Chevron Left
Volver a Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.8
estrellas
577 calificaciones
127 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn how to model social and economic networks and their impact on human behavior. How do networks form, why do they exhibit certain patterns, and how does their structure impact diffusion, learning, and other behaviors? We will bring together models and techniques from economics, sociology, math, physics, statistics and computer science to answer these questions. The course begins with some empirical background on social and economic networks, and an overview of concepts used to describe and measure networks. Next, we will cover a set of models of how networks form, including random network models as well as strategic formation models, and some hybrids. We will then discuss a series of models of how networks impact behavior, including contagion, diffusion, learning, and peer influences. You can find a more detailed syllabus here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Networks-Online-Syllabus.pdf You can find a short introductory videao here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Principales reseñas

MR
1 de nov. de 2017

Really enjoyed this course. The professor is really good and covers quite a lot of ground during the lectures. Good way to get into complex networks! Probably gonna do some studying on my own now :)

SB
10 de oct. de 2020

Very important course. My suggestion to the Prof. if he can increase the course length and include more details that would be much better or he can come up with advance course on the same series.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 123 revisiones para Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

por David C

12 de jul. de 2018

Very interesting and applicable subject matter taught in a very engaging way. Prof. O'Jackson is clearly incredibly capable in network analysis and game theory and he teaches the concepts in a remarkably concise and understandable manner.

por Digant S

14 de jun. de 2017

This course is quite helpful as network theory can be applied in epidemiology, economics, sociology and even physics. I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to learn how a certain group of subjects act in real world situations.

por zuselcursos

19 de nov. de 2017

This course is amazing, worth it a lot, I learned about game theory, mathematics, sociology. The teacher is very patient , I liked the practice test on Gelphi and the mathematical background in addition real life applications.

por Vikram D K

23 de abr. de 2017

Lucidly taught by Prof. Jackson. I learned a whole deal of stuff that helps me make sense of some of the literature in economics that uses ideas from network analysis. My background is in economics (Master's degree).

por Pablo M

26 de sep. de 2020

Es un curso excelente que permite avanzar y lograr una mejor comprensión en la teoría de redes y las aplicaciones a economía. Si bien tener fundamentos sobre redes puede ser de utilidad, el curso es autocontenido.

por david l

3 de nov. de 2017

Really interesting. there is a lot of material and a lot of formula to be covered and Prof. Jackson does a great job teaching it.

Also, his book is really intesresting and goest deeper than the videoes

por josef t

23 de oct. de 2020

Excellent and exciting opportunity get insight into into the interface between the university concept of knowledge of network theory and the scientific approach to this issue. Thanks a lot. Josef Toman

por Manoel H R

2 de nov. de 2017

Really enjoyed this course. The professor is really good and covers quite a lot of ground during the lectures. Good way to get into complex networks! Probably gonna do some studying on my own now :)

por Sanjoy B

11 de oct. de 2020

Very important course. My suggestion to the Prof. if he can increase the course length and include more details that would be much better or he can come up with advance course on the same series.

por Siqi, W

8 de ago. de 2016

Very good course on Social Networks, and also a hard one even for graduate level. Generally assignments are not too tough but fully understanding all the concepts take lots of extra readings.

por Aruna J

7 de sep. de 2020

Dr. Jackson is clear and concise in his explanations and did a great job creating a high-level overview course on a subject for which he obviously has a much greater wealth of knowledge.

por Moritz P

17 de may. de 2020

Matt is a fantastic instructor and has inspired many new ideas for my PhD project. Putting this course up here for free is extremely generous of both Matt and Coursera.

por Avi C

4 de sep. de 2016

The course is a helpful first step in the field of network science. Presenting clearly many complex ideas that are important for understanding current research.

por Margarita R C G

18 de oct. de 2018

Great course! Teacher gave very good explanations. Examples are very useful. I would love to take a more advanced course of social and economic networks.

por Omar J

7 de jul. de 2018

An excellent walkthrough of the literature. I just wish there were more empirical exercises and and more hands-on work with the data and algorithms.

por Gabriel P

25 de jun. de 2016

A very usefull course very different from others. Although for coursera standars, its very extensive and not so basic, that´s why I think its great

por Erikson A

14 de may. de 2017

Fantastic course! Compelling examples of application and an enthusiasm for the concepts that is contagious. Would love more from Prof. Jackson!

por Carlos A N T

2 de feb. de 2020

Professor Jackson is very clear and insightful! Loved his style of teaching. I hope more Economics professors were such good teachers as him.

por Aron D H

8 de jun. de 2020

The course is extremely interesting and well presented. It is a great introduction to network science with various examples of applications.

por Prohnițchi V

21 de jun. de 2017

An excellent and very useful course. Recommend with no reserves to anyone willing to understand the world from a well structured perspective

por Alejandro M M

30 de may. de 2017

Matt is the simple the best! We've covered a lot of different models and examples. Probably the best networks course that you can take.

por Marco R

22 de feb. de 2020

Useful, well taught, well organized. I suppose the coronavirus epidemic gives an opportunity for a real world example next year

por 李楠楠

13 de feb. de 2017

Easier to understand network structure, utilities, equilibrium after illustration. Interesting and attracting course to take.

por Amirhessam Y

30 de oct. de 2016

The course is exceptional, I just wish the instructor would also include chapters that could help researchers in the field.

por Ali K

5 de feb. de 2020

It was really useful. The instructor was clear and the videos and slides are good. I enjoyed empirical exercise a lot.