Chevron Left
Volver a Improving your statistical inferences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Improving your statistical inferences por parte de Universidad Técnica de Eindhoven

4.9
estrellas
703 calificaciones
234 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course aims to help you to draw better statistical inferences from empirical research. First, we will discuss how to correctly interpret p-values, effect sizes, confidence intervals, Bayes Factors, and likelihood ratios, and how these statistics answer different questions you might be interested in. Then, you will learn how to design experiments where the false positive rate is controlled, and how to decide upon the sample size for your study, for example in order to achieve high statistical power. Subsequently, you will learn how to interpret evidence in the scientific literature given widespread publication bias, for example by learning about p-curve analysis. Finally, we will talk about how to do philosophy of science, theory construction, and cumulative science, including how to perform replication studies, why and how to pre-register your experiment, and how to share your results following Open Science principles. In practical, hands on assignments, you will learn how to simulate t-tests to learn which p-values you can expect, calculate likelihood ratio's and get an introduction the binomial Bayesian statistics, and learn about the positive predictive value which expresses the probability published research findings are true. We will experience the problems with optional stopping and learn how to prevent these problems by using sequential analyses. You will calculate effect sizes, see how confidence intervals work through simulations, and practice doing a-priori power analyses. Finally, you will learn how to examine whether the null hypothesis is true using equivalence testing and Bayesian statistics, and how to pre-register a study, and share your data on the Open Science Framework. All videos now have Chinese subtitles. More than 30.000 learners have enrolled so far! If you enjoyed this course, I can recommend following it up with me new course "Improving Your Statistical Questions"...

Principales reseñas

MS
13 de may. de 2021

Eye opening course. My first introduction to some of the issues surrounding p-values as well as how to better utilize them and what they truly represent. My first introduction to effect sizes as well.

YK
1 de mar. de 2017

Excellent course. The lecturer has written code snippets that let the students visualize the meaning and interrelationship of p-values confidence-intervals power effect-size bayesian-inference.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 232 revisiones para Improving your statistical inferences

por Cesar Y

25 de feb. de 2019

Practico sin hacer a un lado lo teorico, te dan un marco mucho mas amplio para la interpretacion y planteamiento de hipotesis

por Bernhard E

2 de ene. de 2021

Great course; didactically and scientifically excellent. I would recommend it to all PhD students in the empirical sciences.

por Agustin E C F

5 de nov. de 2019

This is a great course!. It tackles common misbeliefs and approaches the topics both in a technical and coloquial manner.

por Ezra H

19 de may. de 2020

Very well structured. Every week covered a different important topic. Overall a useful course for empirical researchers.

por Maojie T

1 de ene. de 2020

I think it's a useful course for me, but I think some content in the last week is a little bit trivial for me...

por John B

17 de jul. de 2018

very well organised course and deepens understanding. Excellent resources provided also, e.g. books and papers.

por Davide F S

21 de may. de 2017

Clear, concise, and engaging explanation of many statistical concepts that can be readily applied in research.

por Yeison F V F

12 de dic. de 2021

A perfect course to keep learning and to clarify the doubts about the essential of statistical inference

por Amy M

2 de nov. de 2016

Great lectures and really helpful simulations. Very engaging and interesting. Full of useful resources.

por Lydia A G

28 de may. de 2020

Highly recommendable course. It puts clarity from the most basic concepts to some other new insights.

por Sandra V

10 de dic. de 2016

Extremely useful cours, especially the first 5 weeks! Pleasant and enjoyable. Definitely recommended!

por Fengyuan L

31 de jul. de 2020

excellent course. It solves lots of my question over the p value as well as the statistic analysis.

por Habiba A

29 de dic. de 2016

Easy to follow, light workload, and most importantly: very useful material of supreme importance.

por Thijs

14 de ago. de 2019

Great course. Already had some knowledge about statistics, but this course really improved it.

por Rahul P S

21 de sep. de 2021

The instructor has explained fine details in statistical inferences. Very informative course.

por Cezar D S d S

28 de may. de 2021

Awesome course! I've had amost given up on learning this topic. Thanks for renewing my faith

por Mr. J

24 de feb. de 2020

Superbly Done synopsis of statistical gotchas and best practice against them. Very Valauble.

por Morio C

2 de ene. de 2020

Great course, clear and helpful. I will definitely recommend it to colleagues and students.

por Jose M S

17 de jun. de 2017

Quite interesting and well structured. The contents of this course deserve a wide audience.

por Tamires M

30 de nov. de 2020

I never thought I would say that about statistics, but: It was fun! Thank you Dr. Lakens!

por Patrick H

10 de ago. de 2020

This course should be taken by any psychologist (and actually anyone who does statistics)

por Eva D P

23 de ene. de 2017

Probably the best stats course I've ever taken (and also the most fun and enlightening)!

por Carlo D V

21 de ago. de 2020

This course was very useful. I recommend it to anyone who wants to deepen these topics.

por Sergey L

1 de ene. de 2020

The course is full of useful insights and practices. I can definitely recommend it!

por Gerald R

2 de sep. de 2017

a very thoughtful introduction to the different approaches of statistical reasoning