Chevron Left
Volver a Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.8
estrellas
633 calificaciones
144 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn how to model social and economic networks and their impact on human behavior. How do networks form, why do they exhibit certain patterns, and how does their structure impact diffusion, learning, and other behaviors? We will bring together models and techniques from economics, sociology, math, physics, statistics and computer science to answer these questions. The course begins with some empirical background on social and economic networks, and an overview of concepts used to describe and measure networks. Next, we will cover a set of models of how networks form, including random network models as well as strategic formation models, and some hybrids. We will then discuss a series of models of how networks impact behavior, including contagion, diffusion, learning, and peer influences. You can find a more detailed syllabus here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Networks-Online-Syllabus.pdf You can find a short introductory videao here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Principales reseñas

AB
21 de abr. de 2021

Very well done and explained, full of insight in the social network analysis!!! Lots of ideas about using it in company and team behaviours! Economical analysis of financial contagion is insightful!!!

LN
2 de jul. de 2021

I was new to network theory but the concepts were very well articulated. A whole new way of looking at what makes social relationships, favor exchange(s) and social networks work. Well worth the time.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 140 revisiones para Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

por Yuze J

28 de ago. de 2018

The topic is quite interesting and Professor explains the concepts and theories in a quite understandable way. It is easy to follow the contents and offers me with a basic idea of the modeling of network effect. A very help course and highly recommend!

por Manuel S

9 de jul. de 2019

Excellent introduction to the world of networks. The course covers the basics in a clear and organized manner. I highly recommend it, and after that you are ready to read the literature of the area. Thank you, very much, Professor Jackson.

por David C

12 de jul. de 2018

Very interesting and applicable subject matter taught in a very engaging way. Prof. O'Jackson is clearly incredibly capable in network analysis and game theory and he teaches the concepts in a remarkably concise and understandable manner.

por Diganto X

14 de jun. de 2017

This course is quite helpful as network theory can be applied in epidemiology, economics, sociology and even physics. I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to learn how a certain group of subjects act in real world situations.

por Jaco v d W

28 de feb. de 2021

Great course. Prof. Jackson is fantastic and I enjoyed his lectures. The math is hard, especially if like me you didn't have math beyond high school, but not impossible. Be ready to do some extra work to help figure things out.

por zuselcursos

19 de nov. de 2017

This course is amazing, worth it a lot, I learned about game theory, mathematics, sociology. The teacher is very patient , I liked the practice test on Gelphi and the mathematical background in addition real life applications.

por Vikram D K

23 de abr. de 2017

Lucidly taught by Prof. Jackson. I learned a whole deal of stuff that helps me make sense of some of the literature in economics that uses ideas from network analysis. My background is in economics (Master's degree).

por Pablo M

26 de sep. de 2020

Es un curso excelente que permite avanzar y lograr una mejor comprensión en la teoría de redes y las aplicaciones a economía. Si bien tener fundamentos sobre redes puede ser de utilidad, el curso es autocontenido.

por david l

3 de nov. de 2017

Really interesting. there is a lot of material and a lot of formula to be covered and Prof. Jackson does a great job teaching it.

Also, his book is really intesresting and goest deeper than the videoes

por Josef T

23 de oct. de 2020

Excellent and exciting opportunity get insight into into the interface between the university concept of knowledge of network theory and the scientific approach to this issue. Thanks a lot. Josef Toman

por Lillian D N

3 de jul. de 2021

I was new to network theory but the concepts were very well articulated. A whole new way of looking at what makes social relationships, favor exchange(s) and social networks work. Well worth the time.

por antonio b

22 de abr. de 2021

Very well done and explained, full of insight in the social network analysis!!! Lots of ideas about using it in company and team behaviours! Economical analysis of financial contagion is insightful!!!

por Manoel R

2 de nov. de 2017

Really enjoyed this course. The professor is really good and covers quite a lot of ground during the lectures. Good way to get into complex networks! Probably gonna do some studying on my own now :)

por Sanjoy B

11 de oct. de 2020

Very important course. My suggestion to the Prof. if he can increase the course length and include more details that would be much better or he can come up with advance course on the same series.

por Aruna J

7 de sep. de 2020

Dr. Jackson is clear and concise in his explanations and did a great job creating a high-level overview course on a subject for which he obviously has a much greater wealth of knowledge.

por Moritz P

17 de may. de 2020

Matt is a fantastic instructor and has inspired many new ideas for my PhD project. Putting this course up here for free is extremely generous of both Matt and Coursera.

por Avi C

4 de sep. de 2016

The course is a helpful first step in the field of network science. Presenting clearly many complex ideas that are important for understanding current research.

por Margarita R C G

18 de oct. de 2018

Great course! Teacher gave very good explanations. Examples are very useful. I would love to take a more advanced course of social and economic networks.

por Omar J

7 de jul. de 2018

An excellent walkthrough of the literature. I just wish there were more empirical exercises and and more hands-on work with the data and algorithms.

por Gabriel P

25 de jun. de 2016

A very usefull course very different from others. Although for coursera standars, its very extensive and not so basic, that´s why I think its great

por José M M F

27 de jun. de 2021

P​rofessor Jackson is amazing, the literature cited is extremely recent and lets you know that Professor Jackson is one of its main contributors.

por Erikson A

14 de may. de 2017

Fantastic course! Compelling examples of application and an enthusiasm for the concepts that is contagious. Would love more from Prof. Jackson!

por Carlos A N T

2 de feb. de 2020

Professor Jackson is very clear and insightful! Loved his style of teaching. I hope more Economics professors were such good teachers as him.

por Aldrich W

6 de dic. de 2020

Prof. Jackson is so good at explaining these concepts in the lectures. I have honestly learned a lot regarding this topic and academic area.

por Aron D H

8 de jun. de 2020

The course is extremely interesting and well presented. It is a great introduction to network science with various examples of applications.