Chevron Left
Volver a Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
299 calificaciones
71 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The objective of this course is to give students the most up-to-date information on the biological, personal, and societal relevance of sleep. Personal relevance is emphasized by the fact that the single best predictor of daytime performance is the quality of the previous night's sleep. The brain actively generates sleep, and the first section of the course is an overview of the neurobiological basis of sleep control. The course provides cellular-level understanding of how sleep deprivation, jet lag, and substances such as alcohol, ,caffeine, and nicotine alter sleep and wakefulness. The second section of the course covers sleep-dependent changes in physiology and sleep disorders medicine. Particular emphasis will be placed on disorders of excessive sleepiness, insomnia, and sleep-dependent changes in autonomic control. Chronic sleep deprivation impairs immune function and may promote obesity. Deaths due to all causes are most frequent between 4:00 and 6:00 a.m., and this second section of the class highlights the relevance of sleep for preventive medicine. The societal relevance of sleep will be considered in the final section of the class. In an increasingly complex and technologically oriented society, operator-error by one individual can have a disastrous negative impact on public health and safety. Fatigue-related performance decrements are known to have contributed as causal factors to nuclear power plant failures, transportation disasters, and medical errors....

Principales reseñas

HN

Jul 06, 2019

to tell the truth, this is the ever first online class I have ever learnt. This is so amazing, useful for a neurologist like me. Love this and still wait for an advanced course of this online class

JQ

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course! A great review on stuff I should have remembered but of course have forgotten as I've aged. My thanks to those organizing and teaching the course! Dr Quincy

Filtrar por:

51 - 71 de 71 revisiones para Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

por Djana R

Dec 23, 2017

Great course! |Recommended!

por Adrielly K d O M F

Nov 25, 2019

Very nice. I recommend.

por Ahmad Z

Jan 27, 2020

loved this course!

por Marcelo C C

May 01, 2018

Excelent lectures.

por Kleber L d S

Oct 09, 2019

Muito satisfeito.

por Drpiyush k

May 26, 2020

Excellent course

por S. M R

Jul 12, 2020

Good to learn

por Adebisi A A

Jun 19, 2019

Excellent

por ayllin m u t

Sep 17, 2020

good job

por Nayme O D

Jan 27, 2018

great

por Jonathan G

Feb 13, 2018

interesting course. However, it did not, another sleep disorder called Klein Levin syndrome which disrupts the thalamus in the brain that controls sleep. This causes the sufferer to sleep for months at a time or long extended period of time, causing disturbing sleep, increased appetite and an inability to wake up properly.

por Sukru D

Apr 26, 2020

It was a very good course. There were a few issues though: Some subject matter were repeated by different instructors. This which created redundancy. In addition some instructors were too slow or not very coherent. Quizes were fine, reflecting the important points and making me remember the course content.

por Hermela M

Dec 30, 2019

I have always wanted to learn about sleep and its disorders since I was a child. Now thanks to this course, I have learnt a lot about sleep and related issues.

por Sarah D

Aug 18, 2020

It was an interesting course, full of fascinating information. If you want to know more about sleep take this course.

por Joy S

Mar 09, 2020

Way better than the sleep teachout. Gave me info on my own sleep issues, which is what I was hoping to get.

por Burak O

Jan 30, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course but some polisomnograpy lessons would be nice too.

por Michael R

Jun 15, 2020

Unable to take the units I am interested in on the standard track. I will enroll again when I can pay for it.

por J. A

Aug 31, 2020

Nice course...

por Demian O L

Jun 06, 2020

The neurobiology section is the only part that is worth the effort, but more importantly than everything else, time. Everything that int that part of the course is just a filler.

por srinivasarengan

Mar 23, 2020

Excellent learning

por Michael V

Sep 13, 2020

Wanted to enroll in Honors Tract, was not able. Professors seem more interested in talking about course than teaching something. Logistical presentation of course very poor. Impossible to get help.