Chevron Left
Volver a Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
302 calificaciones
71 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The objective of this course is to give students the most up-to-date information on the biological, personal, and societal relevance of sleep. Personal relevance is emphasized by the fact that the single best predictor of daytime performance is the quality of the previous night's sleep. The brain actively generates sleep, and the first section of the course is an overview of the neurobiological basis of sleep control. The course provides cellular-level understanding of how sleep deprivation, jet lag, and substances such as alcohol, ,caffeine, and nicotine alter sleep and wakefulness. The second section of the course covers sleep-dependent changes in physiology and sleep disorders medicine. Particular emphasis will be placed on disorders of excessive sleepiness, insomnia, and sleep-dependent changes in autonomic control. Chronic sleep deprivation impairs immune function and may promote obesity. Deaths due to all causes are most frequent between 4:00 and 6:00 a.m., and this second section of the class highlights the relevance of sleep for preventive medicine. The societal relevance of sleep will be considered in the final section of the class. In an increasingly complex and technologically oriented society, operator-error by one individual can have a disastrous negative impact on public health and safety. Fatigue-related performance decrements are known to have contributed as causal factors to nuclear power plant failures, transportation disasters, and medical errors....

Principales reseñas

HN

Jul 06, 2019

to tell the truth, this is the ever first online class I have ever learnt. This is so amazing, useful for a neurologist like me. Love this and still wait for an advanced course of this online class

JQ

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course! A great review on stuff I should have remembered but of course have forgotten as I've aged. My thanks to those organizing and teaching the course! Dr Quincy

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 71 revisiones para Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

por SUSHIL K S V

May 30, 2019

One of the best courses on Coursera and among the best ones that is from the University of Michigan on this platform. More this way!!

por Peter V

Nov 13, 2019

This has been a very informative course and I am appreciative for the opportunity to journey through this material.

por faina k

Apr 11, 2020

Отличный курс для изучения основ медицины сна. Понятные лекции. Мотивирует к дальнейшему изучению этой темы

por Mohammed M A

Jan 13, 2019

An excellent course designed to address real life problems of sleeping disorders. Thank you all!

por Duane F

Feb 19, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and look forward to continuing my education on the subject.

por kishore k

Mar 05, 2019

It was really useful for me to know about the science behind why and how we actually sleep.

por Jenny

Apr 21, 2020

really good - fantastically knowledgeable teachers, evidence based and interesting.

por Hussein A

Feb 06, 2020

Grateful to University of Michigan for such wonderful course that I learned a lot

por Wiarathis

Mar 30, 2020

I love coursera is important for me to improve myself every day, Thank you.

por Bentata K

Dec 10, 2017

my best MOOC never seen in sleep medicine, Thanks a lot for this great work

por Chalapati J

Jan 01, 2020

Has changed the way I plan my sleep. Very good course, thank you.

por Carlos A M G

May 18, 2020

Incredibly informative and applicable to clinical practice!

por Fiona K

Feb 20, 2020

A great course with knowledgeable and interesting speakers.

por Ковеленова М В

Jan 11, 2020

Extremely useful knowledge to everyone. Thanks a lot

por DANIEL R

Dec 08, 2018

Superior presentation of well organized material.

por Eliezer B O N

Jul 31, 2020

A very good and enlightening course. Enjoyed it!

por Mona v r

Aug 31, 2020

I like it so much, thanks a lot for this course

por Srividya P

Apr 24, 2020

Amazing course! Looking forward to learn more!

por Sadam M Y

Sep 26, 2018

thank you very much , it was very useful

por Dr. D K

Nov 09, 2019

Concise yet thorough. Well structured.

por Aldi L

Feb 13, 2019

Very informative and well explained !!

por Angel S

Mar 17, 2020

Very informative and comprehensive!

por Levi C

Jun 27, 2019

Very interesting and informative!

por Adrian L

Jul 07, 2020

Very enjoyable. I learned a lot

por Dr R d

Aug 14, 2019

awesome and highly valauable .