Chevron Left
Volver a Writing in the Sciences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Writing in the Sciences por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.9
estrellas
7,433 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Principales reseñas

AG

11 de ene. de 2023

The best course I attain in Coursera. I struggled a lot to write my first manuscript and it took a lot of time. This course is beneficial for all scientific students. I highly recommended this course.

AL

3 de jun. de 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 2,478 revisiones para Writing in the Sciences

por Renuka P

9 de jul. de 2020

Thank you so much Dr.Kristin Sainani for this excellent course. A course covering all the topics step by step. I have started this course as a free course, as I don't know the course would be completed by me or not. But I completed the course & took the certificate only because of your pretty way of teaching. Now I want to start my career in medical writing. Thanks to Coursera also for providing this course.

por Kurnia F

8 de nov. de 2021

This course is a great and amazing. I am an medical technology laboratory and this course very helpful to my job because i never received courses like this in formal school. My writing has improved significantly, this courses teach me how to edit paper, critical thinking, interviewing a scientist and writing in social media. I think everyone must try this courses. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera.

por Eleonora B

12 de jul. de 2022

This course gave me a lot of useful tips to improve my writing. The examples provided convinced me that scientific papers can be accurate but also interesting and enjoyable to read. The homework helped me realize that I often make "bad" writer's mistakes by comparing my answers to the example ones, so now I know exactly what to work on. I'll keep these writing tips in mind when I'll write my first paper.

por Antonio T

18 de abr. de 2019

This course should be a "must" for any PhD students or prospective researchers. It gives a clear method for writing scientific research with good examples, and helps to "clear the fog" we (students) usually have when drafting our first article. It also provide a guide on how to manage workload (and writing techniques) to avoid frequent mistakes among young writers. I wish I had known this course earlier!

por Danijela P

24 de jun. de 2020

Scientific writing seems so easy and simple when Dr. Kristin Sainani speaks about it! When you try it yourself, of course, it's not quite like that ... at least in the beginning :) This course allowed me to get one step (and not a small one!) closer to that goal. It helped me structure the topic in my head and make things simpler and easier - in thoughts and sentences. I am infinitely grateful for that!

por Maciej B

7 de jun. de 2020

It is an excellent course, full of precious information and it was a pleasure to take part in. Some of the information were very surprising to get to know, as some teaching models of how to write papers are usually totally different (lots of clutter and passive voice). Thus, it made me feel more comfortable to change my mind about scientific writing and try to experiment on this, using gained knowledge.

por Anne T

17 de dic. de 2019

I found Writing in the Sciences incredibly helpful and challenging. I wish I had known about this course when I was handed a manuscript assignment without having had any previous experience writing a journal submission. Dr. Kristin Sainani is clear and concise (and personable!) in her presentations. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is or will be writing scientifically or needs a refresher.

por Swadhin S

25 de may. de 2020

The course covers lots of technical aspects of writing manuscript, review, recommendation letter, and science news. The course is very helpful for biological science grad student/postdoc. There are real examples of good and bad writing from Nature/Cell/Science journals. The quizzes at the end of each module are easy—if someone carefully listens to the video. I would highly recommend taking this course.

por Adam R

8 de jun. de 2020

As a high school student in South Korea, this course has assisted me in developing the writing skills that I did not have and also helped me to receive grant for my current project!

It is a great course that is so helpful now and I believe it to be even more helpful in the future!

Thanks to Dr. Sainani and many other doctors and professors who have put in their effort to create this WONDERFUL course!

por Fabio M M

23 de nov. de 2020

Very complete course, which give an exhaustive overview of all there's to learn about writing in the science, with many practical examples and exercise. Dr. Kristin Sainani is a very competent scientist and writer and very able to communicate the lessons with explanations and humor. She also gives her personal opinion on various aspects of writing, which is good in this case, in my opinion.

por Heder d V

2 de ene. de 2019

This course has been an eye-opener. I used to dread writing new, original articles. I could barely bring myself to start. This course has provided me with useful tips and tricks to start writing more effectively. It has also thought me more on the basis of writing, and on some tendencies that exist in academic writing.

Thanks to this course, I now look forward to writing my next manuscript!

por Jorge V

23 de jul. de 2018

The course has met all my expectations as it added pertinent information to my knowledge and answered basically all of my questions towards scientific writing style. Kristin Sainani has proven overwhelming qualified as a writing coach, encouraging me to write more confidently and clearly. And last but not least, this course addresses only what is relevant or pretinent to a piece of writing.

por Reza J

18 de oct. de 2021

I found this course almost necessary for anyone who's interested in continuing an academic career as a PhD student. It was a bit hard for me to solve the assignments as I'm not a native English speaker but later it became a reason to be able to search more deeply and efficiently ! I've recommended this course almost anywhere online, to pay Coursera back ! thanks for this great opportunity.

por Simone S

4 de jun. de 2020

It was a pleasure! A great course I can only recommend.

Very well chosen real-live-examples taken from current research literature.

I was able to deepen my grammar knowledge in English as well as gain experience with writing styles. I have developed a feeling for the linguistic differences between German and English. And I was surprised how precise you can be with a few well-chosen words.

por Muhammad A R

1 de feb. de 2022

This online course is very informative and helpful in scientific writing. My writing has improved with basic skills, academic writing, editing and grammar. I would like to say thank you to course instructor Dr. Kristin Sainani, and Coursera team for wonderful lectures and presentations. I highly recommend this course to everyone who want to become effective writer/author of a publication.

por Virginia S

3 de ene. de 2022

Dr Sainani is knowledgeable and enthusiastic. She obviously loves writing and inspires me to pursue this as a career. I always knew my writing style had issues such as wordiness, but she nails these problems and their solutions in the course. She even helped me to brush up on areas that I considered my strengths. This is one of the most practical and enjoyable courses I have ever taken.

por Ana C d S

20 de jun. de 2020

An incredible course! I can’t say enough about how much I’ve learned. It leads you through most types of texts you might find in scientific field in a very simple though complete way. However, I’d recommend it to students - specially graduate - from areas related to Medicine or Biology. Math, Physics or Engineering students might feel a bit bored, althouh they can benefit from it as well.

por Sheetal D

7 de jun. de 2020

The teacher is very enthusiastic and has done wonderful job. The difficulty level of the course increases slowly and steadily. I think there can be one more session on news and communication article. Grant writing module is really useful. My only criticism is course gives examples mainly from biological sciences and other sciences are kind of ignored. In all wonderful learning experience.

por Safeena A

2 de nov. de 2018

This course has polished the hidden scientific writer inside me. This was a totally new experience, and I am very thankful to Coursera team for offering such skill-polishing courses. The most important thing I learnt from this course is that scientific writing is not always meant to be too hard to understand, we can make our writing very simple and easy to understand. Highly recommended!

por Lluis C B

30 de ago. de 2020

I would like to acknowledge Dr. Kristin Sainani for the great initiative of this course, open to the broad scientific audience. Writing in Science is comparable to switch on the lights—everyone assumes light will happen, but the difference when turns to write in science is that most of the time it does not. Here comes the need for more similar courses along the scientist's career path.

por Pedro C S F

6 de jun. de 2018

I am happy that this was my first (actually finished) on-line course. I really liked it. It is very well done, very pragmatic and instructive. I found the teacher great - engaging, fun, direct... I liked her a lot. I have started applying some of the learning, I hope the course content will stay on-line because I am sure I will need to revise certain areas as I put them to practice.

por Zhao L

16 de dic. de 2021

I'm not a native speaker; I have no medical background.

This course really helps since it equips me with a simple but complete set of skill to write better and think better. The reason why sometimes people don't work hard is not they are lazy, but they lack the techniques to harness the challenges. For me, this course helps me becomes a hard-working student.

Thank you for this course!

por Suping R

25 de sep. de 2020

The course gives a thorough training of scientific writing. The course provides a lot of demo editing to help students to understand. Every minute in this online course worths the value. I should have learned this course when I was in graduate school. I recommend this course to anyone who is in the science field. I hope I still can access to the course to review from time to time.

por KAVATI V

20 de jul. de 2020

The course is very nicely delivered. The Instructor Dr. Kristin Sainani is very effectively taught this course. I learned how to read a research paper and write its summary. Writing a lay-summary of a scientific paper, writing a scientific news story was really interesting. The quizzes and peer reviewed assignments were awesome. I strongly recommend this course for future learners.

por shazia s

5 de feb. de 2021

Kristina Siani is the best course conductor of Coursera, and I take her as my real teacher. The course is excellent, and it has prepared me well for writing quality studies. I am incredibly thankful to the Coursera team, Stanford University, and Madam Kristina Siani for giving me the opportunity of attending such a knowledgeable course with the best delivery I have ever experienced