Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,046 calificaciones
1,632 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

AJ

23 de sep. de 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

VP

13 de sep. de 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 1,574 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por Eric P

26 de feb. de 2017

This is a great course. I was new to Scala but had previous programming experience with functional programming but I could learn a lot. The lectures are very interesting, the examples are great and the assignments' level of difficulty are at an appropriate level.

por MAGDELENAT P

22 de jun. de 2016

Excellent! Would just like to get Martin's solutions (not for the solution but for the explanations that lead to the solution) cause even though I passed it I am not sure that all my decisions were that good :-). Anyway a must have if you're into FP and/or Scala!

por Erick H

27 de may. de 2017

I really loved this course. It was very challenging but every assignment was rewarding. Assignments were set up well and easy to submit (right from the command line). Learning how to code the functional way has really changed my perspective on coding in general.

por Kristofor K D

19 de feb. de 2017

Great course with a very in depth look at functional programming principles and specific Scala implementation details. It may have been a little maths heavy in the examples and assignments but the videos were interesting and concise and the instructions clear.

por Peppe D G

25 de mar. de 2018

Excellent course. Challenging and engaging. The course is a mix of programming, logic and maths. Professor Odersky is engaging while delivering very rigorous lectures. The programming assignments were challenging but very enjoyable.

Highly recommended.

por Dave C

10 de mar. de 2017

There are other courses to help you learn Scala (LinkedIn is a great resource) as an enterprise language. I felt the real benefit here was on the focus on learning to approach problems with a functional programming mindset with scala just being a tool.

por Max S

3 de feb. de 2020

While pretty specific to Scala it stays general enough to give valuable insights into functional programming in general. Additionally lots of specifics and reasoning about Scala and functional programming in particular is given that I found very good.

por Martin K

17 de feb. de 2018

Very nice course to grasp the fundamental parts of functional programming. Also a very good introductory course for Scala that focuses on understanding the internal implementation of Scala's components such as Lists, etc. I definitely recommend it !

por Seshakumar

7 de jun. de 2020

This was an eye opener to the world of functional thinking. This course teaches Scala not just as a programming language but as a gateway to functional paradigm. Thinking of usual declarative algorithms in a functional sense was challenging and fun.

por Niko G

20 de ago. de 2016

It was a pleasure attending Scala lectures. Recently I have started implementing spark jobs at my workplace so the knowledge gained in this course has been very valuable and applied right away to solve real-world problems. Big thanks to Mr. Odersky.

por Saurabh P G

28 de feb. de 2017

I would like to thank Prof. Martin Odersky and his support staff for putting up such a great course. All the sessions through out the course are very well planned and to the point. It is really great course for beginners to Scala world. High Five!

por Paul K

4 de may. de 2021

Excellent course to get started with Scala and make start with learning a completely different way of thinking (I have a Java background). The assignments are difficult, but doable, and finishing this course gave me a great sense of accomplishment

por Tang

6 de ene. de 2019

suggests for those who have at least one or two years of programming experience, some homework are much harder than your typical coding interviews. But it's really rewarding, because it's hard, and when you finally get it right, it's all worth it.

por Juan C V A

12 de mar. de 2017

I really enjoy this course, Martin was very precise on how explain and teach each topic. Topics were easy to follow and understand. Practices and assignments help me to handle and understand functional programming. I like to recommend this course.

por Allison L

12 de sep. de 2018

Super accessible; a good primer for those who aren't super comfortable with functional programming. I think that it is well-organized and helped me refresh on several things (I previously took an introductory OCaml class and needed the practice).

por Jonathan P

25 de jun. de 2017

Great course and the challenging exercises are ones you will find in University level programming courses. When I learned C++ I was presented similar data structures and algorithms that Professor Odersky used in his tutorial videos and exercises.

por Jean-Francois T

14 de jun. de 2016

Though learning deeply a language is always a challenge, this lecture focuses on constructs that makes Scala functions and exhibits good exercises to use recursions and functions.

This is, I think a good start to become a good scala developer

por Prastitis A

29 de jun. de 2017

Not only the language that Martin Odersky created is amazing! He is amazing too! This course gives you a good intuition on how the language is, it teaches well the functional programming principles and the lectures are very student friendly

por Елецкий Д В

22 de abr. de 2021

Thank you for the course! I was already familiar with the basic aspects of the Scala language, but I was still interested in diving into the details. I still don't understand why each week's task is duplicated, but everything else is cool!

por zili m

2 de ago. de 2017

This course offers a carefully designed material and lectures to understand important basic elements in scala. It is a very good way for any newcomer of CS to learn it as an introduction course of algorithm, programming and data structure.

por Pablo M

12 de sep. de 2018

I have lot of experience on object oriented programming and software architecture in general. It was really hard initially to think the solutions in a different way, but it was worth it the effort and investment of time. Thank you Martin!

por Andrey K

13 de ene. de 2017

Befor this course I've finished "Programming in Scala" (3 ed.) so there were no groundbreaking ideas for me. And still it was useful to check my knowledges by taking assignments. I'd recommend this course for anyone who is learning Scala

por Brage G

10 de mar. de 2021

Very good course, simple and understandable! The only thing I would comment on would be that it would be nice to have copies of the pre-prepared worksheets given so you do not need to retype everything before proceeding with the lesson.

por Erick F

19 de abr. de 2018

Great introduction to functional programming in general, you might need to be familiar with some basic concepts of functional programming, but I never felt lost in it. The difficulty is just right and the pacing is perfect. Recommended.

por mario c

15 de abr. de 2017

I really appreciated this course and found it very helpful in understanding functional programming. It's well structured and it will bring you to deal with problems of increasing complexity. Thanks so much to Prof. Odersky and Coursera.