercises were challenging but not too difficult and the estimated completion time is pretty much spot on. Just a shame that the automatic grader and verification systems are less than reliable on some of the exercises.

por Mark M

28 de oct. de 2017

Excellent class but feels (and is) cut and pasted from previous incarnations. Sometimes the professor will reference something covered "last time" that was not covered at all. Coursera, it would only take a minimal effort to clean up these inconsistencies!!!

Still an excellent class that I strongly recommend.

por Andrew P

7 de nov. de 2016

The course was good exercise, and Martin does a very thorough job of covering the topics of the course. I do wish the course focused a bit more on the assignment problems. There were some interesting problems to work on, and I don't think the discussion forums are a very helpful way of covering those topics.

por lu

14 de may. de 2017

Good introduction to functional programming using Scala! FP is quite different to imperative programming, it has a higher level of abstraction. I think every programmer should have some knowledge of FP. However, this is just a course to tell you some principles and not a comprehensive Scala course.

por Christopher M P

19 de jul. de 2021

It's an interesting course, but it has a tough learning curve and skips the basics. For many of the assignments, I found it was best to go a few lessons ahead to understand how to do them. Also, needed to watch a few Scala videos on youtube to figure out terms they had glossed over or zoomed by.

por Yaroslav R

5 de abr. de 2020

Although I adore the use of SICP, gotta say that connections between some parts and lectures were a bit jumpy.

But overall it's a great intro into Scala and FP for those who knows nothing about both of them, and especially the latter: otherwise, this course might be a bit easy and boring to you.

por Gianfranco Y

4 de jul. de 2018

Really challenging course that demands a lot of thinking and reasoning. Even though I got to finish it I think there were times the assignments were kind of hard and not need to be it, since applying the learned concepts to slightly simpler problems will get the same result. TLDR Good course

por Pedro P

8 de dic. de 2016

In general is very good, but the assignments are sometimes extremely difficult. Also, assignments have questions that are ahead of the current week, they as things that were not included in the lectures, so you need to watch the lectures of the one week ahead to be able to understand them

por Nathan B

4 de sep. de 2016

This course is a great way to start learning Scala and functional programming. Would have given five stars, but the coding examples were sometimes boring and difficult to take in. I would suggest using smaller examples to present material and making the full coding examples optional.

por Carl A

18 de feb. de 2021

Tip: No need to install Intellij idea. Just use your text editor + command line. Definitely NOT a beginner course on programming or algorithms. You should have taken some other course on algorithms otherwise this course's assignments will just frustrate you. Otherwise it's alright.

por Cazuya M

18 de abr. de 2022

This is a great lesson for me to study Scala and encourage its technology. And I find it a bit difficult to learn ...

If possible, I think it would be better to have an annotation "which files need to be selected and worked on" (maybe this is a given in the programming community)

por Deleted A

19 de jun. de 2017

Have a background in the subject before you take the class. I had to switch sessions because I had never taken a class in Functional Programming and found myself in over my head a few times. I really enjoyed the class once I had a better foundation in the concepts. Good Luck!

por Michael B

5 de mar. de 2017

A word from old time programmer: More basics, fewer complex problems.

More stress onto the language constructs, control structures, functions, control abstraction ... rather than .. figuring out algorithms without having basic understanding how things can be done in Scala.

por Menno d B

3 de ago. de 2020

The videos, especially the instructor, were very clear and very well-paced. The assignments were fun and challenging enough. The only improvement I could think of was the feedback provided by the auto-checking. Personally, I experienced trouble with this only in assignment 3.

por Marc V

14 de dic. de 2017

Good introduction to Functional Programming concepts through scala.

It will be interesting review the practices with other students in order to see other way to solve the challenges.

Some of them put me at limit of my recursive programming.

I go ahead with the next course.

por Daniel W

22 de ago. de 2020

Very precise and clear lectures with an emphasis on the structure of programs. I could only ask for a little more introduction to functional programming patterns for solving combinatorial problems, but working through the exercises will lead to that eventually anyway.

por Dimitri M

2 de ene. de 2022

When I attended the first Scala MOOC on Coursera by Mr. Odersky, I loved Scala immediately but back then I had no experience in functional programming. Now, thanks to my React experience and my study of Pytohn, I can fully appreciate what Scala 3 has to offer.

por Oliver K

14 de may. de 2017

This is a really good course to learn functional programming in scala. I felt the homework assignments sometimes to hard, but this is likely due to my lack of functional programming experience. More advanced programmers would probably welcome these challenges.