Chevron Left
Volver a Solar Energy Basics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Solar Energy Basics por parte de Universidad Estatal de Nueva York

4.8
estrellas
925 calificaciones
321 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course gives you an introduction to the fundamentals of solar power as it applies to solar panel system installations. You will learn to compare solar energy to other energy resources and explain how solar panels, or photovoltaics (PV for short), convert sunlight to electricity. You will be able to identify the key components needed in a basic photovoltaic (solar panel) system, such as is found on a house or building, and explain the function of each component in the system. You will also learn how to calculate the electrical demand of a building, how to reduce the overall demand, and then how to design a solar panel system that can meet that annual demand at a given location. You will also compare the different types of pricing models that are being used and key regulatory considerations for grid tied systems (where a house or building is connected to the electrical grid and also generates electricity from solar panels). A capstone design project that entails both the simple audit of a building to determine demand, and a selection of components to design a solar panel system to meet that demand....

Principales revisiones

A

Jun 18, 2020

I would like to thank you and your team for this great course, I'm really appreciated, it was very helpful as starting in this field, and I will be the first one who will take all your next courses

RH

Oct 14, 2019

Very good overview of solar energy and practical knowledge as well as end of course project. to improve, there should be more involvement from faculty in the project as the peer-review is flaw.

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 319 revisiones para Solar Energy Basics

por Narmin G

Jul 20, 2020

good

por Avishkar T K

Jul 13, 2020

Good

por Vimonisha.a

Jun 30, 2020

good

por Arunmetha

Jun 19, 2020

GOOD

por Vajinepalli s s

Jun 17, 2020

nice

por VASANTHAKUMAR B

Jun 05, 2020

NICE

por CHIDIEBERE W C

May 30, 2020

4.86

por Nuthulapati R B

May 24, 2020

good

por Khushhal k

May 20, 2020

Good

por seetharaman v

May 02, 2020

Good

por PATEL A S

Apr 27, 2020

Good

por HAMIT K

Aug 25, 2019

good

por Ganesh A B

Apr 24, 2020

e

por Ignacio P

May 07, 2020

The course is very extensive and complete, covering most of the basic concepts of photovoltaics, from technical/material aspects to financial and employment ones. Some of the concepts and models are confusing as they are a bit out of date and mostly applicable to United States, but can be compared to the rest of the world using links provided. The specialisation isn't enough to guarantee a start in a career in PV, as it points out it is necessary to have other backgrounds in engineering or electricity to manage that goal. But all in all it is a great experience and knowledge achievement, encouraging and rich, giving a feeling of understanding a good amount of basics in this sector, so I strongly recommend it if someone's looking to acquire a first approach into this technology. Looking forward to next specialisations!

por Andrés V

Jun 14, 2020

it is a good training for introduction to Solar Energy design and installation.

However, it was expected to have modules about design the complete PV system, including Inverter DC/AC selection, battery charger selection, battery backup system calculation, orientation of panels, solar panels connection options depending on building orientation...

Maybe a second course would be highly appreciated, a course which involves all the mentioned topics.

Thanks!

por Andras H

Mar 29, 2020

Hello,

i am András from Hungary. I enjoyed this course very much, it was clearly understandable and provided a very good overview on this topic. I am working with PV for a while now as a projectmanager and investor. This course gave me lot of useful information on the background, because i was mainly focusing on the financial side till now.

This is a very good course for those who need basic info.

The Forum should be a bit more active.

Regards,

András

por Julio C G

Jun 16, 2020

I expected to learn more indeed about how to design a photovoltaic system and what components to use depending on the size of the system (PV modules, Charge Controllers, Power inverter, Batteries for energy storage, Meters, and miscellaneous components like wiring, cables, connectors, conduit and brackets). Over all is a good course. I learned a lot because I didn't know anything about Solar Energy. Instructor Neal Abrams explains very good.

por MEHUL S

Jun 23, 2020

The course is very good for mechanical engineering undergrads because it's covers the essential aspects, leaving the solar cell electronics realm and giving a good overview of energy and insolation conceptions. The only disappointment is that it does only focus on United States when it comes to insolation maps, or careers and certifications in solar energy. This should be corrected for the international students.

por Egor S

Apr 26, 2020

The course starts off with great depth of detail. The instructor is clear and well spoken. Material is divided well into clear sections. My only complaint is that the last couple of weeks were less useful than the first three, in which PV system basics were very well covered. I feel the course could have done more to cover system design and BOS concepts.

por Christina M

Jul 28, 2020

Pretty happy with course until I finished module 1 quiz and could not submit it unless I upgraded to a certificate. I have taken several Courses on here and it is the first one I could not submit a quiz without upgrading... Felt like a bait and switch. I am learning for my own growth not for a certificate!

por Camilo A E G

Jul 06, 2020

The course has an interesting overview of Solar Energy, however, during the course, the instructor mentions other courses to complete a non-existent specialization. As a student, I was disappointed because I paid the course to continue the specialization.

por Hernan D G R

Feb 13, 2020

I have enjoyed the course, they gave us a good information for starting in this beautiful work, I recommend it, I love if they give us more information about the array but it is a good beginning. I hope to study more details in the next courses.

por vijaya a n

Aug 02, 2020

There is some thing to be concentrated on review of projects. What i think is some are simply rejcting becuase thier project are not submitted or not checking the project in detail. Hence i request pay some attention in this regard.

por Rohan B G

Jun 28, 2020

Great course with all the required exercises and easy to understand. provided all the basics and the knowledge of photovoltaic s as well as energy consumption and one more helpful thing about course was the capstone project.

por Atharva A G

Jul 20, 2020

It's a Amazing course with very deep knowledge and information about solar enrgy and photovoltaics.If you are a beginner or a expert in this field no matter this course will absolutely made you expert in solar energy .