Chevron Left
Volver a Software Processes and Agile Practices

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Software Processes and Agile Practices por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.7
2,935 calificaciones
405 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course delves into a variety of processes to structure software development. It also covers the foundations of core Agile practices, such as Extreme Programming and Scrum....

Principales revisiones

KC

Aug 12, 2017

I had read about the different agiles methodologies out there but It was until I took this course that I could "digest" them and internalize how to chose the right one for me and how to apply them.

JO

Feb 06, 2016

What other way to learn and understand Software Processes and Agile Practices than to register to Software Product Management at the University of Alberta, Canada.\n\nI rate the course 5 star.

Filtrar por:

376 - 400 de 402 revisiones para Software Processes and Agile Practices

por Rene B

Jun 21, 2019

The course is great, but it seems the creators have abandoned it. There are no replies to issues posted in the forum and many of the reading materials contain links to materials that are no longer available online. I hope this will be corrected soon.

por Mohamed K H

Sep 11, 2019

Good course but need more details in Scrum methodology as it the most famous one in agile

por Masood N

Aug 27, 2019

Overall, very informative.

Sometimes there is a bit of ambiguity when explaining abstract concepts like processes vs methodologies. Also, I find the iOS mobile apps to be less than ideal as I can't take notes while watching the videos easily. Not a sleight against the course.

por Roberto C

Oct 09, 2019

The videos could have more figure explain what is talking about, for example de diagrams of "Task" in the first week I found it really illustrative.

por Freek d B

Dec 22, 2018

It's challenging to teach and learn product management through an online course. You can get an overview of the important topics and learn the theory, but this doesn't enable discussion, exchanging experiences, and forming balanced opinions. A product management does a lot of her/his work by talking (to many different people involved), which is very difficult to train online (it could be done with role playing assignments supported by video conferencing, but I think learning from experienced colleagues in practice is a much better way). The quizzes are often a good way to rehearse the topics that have been explained, but sometimes feel like an extremely simplified black-white view on very nuanced issues.

The best parts of the Software Product Management courses for me were the larger assignments you make that are reviewed by fellow students (getting feedback is very useful and it's also instructive to see what approach your peers took) and the interviews with experienced product managers which offer valuable insights in the complicated situations product managers often have to deal with.

I recommend this course to anyone that is new to software product management and quite new to software development. The course can be a good first step on your path to becoming a product manager, as long as you realize that you will also need a lot of skills that an online course cannot teach you.

por Ayush B

Jan 15, 2016

The lectures were done well. The tests should have more "Real world scenario" questions, then just asking about specifics terms used in a given process

por Alberto G G

Jan 17, 2016

Interesting review of many of the theoretical aspects. It completely lacks practice though. No exercises, no real world scenarios...

por Mylène R

Feb 08, 2016

Could be more in-depth (e.g.Kanban part...)

por HARSHA R

Feb 22, 2016

The course laid out the concepts pretty well but if one had access to the materials, the lectures were not really necessary to understand the concepts.

This was because the lectures were pretty much a re-reading of the materials and more importance could be placed on creating scenarios where the processes would be applicable. This would be a far better use of the lecture time than trying to combine the two and not doing a good job of either.

por Pavel B

Jan 04, 2018

introductory material. going through the pdf doc sufficiently represents the whole course.

por Gresë K B

Aug 13, 2017

Interesting course but sadly presented in a not very exciting and modern way.

por Oliver T

Dec 31, 2015

The course way OK, but it had some flaws.

It was very general and could have gone into more detail, but that was intentional, I guess. No big deal. Then again, the difficulty was way too easy and the quiz questions should be tested for test wiseness. What I disliked the most: The way Scrum was introduced and mapped to the role of a "product manager" was very confusing.

Still, not a bad course though.

por Victor U

Feb 21, 2017

knowledge-based, no skill-based work at all which is weird since the capstone is skills-based

por michael s a

Mar 05, 2016

It was good but so introductory

Instructors just reading the documents

por Siham S

Mar 06, 2018

This course was filled with jargon and definitions. I enjoyed agile topics and specifically scrum and kanban introductions.

por Maqbool K

Nov 13, 2016

Course is awesome but the final 36 questions are really a headache.

por Shaikha A

Sep 06, 2017

lot of information I have to know I forgot some of it

por Joanna K

Jul 14, 2019

Although the information is useful, it would have been better with a bit more interaction, rather than just doing a quiz here and there

por Yvonne G

Sep 10, 2019

course content is good. but i feel like the instructors are just reading the material..i can finish the course by just reading material...

por Kelvin F

Feb 06, 2019

Content very bland and not exciting. Material is very basic, which you can read or learn on other channels for free.

por Setareh M

Feb 12, 2016

It was like someone is reading a book for you. there was no need to watch videos. It wasn't even helping your memory. Just 2 instructor standing still in front of camera and reading from a file in flat voice.

por Nithya R

Mar 29, 2016

Could have been more practice than theory.

por Dimitry K

Nov 16, 2015

Mapping of software product manager to scrum master is IMHO not correct. Some misunderstanding by introduction of scrum (e.g. customer is not a part of the scrum team).

Preparing of a part of an university course by a bachelor of computer science....

por Fiona h

May 28, 2017

It's really quite boring. Instructors are like reading from a textbook...