Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,060 calificaciones
1,632 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

RS

8 de oct. de 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

AJ

23 de sep. de 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtrar por:

1451 - 1475 de 1,574 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Rajiv T S

27 de jul. de 2017

The course was a little more involved than I expected, but nevertheless worth the time you invest in it.

por ravi c

1 de jul. de 2017

Need a bit more active participation in discussion forum. Other than that very well articulated course.

por Carlos G

24 de abr. de 2017

This course is very good, but subject sequence, presentation design and user interaction could improve.

por Edward P

1 de feb. de 2017

I took more than 12 hours to finish the assignment for week 4. The estimate (3h) is likely to be wrong.

por Mykyta M

3 de feb. de 2021

The source provides with great theory, but practice assignments sometimes get way too complicated.

por Arnoud H

2 de jun. de 2019

Bit chaotic at the start. Later some nice functional programming paradigms and scala internals.

por Kelvin G

2 de ene. de 2019

Not very (functional programming) beginner friendly, but absolutely worth the pain and effort!!

por Michał P

13 de jun. de 2017

A bit dry at times but overall a comprehensive introduction to functional programming in Scala.

por Marco v S

7 de ago. de 2016

Covers fundamental theory well and examples and exercises are chosen well to make it practical.

por Alessandro M

28 de may. de 2020

Course is very good and is explaining very well how to start Functional Programming in Scala.

por Michele L

19 de jun. de 2018

great course but missing the possibility to download the code of the exercises in the videos

por Pooshan V

19 de oct. de 2018

Need more practice walk through exercise. Need more example and steps. Overall really good.

por Wolfgang M

31 de mar. de 2018

Very good introduction to Scala. Elegant programming shown by Mr. Odersky was fun to watch!

por Vilmos Á

21 de oct. de 2016

I really enjoyed completing challenges, but videos were a bit too theoretical for my taste.

por Kevin T

30 de jun. de 2016

Assignments up until the last one were relatively easy, which is the only criticism I have.

por Obada A

1 de oct. de 2016

the only problem here is the assigments, they are hard and unrelated somehow to the videos

por Edgar T

2 de may. de 2020

Great introductory course for those starting a journey in Functional Programming or Scala

por Hardik S

22 de oct. de 2018

Challenging course if you are joining without any past formal education on CS concepts

por Rúben A M d C

23 de ago. de 2017

very good course. Teached the basics of scala and allows for more courses to be taken

por Rudolf Z

29 de jul. de 2017

Good explanation of Functional Programming basic concepts. Assignments are also good.

por Kuba F

3 de ago. de 2016

Great course to learn basics for Scala, but for me too much math related assignments.

por Roger F C

13 de jun. de 2017

Little bit hard. But the teacher is a genius... So its dificult to follow some times

por Shriraj B

16 de mar. de 2020

Good Course to wrap up with scala, and how to think functionally when writing code.

por Eduardo C

27 de jul. de 2017

Good introduction, some information seem to basic to be able to solve the exercises

por Hanif N

4 de ago. de 2016

Really helped me understand the basic concepts of functional programming and Scala