Chevron Left
Volver a Buddhism and Modern Psychology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Buddhism and Modern Psychology por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.8
estrellas
5,492 calificaciones
1,888 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Principales reseñas

CV
2 de mar. de 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC
15 de nov. de 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 1,859 revisiones para Buddhism and Modern Psychology

por eduardo c

14 de may. de 2020

Es un muy buen curso, especialmente por su apertura a las nuevas corrientes de la ciencia, en particular, las neurociencias y las experiencias que investigan los cambios a largo plazo en el cerebro de quienes meditan o han meditado durante mucho tiempo. Muy buen profesor, Robert Wright establece excelente rapport con la audiencia con la ayuda inestimable de sus mascotas, Milo y Frazer. Plantea dudas para ampliar el scope de sus análisis, ofrece varias alternativas ya exploradas y videos de quienes las desarrollaron. Este es un punto muy alto del curso. En síntesis, muy conforme, felicidades al profesor Wright, logró cautivar mi atención en muchos de sus videos.

por Nighat M

7 de jul. de 2017

This is a wonderful course, both in terms of well-organized content, office hours and reference materials and in terms of insights it provides into a Buddhist way of life. I also enjoy the interviews Prof Wright conducts on Meaningoflife.tve.

I have benefited tremendously from regularly listening to the lectures and the reading materials assigned for this course, and have recommended it to several friends. Prof Wright is a great teacher, and I love his elegant, understated sense of humor.

I haven't been active on the discussion forum or FB. Nor have I been able to submit the first assignment yet, but this does not mean I am not following the course diligently.

por Mariam A

17 de oct. de 2017

Excellent course! I had the chance of taking it around the same time Prof. Wright's book, Why Buddhism is True, hit the shelves, so I enjoyed reading several interviews about the book and the subject of this course in mainstream Buddhist online magazines and publications. It was really interesting to put it all in perspective and read the critiques' opinion pieces too. The course itself is very well organized, the structure is clear, with many references, good examples, even anecdotes. Dr Wright's teaching style is lighthearted and enjoyable, yet very clear and on point. If you have an interest in evolutionary psychology and Buddhism, don't miss this course.

por Mark L

27 de may. de 2019

Four and a half stars!

I enjoyed this course and learned a lot from it. As a meditator, someone who has an interest in science and pshchology as well as buddhism, I found the course enlightening and was particularly interested in some of the parallels drawn between the buddhism and modern psychology. This course provides insight into the workings of the mind. Points for improvement are amending the time requirements as the additional resource section took hours to complete rather than the 10 minutes or so alloted. I liked Robert style and the way he shares his thinking process, but sometimes felt he could have got to the point a bit quicker than he does.

por Brittany H

4 de abr. de 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed the content of this course, and writing the two written assessments. Peer reviewing assessments was a new experience, but I enjoyed reading other peoples views and thoughts and research. I was able to take my learnings and not only use it in my personal and professional life but also able to review it in terms to the similarity it has to my own culture and has really encouraged a break-through perspective to my outlook. Highly recommend - although I personally prefer self-directed research, and struggled to walk some of the video lectures, they were filled with information and were a great insight to support my own research. 10/10

por Madras A R K

23 de oct. de 2017

I found this course a lot of learning and great deal of fun. Prof. Wright's method of teaching allows us to come up with our own ideas and insights from our experiences and journey. I found the extra suggested readings, more importantly the video discussions (one hour long with Bhikku Bodhi, Prof Kurzban) meaningful and augmented the learning substantially. I am planning to enroll in Vipasana for 10 days in Igatpuri, India.

Also the last two weeks I was in Myanmar and met with Therevada Monks. The country follows the teachings of the Buddha quite in a pure form. Most kids go through being a 'novice'. Most come out. But that grounding seems to help.

por David D

26 de nov. de 2015

I really enjoyed this course which was novel to combine some of the essential Buddhist teaching with what modern psychology could support and interpret. I would say, even if you studied psychology and read some Buddhist writers, that Dr. Wright delivers a professional and engaging course that will give one food for thought as well as making clear some esoteric Buddhist concepts one may struggle with. It's refreshing to find similarities between what science and the Buddha postulate regarding the self, attachment and that the assigning of form/feelings to our environment may cause unhappiness/dissatisfaction. Great course and well presented!

por Olivia G

7 de feb. de 2016

I have never encountered a discussion of the first two noble truths that made so much sense to me. Having studied biology and discovered that science could not give me the answers I was seeking, I explored many different thought avenues. I am not a Buddhist, but I can identify with Buddhist thought. But what I absolutely agree with is what His Holiness the Dalai Lama says about the necessary collaboration between Buddhism and science. I think it is the only way for humanity to go to the next level and I think all spiritual and scientific directions should participate in the dialogue.

I am looking forward to the rest of the course.

Thank you

por Deleted A

22 de oct. de 2017

What a great course! It may sound a bit dry or tedious but Robert, the instructor, makes it very exciting and above all hilarious. I'm not sure if he's aware of it but he's a really funny guy. The course strikes a good balance between the seemingly abstract ideas of Buddhism and the learning and insights from psychology. The course starts off quite basic and gradually builds up solid pieces of (sometimes sophisticated) proof/insights that logically answers the question if Buddhism can be considered a (naturalistic) religion. Highly recommended if you're interested in the topic of meditation/mindfulness with a light spiritual touch!

por Ann S

28 de jun. de 2016

Loved this course. It was a lot of fun. The Prof. really cares about the subject and how his students contribute to his own understanding of it. (He takes a lot of time reading students' comments and replying to them during "office hours.") He also reaches out to experts in both psychology and Buddhism and shows you his dialogue with them. Finally, the guiding questions for the assignments are a good challenge and the instructions for structuring the paper very clear. I didn't have time to write the papers but will as soon as I've the time. Bonus: you get to meet his dogs, and they're awesome.

por Wind

15 de jun. de 2017

I've taken more than 10 courses on coursera, edx and udacity and this is the one course that I love most so far! I've read a few books on meditation and evolution by now and I have to say I learned from this professor more than any other people on these two subjects. And let's not forget it's actually a course on buddhism. So thank you so much for this course! One big aha moment for me for example is "evolution doesn't care about whether we're happy but it does care that we care about we're being happy. And that's how evolution 'designed' us to do its bidding." That's so mind blowing.

por Francois Y L

29 de abr. de 2020

Well I really got what I was looking for when I enrolled for the course; which is some sense of what Buddhism was about. I not only got that, but I also got a really good view of how it is linked to Modern psychology. The materials made available for the course are really precious to me and are very useful as I tried to understand the two subjects. They not only deepened my knowledge but also inspired me on different themes and things I want to look into next. I am very grateful to Coursera for making this freely available and for Prof. Wright for teaching his passion with passion.

por Jose M M

11 de may. de 2020

First, I want to express my sincere gratitude to Professor Robert Wright, for his dedication and human warmth. This course on Buddhism and modern psychology allowed me to add new tools to face daily life situations from another perspective. All the material presented in the course is developed in a clear and enjoyable way and encourages us to go on investigating and reflecting. I have enjoyed this course from the very beginning to the end, and taking responsibility for reading my classmates´ assignment has been enriching. Once more, thank you so much Professor Wright.

Jose M Muñoz.

por Susanne W

10 de feb. de 2019

A very informative and intriguing course that draws clear parallels between evolutionary psychology and the concepts behind Buddhism. Robert Wright's lectures offer thought provoking ideas and combine them with vivid, everyday examples to aid understanding of each concept on the deepest levels. . His personal experience, knowledge and enjoyment of the topic at hand are evident in each lecture and he is a joy to learn from. I also enjoyed hearing from the other experts he interviewed throughout the course in this very interesting field of study.

Thank you for a great course!

por Dharav S

12 de ene. de 2017

I personally believe this course should be taught in residential campuses and colleges all around the world. The course does introduce Buddhist ideas, but more importantly, it helps us realize our flaws in a Darwinian setting. It is more about Darwin and evolution than it is about Buddhism. It helps us understand why people sometimes are vicious, irrational or why we act in ways that we don't associate with us. I would recommend the course to everyone I know, and any one who is reading this: just finish the course in one small video at a time and put all of this in practice!

por cheyan

15 de jun. de 2020

It has been an absolute pleasure to study Robert Wright's course in Buddhism and Modern Psychology. As a UK journalism graduate, with no previous knowledge whatsoever in this field,

I had the urge to branch out a try something different during this pandemic, I am so glad to have taken took that leap.

I have been constantly gripped into the lectures, independent study and research. It is an insightful course that teaches you at an introductory level but progresses you to strive further and learn more about the traditional Buddhist teachings and modern psychology perspectives.

por Tom S

18 de nov. de 2015

I admit to being a novice when it comes to Buddhist thought, but I've followed Robert Wright's work since reading The Moral Animal many years ago. I found the course to be a wonderful introduction to Buddhist thought, but more importantly an inventive and thoughtful attempt to connect that worldview and its prescriptions to current thinking in western psychology. Whether you're interested in evolutionary psychology, neuroscience or mindfulness - or better yet, all three - I think you'll find this course well worth your time. Mr. Wright is a wonderful writer and teacher.

por Kristina R

23 de jun. de 2016

Professor Wright is very engaging and knowledgeable! He breaks down Buddhism in an intellectual manner that does not demean the spirituality of it, but also does not adhere to it. This makes the course both educational and easy to digest, for anyone with an aversion to spiritual matters (which you will learn in this course may be a source of suffering...). I am only on the 2nd week of lessons and can't wait to see this through to the end! In an unattached appreciative manner of course... haha. Thanks to everyone that put forth the effort to design and share this course!

por Zoraya M O V

6 de oct. de 2021

I am infinitely grateful to Dr. Robert Wright for planning this course, I feel that it will be of great use to me from now on, my idea of meditating had nothing to do with what I now learned from the course, the psychological part was made to me very interesting, but what really caught my attention is how our mind can be so powerful and how we can help it to have control, understand that we still have a lot to know and know each other individually, how meditation is not at odds with science and how both, hand in hand, can contribute so that people have a better life.

por Ricardo A

24 de feb. de 2019

It is a pleasant and amusing introduction to Buddhism and Modern Psychology. This course focuses on meditation as a way of trying to reduce the impact of unproductive patterns of thinking. I find it an interesting and worthwhile course. Mr Wright proposes interesting theories based on natural selections. The central points in the course is how our modern life presents us with stimuli that were useful in our prehistoric environment but which cause us to overreact. Meditation makes us realize this and temper down or eliminate our responses and bring peace to our mind.

por Andrea

18 de sep. de 2016

I loved this course, the professor is very clear at explaining and giving different points of view of the theories. Personally it was a huge help because of the situation I was in when I enrolled in the course and I think having a different view of the world and ourselves is incredibly useful and positive, This course helps attain just that so I highly recommend it for someone who wants to test a little their ideas and perceptions of the world and themselves because its not just a theoretically course because it has science and experiments that help support ideas.

por María d R M G

10 de jun. de 2020

Considero que es un curso fundamental para todos los seres humanos.

Mediante el esfuerzo del Dr. Robert Wright y sus invitados a este curso, se puede concluir que sí es posible afirmar que la sabiduría ancestral del budismo tiene un sólido respaldo científico a través de las investigaciones y descubrimientos de la psicología evolutiva contemporánea. Estos descubrimientos brindan comprensión y certeza a la práctica de la meditación como elemento para alcanzar una vida más tranquila y acercarnos lo más posible al camino del sentido de la vida.

por Anna P M

19 de oct. de 2016

Overall, the course has been very satisfying and it has provided me with precious knowledge concerning not only psychology and Buddhism in particular but also religion, philosophy and the way science can creatively interact with them. The lectures were almost always very easy to follow and Dr. Wright explained all concepts in a very clear and interesting way. I would maybe decrease the length of certain video lectures though. It is totally recommendable to anyone wanting to discover new perspectives that are based on really up to date facts.

por Daniel S

17 de jun. de 2016

Prof. Wright provides students with an insightful range of knowledge which is bound to impact the way you see the world. I congratulate the professor, the teaching/research assistants, my colleagues and Coursera as a platform for making this a truly enriching experience. I registered for this course not knowing what to expect and it is revealing to see how an online class has provided me a way to see the world anew, bridging differences between the East and the West, the ancient and the modern, and the humanities and the sciences. Thank you!

por Tamer D A

21 de ene. de 2018

Buddhist principles and values have come to the attention of all scholars in all ages since its inception thousands of years ago.

Wright has an academic approach to Buddhism and treats his sources impartially and with the requisite profundity needed in this field. Wright has briliantly structured the course to be accesible for all while demanding submissions and participations from students hailing from a wide-range of backgrounds.

Wright´s good sense of humor brings new light to Buddhism.

Thank you Coursera and Mr Wright at Princeton.

Tam