Chevron Left
Volver a Statistics for Genomic Data Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Statistics for Genomic Data Science por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.2
estrellas
316 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

An introduction to the statistics behind the most popular genomic data science projects. This is the sixth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Principales reseñas

ZM

27 de jun. de 2018

The professor is really enthusiasm, so I was really impreesed by him. And his teaching is brief, and I can learn key points through the lectures. Great course!

CJ

15 de jul. de 2019

It is really great that told me lots of basic statistical information that I didn't know.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 57 revisiones para Statistics for Genomic Data Science

por Alex Z

6 de ago. de 2017

talk fast and informative! I enjoyed it a lot.

por Chunyu Z

10 de feb. de 2016

very helpful class. instructor very organized.

por Hamzeh M T

7 de nov. de 2018

Great place to start learning genomics in R

por Renaud E

23 de jul. de 2020

Difficult but definitively very valuable !

por Roman S

4 de ene. de 2018

Really great and in-depth class! thank you

por Apostolos Z

21 de oct. de 2017

Excellent course! Thank you!

por Maximo R

22 de mar. de 2016

Great course!!!!

por Felix K

22 de jul. de 2021

Great course

por Mingzhi L

2 de jun. de 2021

Useful!

por Yuan L

8 de sep. de 2019

Thanks!

por Charles W

2 de ene. de 2021

I thought this course covered a good set of relatively well-organized material.

I think some of the quiz questions (and optional analysis) was a little buggy in Week 1 (where I needed to use different versions of R for different questions), and I am not sure if that is because some time has passed since the course was first created. There were also issues for some of the questions in the other weeks, but I don’t remember being as frustrated when figuring out how to get an answer that was counted as correct (or, more specifically, not being able to run the intended code).

Additionally, I think this course will probably take more time to complete than listed in the syllabus. I support needing to take more time to learn the material, but I think the estimates can be kind of important when deciding if there is enough time to take the course (for somebody who already has a full time job).

There was also at least one section in Week1 that I thought was more of an opinion. For example, there are important and popular programs for genomic analysis that are *not* available through Bioconductor (including some mentioned in Week 4), and I don’t think they are less “trustworthy.” However, I agree that listing resources and explaining the differences is important.

I think I mentioned it in another course review, but I think the limitations to the methods are something to consider. So, I agree that p-hacking can be a problem, but I think telling people that they should only analyze their data once can also cause problems. I also agree with sharing a public log, even if the problems/bugs that are fixed are not emphasized as much in an official report/problem (as findings that should be given weight in the conclusions, if you found reason why they were wrong).

I noticed that there was a moderator responding to forum questions, so that was nice.

I imagine that I might participate a bit more, even though I have formally completed the course.

Thank you!

por Niko F

17 de mar. de 2021

Nice overview over the different statistics for genomics studies. Very useful commentary for the scientific usefulness of each statistic and helpful literature suggestions. At times a bit unstructured and confusing regarding chapter titles and sequence.

por Ryan A H

11 de feb. de 2017

Overall, a very good course. Not without its flaws (inconsistent video audio levels), but I have walked away knowing far more about Genomic Data Science than I expected to.

por Nitin S

19 de feb. de 2019

sometimes termininology was used interchangeably, which can be confusing for a beginner but overall a good introduction to statistcs for genomic data analysis

por Saaket V

19 de feb. de 2018

Enjoyed it. One of better courses I have taken in Coursera. A good introduction to using statistics in Bioconductor with genomics data.

por eman m a

1 de jul. de 2020

theoretical parts need more explanation. But in general, It is a well-structured course. thanks for your efforts

por Maria J

8 de ago. de 2020

Very helpful and i understood i should master statistics and do more research

por tawanda n

23 de ene. de 2020

new material would be great as well as new datasets

por Pedro M

26 de mar. de 2020

Pretty good but a little superficial and outdated.

por Michael R D

12 de feb. de 2017

Nice course. Ready to apply data.

por Ariful l

12 de ago. de 2019

good for learning

por Hina A

9 de ago. de 2022

excellent course

por NAMRATA P

9 de abr. de 2019

good

por Dr. P R I

28 de feb. de 2019

good

por Catherine J

19 de may. de 2020

Because of short time frame for course, it couldn't present topics in sufficient depth to to practically applied. Well presented for an overview of statistical terminology.