Chevron Left
Volver a Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Geospatial and Environmental Analysis por parte de Universidad de California, Davis

4.8
estrellas
1,115 calificaciones
248 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Apply your GIS knowledge in this course on geospatial analysis, focusing on analysis tools, 3D data, working with rasters, projections, and environment variables. Through all four weeks of this course, we'll work through a project together - something unique to this course - from project conception, through data retrieval, initial data management and processing, and finally to our analysis products. In this class you will learn the fundamentals of geospatial and environmental analysis during four week-long modules: Week 1: Tour ArcToolbox and learn how to use common geospatial analysis tools built into ArcGIS Week 2: Gain a working understanding of raster data models: symbolize, reproject, overlay, and assess rasters. Take a detour into 3D data models, and interpolation of observations into 3D surfaces and rasters Week 3: Go in-depth on projections and coordinate systems, which are foundational to all GIS. Learn how to use environment variables to constrain your analyses and get better quality data products. Week 4: Expand your knowledge of symbology. Learn how to visually display your data by classifying it in logical groupings and then symbolizing it on your map. Take Geospatial and Environmental Analysis as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first and second courses in this specialization, "Fundamentals of GIS" and "GIS Data Formats, Design, and Quality", before taking this course. By completing this third class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Principales reseñas

MH

11 de may. de 2020

The course content of this course is awesome and the way of explanation also. Those who want to make carrier in this field of GIS or Environment Analyst for them this is a good platform to learn.

AA

4 de may. de 2019

Like the previous courses on this specialization, this course is well prepared, the lectures are clear and the assignments designed to reinforce the learner's skills. I have really enjoyed it.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 244 revisiones para Geospatial and Environmental Analysis

por Lucia F

19 de abr. de 2018

Nice course part of the specialisation. The final assessment was a bit confusing and then, the review criteria did not take into account some of the 'products' we had to do according to the instructions. It was almost like you could have submit whatever. Anyway, I do not work in that way so I did it right. that is why 5 stars.

por Marjorie F L

13 de dic. de 2021

F​abulous! So much effort and thought was put into helping students acquire skills and understanding and in such a pleasant, humble and light-hearted manner. I wish all teachers in my life - and everywhere- had the pesonality and competencies displayed by Nick. Thank you so much Nick and Coursera.

por Dan C

13 de feb. de 2021

This was a fun course, and while the subject matter was those most difficult to this point, it wasn't too hard too complete.

It really gives you a good general concept of what good data is, how data is found, and the things that can lead to good, as well as bad, results in your geoprocessing.

por Hiyas C

28 de oct. de 2021

T​he course provides an overview of geoprocessing tools you can use for vector and raster data. With the final assignment, you are encouraged to figure out on your own what to do, but with some guidance. This ensures that you have a good grasp of possible ways to approach the analysis.

por Rastko P

2 de may. de 2020

Nick is an outstanding lecturer, so it was a pleasure following the course. Aside from his personal qualities, what is of great importance is the fact that the course is set in such a manner that the attendee gets an adequate upgrade from lesson to lesson, leading to the final result.

por Laura E P

19 de jul. de 2020

I really like how you work through a project from finding data to presenting the final product in this course. Building off the previous 2 courses this one really puts the pieces together and gives you the confidence to work with both vector and raster datasets.

por Shwahibu M

15 de jun. de 2017

I am real thankful and joyful for this accomplishment! though challenging but I made it, for those who are yet to decide to get enrolled to this course I encourage you not to hesitate any more, it is a great course to make you more comfortable as a GIS analyst.

por Chris W

23 de may. de 2019

Wow, the Geospatial and Environmental Analysis course has an impressively deep coverage of GIS knowledge! I truly learned a voracious number of useful skills. I also enjoyed the additional videos on how to design and conduct a project in GIS. Excellent course!

por Nick J

27 de abr. de 2020

This course is more difficult then the other two that came before this in the specialization. I stopped a couple of times, and started over agian a few times. Today, i finialy finished it with a perfect score! It has been an absolutely amazing experience.

por Tulaci B

30 de oct. de 2017

O curso foi muito surpreendente para mim, apesar de conhecer algumas das ferramentas, a forma de trabalho foi muito importante e as maneiras de usá-las para análises que pode em muito contribuir para quem deseja fazer mais com estudos em geoprocessamento.

por Akhil C

8 de sep. de 2018

I have learned GIS from many platform and all of them were based on vector analysis. This particular course was based on raster analysis which takes you altogether to a new dimension of GIS. Overall, I am more than satisfied with this course

por Jafed E G

6 de jul. de 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

por Garima

27 de ago. de 2018

This was overall an amazing course. It was a bit different from other course especially the final assignment which lay more stress on raster analysis than vector analysis. Overall, I am personally more than satisfied with this course.

por Benjamin S

16 de may. de 2018

This series continues to be a good introduction to the capabilities of ArcGIS. The videos are laid out in a progression that makes sense and the final assignment does a good job of incorporating the major points from the videos.

por Fabian S

29 de jul. de 2020

I enjoyed every aspect of this class. The teaching and lessons learned are vital to establishing a solid career foundation in GIS. Thank you Mr. Santos for setting up the curriculum and taking the time to teach this lesson.

por Md. T H

16 de jun. de 2020

Courses like these are some of the best Coursera has to offer. Well recorded video lecture, high quality practice materials and questions involving real world problems make this course a great learning tool

por Cornelya F C K

28 de jun. de 2017

This is a great extension of the previous two ArcGIS courses and I learned a lot! Nick Santos, the teacher, is really very nice and competent and manages to be concise in his instructions and lectures.

por Angelika S

14 de jun. de 2021

Once again a very good lecture by Nick Santos. This time with a lot of practice, for me the best way to learn something not just for the records but to use it sucessfully in my business. Thanks a lot!

por Mohd S U H

12 de may. de 2020

The course content of this course is awesome and the way of explanation also. Those who want to make carrier in this field of GIS or Environment Analyst for them this is a good platform to learn.

por Olushola ( A

18 de oct. de 2017

I enjoyed this part most of the three courses in the GIS specialization that I have earned certificates. Thanks to Dr. Nick Santos for his interactive teaching, assignments and projects.

por Abdul R

3 de oct. de 2020

I learned some really valuable and practical skills in ArcGIS through this course and I am positive and motivated to apply these skills as soon as possible in my professional life.

por Keron K

8 de ago. de 2021

Even though I work in GIS, I rarely have the opportunity to go past very basic geoprocessing in my work. This course gave me the opportunity to expand my knowledge and experience.

por Clara F

13 de feb. de 2018

It is a great course. The videos are easy to understand and the final assignment makes you work with almost every tool they show during the 4 weeks. Excellent! 3 down, 2 to go!

por Abdul H

11 de nov. de 2020

I learned much more from this courses and i understand very well. I suggest those who want to make a carrier in GIS and Remote Sensing they should absolutely take this course.

por VISHNUVARDAN N

1 de jun. de 2020

I really loved this course on its presentation content delivering and assessment. I really loved to do the final assignment as a project and learnt a lot through this course.