Chevron Left
Volver a Writing in the Sciences

Writing in the Sciences, Universidad de Stanford

4.9
(1,406 calificaciones)

Acerca de este Curso

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Principales revisiones

por T

Feb 01, 2019

The course is so informative that I think everyone should take a try. It provides us a fundamental elements to write in a professional way that is not only for our study but also for our profession.

por SP

May 11, 2019

Fantastic course that's hard to fault. I am not a working scientist but an inspiring writer in the medical / scientific field. This couse refreshed my knowledge and taught me a lot more. Thank you.

Filtrar por:

428 revisiones

por Xiao Qiu

May 17, 2019

It is an awesome course and it helped my academic writing and comprehension.

por Jason Martinez

May 16, 2019

I decided to give this course 3 stars because the science content was a little overboard for my purposes. I could have benefited more with more examples of how and when to use grammar, style and structure. Instead, I felt like I needed to be a scientist to understand those examples.

por Nedyu Yasenov

May 15, 2019

I was searching for slightly different course, more in direction 'Medical writing', and found by chance the one by Dr. Kristin Sainani. Still, I found the course very useful! I is structured very well and covers all topics needed for academic writing. It goes even beyond, covering particular types of written pieces like review papers, grants, letters of recommendation, and personal essays. I found units 1, 2, 3, discussing the key principles of effective writing at grammatical level, very useful, but my favourite was unit 8 about the communication to broader audiences (e.g. writing newsletter articles) including handling media relations. Great asset of the course are the live demos - really excellent job! Units 4, 5, 6, 7 were very informative, but less useful for my area of work.

A small recommendation would be to improve the sound of some few videos.

por Patricia Byrd

May 11, 2019

Excellent course - I highly recommend it!

por Joel Abunda

May 11, 2019

It was an excellent course.

por Sam Porter

May 11, 2019

Fantastic course that's hard to fault. I am not a working scientist but an inspiring writer in the medical / scientific field. This couse refreshed my knowledge and taught me a lot more. Thank you.

por Xiaoge Gao

May 11, 2019

Wonerful Course! It helped a lot in improving my writing skills. Both the teaching materials and homeworks are well designed. I sincerely recommend it to all the college students who need to wirte a scientific paper. It is a good representation of the high quality education from the esteemed Stanford.

por Edgar Chivunze

May 10, 2019

I learnt so much in less than 8 weeks.

por Ahmad Alobaid

May 09, 2019

I highly recommend this course for academics and grad students

por ropafadzo amanda banhwa

May 06, 2019

i managed to learn a lot from this course for writing