Chevron Left
Volver a Buddhism and Modern Psychology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Buddhism and Modern Psychology por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.8
estrellas
3,449 calificaciones
993 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Principales revisiones

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 977 revisiones para Buddhism and Modern Psychology

por Lukáš H

Mar 10, 2016

Robert Wright is analyzing buddhist thesis through the scope of modern science. The course helped me to understand better the effects of meditation and human behavior, while backing up the arguments with tons of research and latest theories of human perception and decision making. I liked also numerous guest hostings with various insights from different fields starting with monks and ending with top scientists. Highly interesting and meaningful course.

por James D C

Feb 13, 2020

"Welcome to the real World".

An awesome course. The lectures and various interviews are well done, prudent, and has great flow in the topics one session to the next. Office hours were insightful and entertaining (two puppies are good models). A very fair grading system with peer review; moreover, gives the opportunity for peer interaction on this beautiful "way of life".

Thank you Prof. Robert Wright and all those who shared in your life and knowledge

por Luciana D A

Jul 28, 2017

I absolutely loved this course. I really liked the format in which the content was presented. The way the lecturers were structured and organised made the ideas discussed extremely clear and easy to understand. The content is really interesting and I never thought modern psychology and Buddhism shared so many similarities. I felt my mind expanded and I started to see things differently. This is exactly what I look for when I sign up for a course.

por Karina W

Jan 17, 2017

Robert Wright is if not the most eloquent person I have seen, at least one of the most. His lectures are clear and the subject is super interesting. As far as the third week videos go, I have not yet seen any statement from him that sounded presumptuous or extremely partial. The way the lessons were organized and explained, I believe, were planned for the western people that sometimes may be a little more skeptical of subjects such as Buddhism.

por James L S

Dec 01, 2015

I have been studying and practicing Buddha Dhamma for nearly 20 years and I would say this course is excellent. The lecturer is informed, and is able to combine ancient and modern knowledge in an illuminating manner. The lecturer is enjoyable to watch and is open to suggestions and constructive comments. Overall this is an excellent introduction to Buddhism and Modern Psychology and how they inform each other in a mutually beneficial synthesis.

por Alexa F

Mar 07, 2018

Thank you Robert Wright! I feel like I have gained a wealth of knowledge about Buddhism and meditation from a Naturalistic view of Buddhism and through many scientific perspectives. Robert truly put a lot of hard work and dedication into this course, and, if you commit to it, you can learn so much. It felt rewarding to write a mid-term and final, as well as read the perspectives and knowledge of my classmates. I am so happy I took this course.

por Amit C

Mar 17, 2019

The course relates Psychology wit Buddhism in simple and most understandable way , the best part about the design and presentation given by Dr.Robert Wright is how he connects the evolution with Psychology and both of these with Buddhism . The flair of using lots of examples and relevany real-life situations makes this a perfect learning for beginners as well as established personalities both in field of Psychology and practice of Buddhism.

por Catrina

Dec 13, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I've always been curious about Buddhism and didn't really know what to expect. I'm a science nerd, so this fit right in. The course does a good job at pivoting back and forth between science and spirituality and then tying them back together. I can't wait to learn more-- this feels like just the beginning. Thanks to Dr. Wright for putting this info out there so concisely. It is much appreciated.

por Serra

Oct 28, 2016

During my 29 years of career, I have rarely had time to develop myself in the subjects that I wished but were unrelated to my profession. This course was fascinating for me now that I have just retired and am on a journey to do the things that I love. Mr Robert Wright has presented the material in a very organised and interesting way. There is a lot of food for thought. I definitely will sign up for any course that is to follow.

por Kate

Jun 20, 2016

This course was excellent. Robert Wright clearly and entertainingly covered complex and interesting material. He wove important themes throughout the course. His use of guest speakers and interviews was very helpful. His office hours were engaging and meeting his dogs was fun and instructive. I feel I really learned a great deal about Buddhism and Modern Psychology. I would definitely take another course with Professor Wright.

por Joly F Z

Sep 11, 2016

Thank you for putting this course together. I found it is extremely useful to understand Buddhism. especially selflessness with psychology knowledge. It gives the Buddhist philosophy a scientific foundation. It also helped my mindfulness meditation journey, gave me much clearer picture on what to 'watch' during the meditation journey. I recommend this course to anyone who's interested in Buddhism, Mindfulness, and meditation.

por Victoria D

Oct 13, 2018

This was my introductory course into Buddhism but also into how the neurological processes inside our brain impact our thoughts, feelings and actions. The material was very clearly presented but most importantly it was engaging enough to get me interested in the theory of self and mindfulness in a way I did not think possible. So I would say the course gave me an entirely new perspective on life, which is why I appreciate it

por Rebecca A S G

Dec 10, 2015

I loved Robert Wright before I took this class (I have read all his books and have REALLY enjoyed them!), and I love him even more after taking this class. His personality is fun, thoughtful, open, and kind (... and he's not bad to look at either), and his knowledge regarding Buddhism and Psychology is great. I learned quite a bit from this class. Thanks so much for this course. It's my favorite Coursera course thus far.

por Patty L

Sep 18, 2016

Professor Wright did an outstanding job of presenting the fundamental principles of Buddhism and Evolutionary Psychology in a manner that a newcomer to these disciplines can understand. My greatest take away from the course will be further exploration of these ideas through the varied and rich resources he provided. My personal favorites were Bikkhu Bodhi, Judson Brewer and Joseph Goldstein.

Thank you Professor Wright

por Jasna T

Jul 18, 2017

Robert Wright gives and amazing integration of Buddhism with Psychology. He teaches in unique way, integrating professionals and spiritualists and their conversations and insights into the lessons. The lectures are interesting and enjoyable adding much value to one's own personal development. It was a wonderful couple of month journey, I even feel like I'm gonna miss Robert and Maylo and Frazier. Strongly recommended!

por Shannon O

Oct 29, 2015

I still only partially through this course but I am very impressed. The professor is excellent; he brings humor into the lessons and explains everything in a way that we can understand. I also love the fact that he interviews various experts throughout the course in order to bring in even more perspectives. This class is extremely interesting to me and beyond my expectations. Thanks to the professor and to Coursera!

por Mihkel H

Feb 06, 2017

I'm very happy to have found this course. He has put together a sound explanation of what ulimately troubles us, the origins of those feelings, and solutions, starting with first taking a step back and understanding the big picture and then, well, in theory that shoud do it. However far teachings like this take people, I only see positives for someone, who understands the inner workings of a brain a bit better.

por Charles D S

Jan 11, 2017

Excellent course. Thoughtfully presented, by an instructor with considerable expertise in the field of evolutionary psychology who has also spent a lot of time thinking about religions and religious experience. Wright is ideally suited to navigate the content, and his interviews with other experts in the fields (and the fields are diverse) add greatly to the learning experience. Fantastic experience overall.

por DanielSubach

Feb 22, 2016

Terrific course and delivered by one of the most intellectual persons I have ever encountered. Fabulous course and well presented in a logical flowing detail covering the concepts and technical relationships exceptionally. Robert Wright is one of the best teachers and assembled a difficult course for delivery in a beautiful fashion. All modules excellent. The flow of the information and logic was great.

por Katya R

Nov 04, 2015

I really enjoyed this course! I have had an interest in Buddhist ideas, particularly meditation, but come from a very scientific mindset and want to see all ideas supported by experiments and empirical evidence. This course does a great job connecting results from psychology and neuroscience that aren't specifically about testing Buddhist philosophy and explaining how they support these ideas.

por Jagdeep G

Aug 18, 2016

The Course is well designed. It takes you through the Buddhist principles and co-relates how the findings of Modern Psychology are supportive of Buddha's teachings.It has normally been held that Religion and Science cannot converge.However this Course has to a large extent been able to show that it is possible to explain the matters of conciousness and beyond in terms of modern psychology

por Joseph W

Jul 06, 2016

I think professor Wright is an effective teacher. The class introduces these concepts in a clear way. It isn't academically challenging in the sense that there are difficult assignments, but there are a couple essays that help ensure that you are understanding the content. It's a great introduction for someone who knows little about Buddhism or how it stands from a psychological standpoint.

por Paula S

Jun 23, 2017

I am only half way through this course but I am addicted! It is exactly what I have been looking for not only to help me understand the basics of Buddhism in layman terms but in to offer scientific explanations to back it up. Robert Wright is easy to understand and easy to connect to, I think he has done an amazing job at putting this course together and presenting it, so I say THANK YOU!

por Matthew B

Sep 21, 2016

Robert Wright does an excellent job presenting Buddhist ideas and putting them into context with modern psychology studies. I felt he offered a unique and scientific approach to the discourses and very much enjoyed his interviews and insights. The questions at the end of every lecture were very helpful to solidify new concepts. I look forward to digging deeper into supplemental materials.

por Gavin D

Jun 07, 2016

This is the first Coursera course that I have taken, and I was extremely glad to have taken it. Robert Wright is a wonderful lecturer - extremely intelligent, engaging and also adds some fun to the content.

Thank you Robert - I learnt a surprising amount in many unexpected areas. I am glad to have encountered you and am already beginning to seek out other material that you have produced.