Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,079 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

RS

8 de oct. de 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

VP

13 de sep. de 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filtrar por:

326 - 350 de 1,580 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Jude O

9 de ene. de 2019

Absolutely amazing course, I've never enjoyed learning a new programming language as much as through this course. The programming assignments are challenging and interesting too.

por Swagata P

3 de ago. de 2017

Simply unbelievable. I completed twitter scala school before so could skip the language parts. But the rest was truly amazing. Want to revisit the contents again as much as I can.

por Peter T

6 de jun. de 2016

A very profound introduction to Scala and Functional Programming. This is not just another explanation of syntax and language features. It touches many topics of computer science.

por VIRAJ B

14 de may. de 2019

Enjoyed the course! Functional programming is a different way of thinking about programs. Assignments helped to re-enforce the learning. Thanks to Coursera and the course staff !

por fang z

25 de ene. de 2017

It is definitely a great course, from which I have enjoyed so much of functional programming and Scala. Hopefully, I can achieved other courses related to functional programming.

por Roberto

30 de ago. de 2016

Amazing course, well presented, with interesting study cases in every lesson. The course shows very well how rich Scala is as programming language.

I will recommend it to anyone.

por Ravindra N

23 de sep. de 2018

Very good introductory course. I'd recommend it for folks who have experience with imperative programming and are trying to transition to a more functional style of programming.

por Basanth R

20 de dic. de 2016

Great introduction to scala. For best results, read the scala book concurrently or immediately after this course. And of course, follow up with a real project on scala at work.

por Ravikiran P

17 de abr. de 2021

very well taught course. The concept of conciseness is introduced and included in every aspect of this course. A very mathematical approach to problem solving and programming.

por Piyush B

22 de jul. de 2017

A must take course for anyone who wants to get a good hold over syntax and semantics of Scala ... and develop his skills through a purely analytical and functional approach :)

por Jose C

5 de may. de 2019

I think the content of week number 6 is a bit complicated so it would be good if it is expended a little bit with a few more examples, other than that the course is excellent

por Darcio L

15 de mar. de 2018

Don't try to learn Scala (or FPL) with less than that. There are easier sources, but none of them are going to make your foundations really muscular like the Odersky classes.

por Nicolás V O

3 de feb. de 2017

I have been programming in Java four years ago (all my degree) and this course help me too much. Understand the functional programming is very important for every CS student.

por Revathy M

25 de mar. de 2018

I have started understanding Scala from different perspective as I am new to functional programming - tough though and a long way to go. But I am happy that I am trying out.

por David O

6 de ene. de 2017

Well structured initiation to functional programming with Scala. You convey very well the mindset required for functional thinking. Thanks for making this course available !

por Michał C

24 de sep. de 2016

I have participated in this course with pleasure. The functional programming is depict clearly and systematically with great examples - that is why I blame it for my 100% :)

por Mehul R

21 de sep. de 2016

very nice course . For me the content is very dense , I end up watching videos twice .

It is challenging. I just love it . Feels like stop doing anything just learn scala :-)

por Gilsomar N R

21 de nov. de 2017

Excellent content, professor and exercises. I'm really learning what I expected before I begun this course - functional programming concepts and techniques. Thank you all!

por Reuben P

20 de oct. de 2016

I highly enjoyed this course, there were aspects of the scala syntax that befuddled me but were made clear quickly. It also solidified my grip on combinatorial searching.

por Andrzej P

11 de nov. de 2021

fascinating course, but in my opinion assignments are focused a bit to much on solving algorithmic problems, and a bit to less on practicing functional programming skills

por Loc N

23 de ene. de 2020

The programming assignments are very informative and well-documented. The guidelines are there to scope your project while allowing you to explore many solutions at once.

por Eric S

30 de jun. de 2018

This was a hard road for me. This course was really my first dive into programming. It took a little prep work from me to successfully pass this but it was well worth it!

por Nikodem L

13 de ene. de 2018

From the master itself. Not only it contains description of the basics of FP programming but also interesting and concise solutions to a few classic programming problems.

por Alex S

12 de mar. de 2017

Great intro to scala and functional programming!

I'm time poor and I found this course excellent in terms of chunking tasks in manageable exercises over a number of weeks.

por Kanak K R

21 de oct. de 2018

This course allowed me to leverage my skills in Scala and learn more about functional programming, and how to use the concepts to design algorithms and code efficiently.