Chevron Left
Volver a Buddhism and Modern Psychology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Buddhism and Modern Psychology por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.8
estrellas
5,493 calificaciones
1,889 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Principales reseñas

LW
25 de oct. de 2020

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

RB
15 de oct. de 2019

This is a interesting overview about Buddhism comparing with insights of modern Psychology. Very well structured, interesting examples en easy to follow. Sometimes you have to reconcider your thought!

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 1,860 revisiones para Buddhism and Modern Psychology

por Jay L

13 de nov. de 2015

Intellectually challenging yet clearly explained, this is the best class I have taken through Coursera. Dr. Wright is an insightful lecturer and provides a look at both Buddhism and modern psychology in a straight forward way clearing both subjects of unnecessary cultural clutter and jargon. As both subjects are analyzed in a logical, compelling manner, it becomes evident how their relationship informs us about the human situation through our evolutionary past and in our crisis ridden modern world. Very thought provoking and inspiring.

por Kiwi P

10 de jul. de 2021

An excellent online course! It's my very first Coursera course - and I'm glad that I've committed a total of six weeks to study Buddhism and Modern Psychology. I learned so much from Professor Robert! His teaching styles, reading assignments, and paper exams are all super-comprehensive and well-designed. I can't believe this course was filmed six years ago - the topic is still relevant. And I'm sure this fantastic course will inspire more future students!!! Now, I will move on to my next lesson on Coursera. Stay foolish, stay hungry:)

por Harika B

7 de abr. de 2018

I loved this course. It certainly changed my life understanding how mindfulness can help me lead a happier and healthier life. It also helped me benefit from my meditation practice more because understanding the why of what you are doing is so powerful. Now I m trying to prepare a course to help my students meet these ideas, just simplifying them as they are quite academic. Thanks a million to Robert Wright and everyone who contributed to this course. I will spread the ideas and hopefully this will help make the world a better place.

por Ali H

7 de jul. de 2020

The course is essential in understanding the concepts of Buddhism that seem alien or Eastern to North Americans. The way the terms become defined and understood in a logical manner assisted by scientific evidence and rationale promotes Buddhism no longer as a religion but as mechanism for perfecting life that can be attached to any way of life. The presentation of this evidence is unquestionable and scientifically valid. I would not have expected anything less than this level of deliberation from such an esteemed thinker in our era.

por Rajendran V

11 de dic. de 2017

A great course evaluating the Buddhist teachings from the evolutionary psychology point of view. For those who are following a Buddhist way of life this will be a very good course which will fill in many gaps and the confirmation that the Buddhist teachings are true from a scientific perspective as well. For those of you totally new to the Buddhist teachings, the topics presented may be a bit difficult to follow but if you really dig in and do some background study, then the course will be very interesting.

Highly recommended.

por 66_Siddhant T

9 de oct. de 2020

Fantastic Course, I'm Glad that i found this course about Buddhism Philosophy i noted down many points during the lecture and i read them whenever I want, i want to Thank Robert sir that he uploaded this course, i have a broader understanding of this world, about me, and i started meditating during when i heard the benefits of meditation through Robert sir and Buddhist Monks, it helped to calm my mind, focus on few aspect of life that need work, and taught me understanding of Buddha which i wanted to learn since i was a kid.

por Kaan K

5 de nov. de 2020

Robert Wright truly realizes the potential of MOOCs with this course! I wish all the professors out there took example of his approach to online learning with so many office hours, bonus material and links to his other works, interviews with experts and so much more. I'm very thankful for the opportunity to have embarked on this journey with him and I highly recommend this course to anyone who'd like to deepen their understanding of Buddhism with respect to the teaching's connection with Modern Psychology findings. Namaste!

por Matteo T

23 de ago. de 2020

Interesting and modern argument, developed very well thought-out the lessons. Prof Wright is able to lead the discussion in the videos keeping always high attention and interest from the audience (even if the overall remains sometime bit lengthy). Difficult concepts are explained and elaborated in a comprehensive way and supported by the discussion on comments from students (office hours). Two superstars contribute to the success (Milo and Fraiser) and we are waiting for the second course with latest results from science!

por Caroline B

26 de jul. de 2017

It was an incredible journey through two of my greatest passions, buddhism and modern psychology. Robert Wright see the links between them, that I've been searching for a long time. I can now wrap my mind around many things I wanted to understand better. It will help me greatly as a person and as a therapist. Thank you a thousand times ! And thanks to all the sudents giving life to the discussions and evaluating the essays. Special thanks to Milo and Frasier for bringing a touch of humor in the delightful office hours^^.

por Anthony F

29 de ene. de 2016

Having a BA in Psychology as well as continuously studied Buddhism in the past, I find that this class is a perfect example of how those two worlds collide. I've heard in the past that most religions find themselves being disproved by science today, where as Buddhism is strengthened by science. From that point of view, I think this class is a perfect argument why Psychology should be treated as a science rather than an art in society, with its roots founded in the existence of humanity, and the evolution of humankind.

por Anna S

9 de abr. de 2020

This is a really cool course, and I'm extremely glad that I discovered it for myself. I have been working as a psychologist and have been studying Buddhism for a long time, and this tutorial has allowed me to expand my knowledge of both Buddhism and psychology, which I am very happy about. I could not tear myself away from the lectures, the course is very exciting, interesting and useful. Robert Wright sets out the material very well, and his dogs are also one of the cool and fun moments of this course. Thanks a lot!

por Desiree V

4 de feb. de 2016

This is one of the best courses I have taken so far. It is very well and intelligently structured and organized, pleasently presented (less is more, I especially liked the calm and unagitated way) and Professor Robert Write makes excellent and astonishing connections between Buddhism and Modern Psychology/Science. He presents complex matter but has the ability to break it down and to explain it in a way that makes it easy to follow. I learned a lot during this course and greatly enjoyed it. Thank you so much!

por George B

28 de ago. de 2018

A really informative programme. The sessions are very clear and present the material in a very methodical and straightforward way. I found the whole thing captivating, not least because a number of ideas discussed were completely new to me e.g the modular concept of the mind. The lecturer is engaging, knowledgeable and 'friendly', which isn't an easy thing to do in video format! As the course tile would suggest, If you've any interest in Buddhism and/or modern psychology, then this is the programme for you!

por Cher R

4 de feb. de 2018

I've taken several courses on Coursera. I've liked them all, but this was my favorite so far. I also bought Robert Wright's book in addition to a book by Sharon Salzberg referenced in one of the supplemental material videos (week 6). I thought the concepts were well explained, and I enjoyed the short video interviews with experts that appeared throughout. I especially enjoyed the office hours segments and seeing Frazier and Milo. Highly recommended. I will be taking more courses on this topic in the future.

por Graham C

7 de feb. de 2021

I am a serious meditator, and a Teacher of meditation. This course resonated with me. It has greatly expanded my understanding of Buddhism as it relates to Modern Psychology. I found Professor Wright's teaching style to be interesting and insightful. I recommend this course for anyone who has an interest in expanding their knowledge of Buddhism and Modern Psychology.

My thanks to Professor Wright and everyone at Princeton University and Coursera, for giving me this very valuable learning opportunity.

Namaste

por Savieng S

31 de ene. de 2021

Buddhism and Modern Psychology. Great course and fun. Professor Robert Wright has a sense of humor especially about his two dogs. His dogs understand and know how to behave when professor Wright talked Dhamma with them. I think more people should take Buddhism and Modern Psychology so we can all live with our mean, more joyful life. I learned to understand about my life and what is in me. I also learned what/whose controls me. I now see the world and me more pleasant, calm, and happier then before.

por Doug H

16 de ago. de 2020

As a psychologist, with some seminary training, and Christian college teaching experience (25 years) I wanted specific work in this area. I've long been drawn to Buddhism as a philosophy and way of life. I revisited South East Asia (18 months ago) after 50 years of having been in Thailand during the Vietnam war. I was struck by how much Buddhism & its culture had impacted me over my life since 1969. This course has been beneficial to me professionally, and more so personally. Thanks Professor Wright.

por Mara R

25 de oct. de 2017

This course was really mind-opening for me. It had a great impact on me in a positive way. Maybe it came up at the right moment when my interest for both Buddhism and Modern Psychology grew but it is nevertheless an excellent course with an excellent professor. I highly recommend it to everyone interested in these topics. I am definitely going to continue on the path that this course has opened for me and I am very happy and grateful to Prof. Wright for making this course accessible for free. Thank you!

por Yujin L

15 de may. de 2018

what a great intellectual stimulation this course provides! after the course, i loved the instructor so much that i enrolled his "bloggingheads" website and read a couple of his famous publications. he is very engaging and great to explain the complex concepts with humor and clarity. he does ramble a lot during his office hours though, which is amusing and thought-provoking at the same time. i highly recommend it for anyone who is interested in philosophy, religion, evolution theory, and/or psychology.

por Catleah C

9 de ago. de 2016

Professor Wright tells things simply- and in a straightforward manner, even some of the more complex ideas, he explains eruditely. Prof. Wright offers many helpful resources, including third-party experts, the readings, articles, videos, and office hours in particular really help enrich the subject matter. I would recommend this course to any one who has even peripheral interest in psychology or buddhism, meditation, and the scientific implications of the practice. Thank you for offering this course!

por Ulianych D

8 de may. de 2016

The course is number one among all ~10 courses I've taken on Coursera platform! Bullet points:

1) The material is given in a structured way and simple to understand because of every-day examples we encounter in our life.

2) Outstanding audio and video quality of the lectures makes Princeton University's coursers more likely to be taken.

3) The lecturer has touched a various of controversial topics (religions, Buddhism in particular) and masterfully aligned them with a modern psychology discoveries.

por Valencia I

27 de jul. de 2020

Going into this course I had a rudimentary understanding of evolutionary psychology and little to no knowledge on Buddhism. Now I feel like I have a solid base upon which to layer future knowledge on the intersection between these two fascinating worlds. I love how this course is formulated, how it analyzes Buddhism doctrine through the lens of modern psychology. It has revolutionized my thinking and I feel very grateful to Robert Wright and Coursera for this wonderful free resource. Thank you!

por Patricia H V R

29 de sep. de 2020

Buddhism and modern psychology, is an excellent introductory course towards a broader vision of the value and benefits of Buddhist meditation techniques, as it allows a clear understanding of the principles and logic behind them from a scientific point of view. It is even a source of motivation, both to know more about the subject and to constantly cultivate the meditation techniques, since it induces to know more and to become aware of the benefits of linking their practice to the lifestyle.

por Gabriel W

17 de ago. de 2020

This course is very enlightening and different from other courses i have undertaken. I had a different view of Buddhism until Prof Wright introduced me to this course. His relaxed and simple way of explaining the doctrine and linking it to modern psychology with proven research as well as interviewing Buddhist nuns and scholars made it more interesting and understanding. I encourage others to take this course and it will definitely not be a waste of time. Thank your Coursera and Robert Wright.

por KAPIL P

16 de jul. de 2020

This course is one of the must do courses for the ones who want to acknowledge the unseen universal order of human life; the principles of human mind; the simple behavioral response pattern of the human mind. Moreover this course gives a name and and a proper definition for the experiences we had, for those which we weren't able to give a reason why or a name what. Besides understanding concepts and the comparative study , one gets to know the simple facts of oneself moving through the course.