Chevron Left
Volver a SQL for Data Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a SQL for Data Science por parte de Universidad de California, Davis

4.6
estrellas
11,532 calificaciones
2,979 reseña

Acerca del Curso

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Principales reseñas

JG
22 de ago. de 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP
5 de abr. de 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Filtrar por:

2901 - 2925 de 3,036 revisiones para SQL for Data Science

por TANMAY R C

25 de jun. de 2020

Very fast and high level for a person who knows nothing

por Saulo G d M S

27 de jul. de 2020

A really good course, but the forum isn't that great.

por Karan D K

19 de oct. de 2021

I​mportant topics like window functions are missing.

por SAKET M

24 de feb. de 2021

Could be more better. You could have taught more SQL

por Phillipe S S R

3 de ene. de 2018

Quiz and graded materials not available for free.

por Hari G

11 de dic. de 2019

Too much theory and very little or no practice

por Deleted A

5 de jul. de 2021

The course is basically theoretical.

por dager6

4 de may. de 2018

Good general basic introductions.

por Tong Z

26 de dic. de 2021

do not like the peer review part

por Gaoge Z

4 de ene. de 2021

Could show results in demos.

por Fabian M

16 de mar. de 2021

Too little practice

por Renuka G

20 de dic. de 2019

good one

por 318126512050 S R B

21 de jun. de 2021

good

por Carl D A

13 de ago. de 2020

good

por Krishna G

10 de jun. de 2020

good

por Chen G

15 de feb. de 2019

Soso

por Gergely H

30 de jul. de 2021

Y

por renas c

12 de mar. de 2021

.

por Manas d

19 de sep. de 2020

.

por Ben T

12 de dic. de 2021

Really bad. I'm trying to be fair here, and I understand that there are reasons the instructors made some choices that they did, however:

-You can't teach a course designed for absolute beginners and not help us install a chosen software and explain the interface. I felt SO LOST trying to download SQLite on my own, and then find out the instructor chose to teach a software with NO USER INTERFACE from the download. Why would anyone chose SQLite as the software FOR A COMPLETE BEGINNER: I have no idea. I ended up using a different course (see below) and used MySQL as my software (free, great user interface, not so intimidating for a beginner.

-I can't stress this enough: THIS IS A THEORETICAL COURSE. There is no videos in which the instructor has an SQL software open and you code along with them. IF THAT'S WHAT YOU WANT go to "Programming with Mosh." The way that this course works is, she just talks about SQL: you never are given a database from which to query / retrieve / test your programming. Like, how is this even a course if you're not at least providing some sample data to work with?

I'm really disappointed in Coursera: I've completed two specializations here already, really enjoyed each and had no desire to leave the website, but after this I'm going to be much more careful and looking at other websites like Udemy.

por Eric R

21 de may. de 2021

Weeks 1 - 3 contained good information and had good problem sets. Week 4 totally drops the ball. The lectures do not fully flesh out the many uses of datetimes, cases or views. The problem sets for week 4 should be much more extensive to practice these concepts. The lectures on sql for Data Science are fluff - no skills are included; and then the student is expected to perform these skills in the peer reviewed assignment. The peer review assignment has several poorly specified questions. Overall the lectures could be improved by showing the ER diagrams for the tables the lecturer is referring to rather than only showing a query. Many lectures should be reshot where the lecturer misspeaks/does not complete her thought, or where she burps while speaking.

por Jennifer S

17 de jul. de 2019

These lectures seem incomplete. For several sections, I had to Google more information to understand the lecture topic.

This course is listed as a beginner level course with no prerequisite, but throughout the lessons I felt like I was missing some key basic information. The course recommendation is 20 hours, 3-5 hours a week. The first week fell into that parameter, but after that the hours required increased each week, with the last week being about twelve hours including the final project.

Ideally, this course considers adding in more complete explanations for the examples in the lectures (including outputs), more practice coding, and more depth on exploring data and making inferences from your queries.

por Marc B

9 de jun. de 2021

Check out the 1 star reviews, i agree with most that's said there. I still learned a lot in that course though mostly from Stackoverflow trying to answer the assignments. Problems are: the final course assignment is a mess to do and to correct, many questions are ambiguous and this class doesn't prepare for it. More than half the peers i reviewed were plagiarizing. This really shows the limits of Peer-Reviewing, more supervision needed. Finally the SQLite used for the course is 9 years old, as i discovered some functions were absent or not working. This course is due for a big update, on content (show outputs and better quizzes), SQLite version, and refreshed quizzes and assignments.

por Faheem I

5 de nov. de 2020

Would not recommend. There's no real teaching, the instructor is just reading off of slides with little to no explanation. The slides are confusing, don't provide outputs to the codes that they're showing and many times have errors on them. The course including the quizzes forces you to do most of the work, and I mean that in a bad way. The videos are incredibly lazy and very little explanation is provided for some key points considering this is a beginner's course.

The only good thing I found was that it provided some structure to what I should study. I ended up studying mostly from tutorial websites. I would suggest you look for some other courses if you want to start SQL.