Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,061 calificaciones
1,632 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

AJ

23 de sep. de 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

VP

13 de sep. de 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filtrar por:

1401 - 1425 de 1,575 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Brad H

1 de oct. de 2017

A very good introduction into FP, but there is much still to learn and explore. Same for Scala. The exercises were challenging but doable. Looking forward to doing more with Scala.

por Alessandro F

11 de nov. de 2019

If the speaker was a bit more fluent in English, the course would be perfect. The transcritions should be reviewed too, but that's too much to ask for a course so complete!

por Patrick A C

12 de feb. de 2018

The course was good generally, but the lectures didn't always cover material needed for homeworks. In particular, there wasn't enough lecture material about efficiency.

por Hao W

7 de feb. de 2021

The assignment is relatively harder than expected. Extra efforts are needed to finish assignment especially for students who are a beginner for functional programming.

por Daniel F G O

8 de jul. de 2019

It's a nice introductory course to functional programming. More than Scala is a functional programming course. It allows students to learn how to use immutable objects

por Mohamed A D

6 de may. de 2018

This course was a good introduction to functional programming. However, I am not giving all the stars because I think some of the assignments are slightly a bit hard.

por Jussi J

29 de nov. de 2016

A good introduction by the creator of Scala himself. However I feel that this course is a condensed version of a longer course, so that is why I give 4/5 and not 5/5.

por Juan A A

1 de ene. de 2018

The contents are great. Some assignments have the problem that all tests pass in the local machine that they don't work on the Coursera sever when they are submitted

por kieran s

14 de nov. de 2017

Great course, but some exercises are very challenging for any beginners who wouldn't be motivated to push through. Still better than almost anything else out there!

por Nahum P

20 de may. de 2017

Gives you insight into different thinking in recursive way.

The major problem, that it doesn't allow people not used to recursive thinking to get into problems fast.

por Juha K

8 de nov. de 2016

Great introduction to functional programming, and you'll get to learn the basics of Scala at the same time. Some of the assignments have a bit cryptic descriptions.

por Luye H

27 de sep. de 2020

well around intro to scala and FP principle. nice to learn from the original author of scala with good breath and depth. However the assignment is quite difficult.

por felipe b h

3 de sep. de 2019

Very good all in all. Seting up environment is a little bit difficult ans it makes beginning rather cumbersome, but then the clases and the material are excellent

por Jim R

4 de jul. de 2017

Last assignment is insanely hard! And I think one of the unit tests used during grading takes order into account where it shouldn't (subtract assessment - assess)

por Romain G

27 de jun. de 2017

I learned a lot in this course. Lots of it I knew, but now I feel I understand the basics better. Very well worth the time and efforts to complete this course.

por Facundo Y

19 de jul. de 2021

All classes are very well explained and the excersises are very interesting to do. The only negative thing is sometimes the excess of theorical definitions.

por Mauro K L

14 de oct. de 2019

Excelente curso, aprendi muito sobre programação funcional. Quem não tem muito conhecimento sobre Java pode ter um pouco de dificuldades em algumas etapas.

por Juraj V

29 de sep. de 2017

Good introduction to scala principles. However some assignements are little bit hard, more concentrated on algorithms than scala itself. But I recommend.

por YACINE G

8 de nov. de 2018

Very interesting course, and a pretty challenging one. I particularly loved how the nitty-gritties of the Scala programming languge have been presented.

por özgür a

24 de jun. de 2017

Although the course lacks some details, I really appreciated it, especially the assignments emphasizing the coding format and testing. I learned a lot !

por Jessica C

7 de may. de 2017

I feel like I learned quite a bit about functional programming. I was always curious about Scala since my college days. I highly recommend this class.

por Juan J E

22 de may. de 2018

I would have liked to see examples applicable to situations closer to the business reality, despite that, I really liked it and I recommend the course.

por Aschwin W

20 de sep. de 2016

High level course. Exercises are academic of nature. You might need more time to finish the exercises. I appreciate that this is a well formed course.

por Dani G

21 de oct. de 2016

Great Course to be familiar with the functional programming principles. Missing a little bit more solved examples and some more fundamental materail

por Jose C C F

16 de may. de 2020

It could have some more tests for the code in the assignments, otherwise its kind of difficult to test your own code. At least one test per method