Chevron Left
Volver a Writing in the Sciences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Writing in the Sciences por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.9
estrellas
3,713 calificaciones
1,280 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Principales reseñas

IA

Aug 26, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

KK

Sep 15, 2020

Hello Kristin\n\nThank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 1,278 revisiones para Writing in the Sciences

por Jyoti T

Jun 02, 2020

'Writing in the Sciences' is a must-do course for young budding scientists. It clears some of the unknown myths of scientific writing together with providing best tips and tricks for publishing it. The course outline is very well organized. I loved how Dr Kristin Sainani explained things in an engaging way.

por Dhara S

Sep 19, 2020

I loved this course! Dr. Sainani is really great at explaining how to write for different forms of medical writing and it really helped improve my writing to target the correct audience! I 100% recommend this course and think it's a great start for anyone interested in the field of writing in the sciences.

por Parimal C B

Jun 29, 2020

Learning "Writing in the Sciences" has helped me to move further in my writings. Dr. Kristin Sainani has been an excellent and wonderful coach; she made the course simpler for us to digest. Overall it is an awesome course. I would recommend it to those who wants to learn or improve writing in the sciences.

por Marta G

Jun 19, 2020

I have learned how to write fast and be productive. I trained myself to cut the clutter from clauses. Now, I can edit more successfully, as well as avoid unnecessary scientific jargon. Thank you to Dr. Kristin Sainani for such engaging classes and an enormous amount of valuable details all in one course.

por Fabian R

Sep 15, 2020

Thanks to Kristin for this enjoyable course. It is the second time that I take it. The first was four years ago, and I didn't know if this will be different and better. How can will be possible?. My surprise is that the course was excellent, with new examples and topics. I was delighted to enroll in it.

por Jennifer W

Jun 16, 2020

This was a really useful course, full of skills to help make my writing more engaging without dumbing it down (for other scientists and for the public). Dr Sainani is an excellent lecturer, and the content of the modules has been exactly what I needed to take my science writing to the next level. Thanks!

por María C F R

Apr 13, 2020

This course is AMAZING. I can't believe how much my writing style improved in such a short time. The videos are clear and interesting. This definitely impacted my professional life as a science student. I recommend this to everyone who wants to improve their academic writing, even if it's not scientific.

por Anita L

Jun 20, 2020

For someone without a science background, this was very helpful. The modules and exercises were engaging and challenging. I highly recommend this course to anyone who needs a refresher or guidance in general writing. Dr. Sainini is a great teacher with several ideas on how to present the information.

por Larionov M

Feb 17, 2020

Greate course! Wery well-prepared lectures and presentations. Firs parts of the corse (about writing and editing) was very useful for me, but the part about communication, in my opinion, shut be additional. The lecture about statement of purpose was amazing! Many thanks to the author of this course!!!

por Hongxin Y

Jan 06, 2020

This is a great course that can improve your writing in the sciences tremendously. I learned a lot of skills and got more confidence to write a science paper. Thank you so much Dr. Kristin Sainani for your excellent explanation and advice. The actual editing examples and interviews are also invaluable.

por Christina W

Sep 30, 2019

This course does an excellent job at giving a broad overview on how to write in the sciences. Not only does it go over some important grammar rules but it also delves into the different types of writing that is done in the sciences such as research papers, lay public summaries, and scientific articles.

por Xiaoge G

May 11, 2019

Wonerful Course! It helped a lot in improving my writing skills. Both the teaching materials and homeworks are well designed. I sincerely recommend it to all the college students who need to wirte a scientific paper. It is a good representation of the high quality education from the esteemed Stanford.

por matthijs s

Jul 17, 2019

Very usefull course. Basic advice and tips on academic writing but also more in depth on sentence structure, grammar ander punctuation. not only on articles but also grants and personal essays, very good interviews with chief editors and other people. enough practice to get a good start with editing.

por Hira F

Apr 22, 2019

This is an excellent course for everyone, either from science or non science background. I loved the way Instructor speaks. She is so polite and lovely. Thank you for all that I learned from you.

I suggest to add videos related to submitting paper to Journal, that is also a difficult job.

Regards

Hira

por Muhammad I

Aug 13, 2020

“The course was refreshing, interactive, and interesting. A good mixture of the instructor’s engaging presentations and experiences with enough time to do the quizzes and assignments.”

“The course provides handy tips that will help to improve the overall skills and knowledge in writing in sciences.”

por Martha C M

Jul 05, 2020

The instructor truly makes editing easy! I was amazed how skillfully she changed overwhelming scientific reporting into enjoyable and meaningful reading. The variety of material, assignments and guest speakers throughout the course complemented the instructor's brilliant presentations. Thank you!

por Erin W

May 27, 2020

This is a great course! Dr. Kristin Sainani did an excellent job going over how to write scientific papers. She clearly and concisely went over each topic and gave helpful tips for better writing. I definitely recommend any upcoming researchers take this course to help them write scientific papers.

por Chukwuemeka A

Apr 16, 2018

An awesome course; one I should have undertaken ages ago. It has helped improve my understanding on how to write in the sciences and through the exercises, to be a better writer. Actually in writing this I unconsciously found myself editing my post to reflect the new skills - it has such an impact.

por Székely I

Aug 18, 2020

This course is useful for those who are new to writing scientific articles. Still, it is helpful for those too who already published scientific papers. I enjoyed the course overall, even if I don't have a degree in medicine. I suggest widening the scope of the writing assignments to life sciences.

por Chia-Yun, L

Jun 06, 2020

The course is great for writing in the sciences. What is even better is Dr.Kristin Sainani invited a lot of speaker in this course and solve problems from different perspectives.

I really enjoy the class and getting feedback from peers.

and now I am ready to start my first scientific publication!

por Shifra N

Mar 14, 2019

Thank you so much Dr. Sainani for giving me the confidence to start writing.

I had been looking for a course on effective writing such as this for years. This course answered all the questions I had on writing - and introduced me to essential writing techniques.

Excellent course! Thank you again.

por SAQR T

Jan 15, 2018

Previously I worked desperately on summarizing papers in my field of interest but I failed to construct a simple summary paper repeatedly, I could not find a helpful course to assist me out. I was lucky to find this course on COURSERA.com, because no such class/course is offered in my university

por Ranju N

Dec 27, 2017

This course has helped me better my writing skills. I also understood the untold rules of scientific writing. It also gave a good practice for what I learnt and I continue with the progress. The instructor was explained the chapters very well with great examples that has engrained in my brain.

por Cassie R

May 08, 2020

I really found this course incredible insightful and clear for assisting in my scientific writing. It pointed out a lot of my blind spots, and gave me many 'a-ha!' moments. I'd highly recommend it for scientific writers of all levels, even to just refine technique and help correct bad habits.