Chevron Left
Volver a English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
2,392 calificaciones
710 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Principales reseñas

TL

14 de mar. de 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC

25 de sep. de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!

It was a very good learning experience!

Thank you!

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 704 revisiones para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por sandipkunwar

9 de may. de 2019

good

por myeccoland

2 de ene. de 2018

This Course is for english beginner and not on science or technology high level

por Paulina V

20 de mar. de 2020

very basic level

por MARIO D M R

9 de sep. de 2020

Hello guys, I'm so sorry! I should have written this at the end of the assessment of skills acquired in the course, but unfortunately, when trying to correct the text, I lost the information.

I highlight five aspects of the skills acquired in this excellent course, I increased my vocabulary and improved my writing, reading, and Interpretation of data info in the field sciences, especially considering areas of scientific interest such as climate change that should compromise the future of humanity and the fragile planet we live on.

I was also developing more appropriate and consistent summaries. I had to Improve communication skills between colleagues, through feedbacks.

Unfortunately, for several reasons, I'm dropped out in 3 higher education courses started at one of the best Brazilian Universities, UnB DF, Forest Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Computer Science.

I decided to follow the Programming area, technical support in the areas of Hardware, Networks, and Sofware, and I intend to return to the job market.

And finally, congratulations on all team of the Coursera. Regards!

por Іванеішвілі Д С

27 de may. de 2022

Great for those who have been learning the language for some time. You will find new terminology from science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The materials are clear, and due to the fact that these are online courses, you can watch videos with the material when it's convenient for you

All steps including videos and practice readings were useful. I learned the impact of climate change and how human could contribute in reducing the release of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. I learned great on nanotechnology and how scientists are involved in testing new materials to increase the renewable energy system. And how new discoveries will change the human life across the world. Thank you!

por Dorota M

8 de jun. de 2020

This course is really interesting! I've learnt a lot, even that I work in the field of Earth Sciences. I think every level of advancement will find something satisfying here. Teachers are talking slowly but I think this is important, especially when somebody doesn't have elaborated language skills; if someone has, always have option to speed up the video. Everything is explained clearly (for me, some things could be not so simplified) and for people that don't have any background of STEM. I recommend this course a lot.

por Lalaine G S

11 de jun. de 2020

English for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics is a great online course I have studied. It's amazing to learn more about the use of english language, the proper way of delivering ones speech or article. This course encourages learners to deeply understand the importance of science which is focused on renewable resources that could help eliminate the harmful gases causing our planet's temperature high. I am looking forward to access some free online courses for personal development and insight. Thank you.

por Elwyn T P

9 de dic. de 2020

I really love all about the whole course itself. It widens my ideas about Climate Change and Global Warming and its consequences. It strengthens my knowledge on some of the English grammar usage and vocabularies. With all the opportunities given, I am so thankful -- to the University of Pennsylvania, for conceptualizing this course; to the Government of the United States of America, for sponsoring my study; and to the Philippines' Department of Energy for vouching my participation in this course. Thank you very much!

por Jorgie L

18 de dic. de 2020

The course improved and enhanced my logical thinking, communication skills (written and oral) and my inter/intra personality skills. The course also reminded me on the proper usage of modal verbs, comparative adjectives, intensifiers, and the cause-and-effect language. More so on the English comprehension particularly the previewing text, scanning and reading details of the materials and summarizing main points or ideas. In sum, the course is totally a taxing but enjoyable learning experience.

por Sk I A

21 de abr. de 2020

The Course is really awesome. It doesn't only makes us more skilled in English Language but this course is much more important for understanding the terrible things we have done our environment and what could be the future outcomes of this. Besides, we could also learn about new technologies specifically "Nanotechnology" which has the potential to do wonders for the mankind and you will definitely become happy learn about these things during the course.

por Erin R D G

29 de may. de 2017

Fue muy gratificante y reflexivo este curso, para tomar conciencia de que nuestro planeta nos necesita, y tenemos que usar los recursos naturales de manera responsable, porque los que primero sentimos las consecuencias del cambio climático, somos nosotros mismos. Gracias al generoso pueblo norteamericano,que a través de sus autoridades, nos brindan la oportunidad de tomar estos cursos para desarrollarnos como mejores personas.

por Nyzhnyk Y

17 de jun. de 2022

It was a very interesting and useful course for me. The course is well organised to come up with new information step by step. Moreover, I learned some new skills for reading text and choosing a reputable source of information or how to find original work. Also, I found out a lot about issues our planet is facing now and that people should be active to fix them all. Thanks for the course!

por Nekpen O A

4 de oct. de 2017

This course, I thought, was very well put together. The facilitators were phenomenal and were great in their delivery of all information related to this course.

Unfortunately, I did not put as much time as required for this course as I would have loved to even though I manged to complete it.

I feel this course was a good intro for me having been away from Coursera school for "many moons".

por Melanie D R

21 de dic. de 2020

Kudos to the men and women behind Coursera. The English for STEM Course maybe a challenging experience for working moms like me in terms of being able to finish assigned tasks on or ahead of time. But at the same time it was indeed a fun and exciting experience, as I was able to enhance my English skills while increasing my knowledge and awareness in the Science field.

por ALBERT M N

13 de nov. de 2020

The modules are well crafted; they provide realistic examples of what is currently happening across the globe. As a whole, enrolling in the course, enhances my critical thinking: reflected on the assignments as well as the peer evaluation and the grammatical item to be used in submitting the required outputs. Congratulations to all the men and women behind this project!

por Walid D

10 de jul. de 2020

Is a very pedagogic course, thanks of this course, I improved my scientific English, that include grammar, vocabulary, reading, writing, many videos about climate change and you learn many other thigns, like write an article or surmise ! and I can tell you, if you know just a little bit of English, you can understand this course ! is for everyone ! I LOVE IT !!

por Muse M I

7 de may. de 2020

I am highly appreciating for Coursera and the University of Pennsylvania for their wonderful preparation for this course which has allowed us to compete with people who studied English in science during school time.

Special thanks to my dear lectures Miss Alyssa Swanson and Mr. Jack Sulliban for their valuable time and breaking the difficulties into smaller.

por Ali M A

3 de may. de 2020

This is a great course for both STEM students and laypersons. It is such a rich seam of information on the planet, the kind of damage we are causing on a daily basis, and on ways to save mother Earth. The course is well balanced, easy to navigate, and sure to boost the English of all enrollees, even expert users! I do recommend wholeheartedly!

por Samson Z

6 de nov. de 2019

As a audio learner, I much appreciated the use of technology in the class in conjunction to discussing ,readings and presentation projects. I think it's one of the most progressive lit courses I’ve ever taken between the somewhat unknown readings and way of instruction. I feel like my writing has not only improved by my mind is more open.

por José A R N

18 de jul. de 2017

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to complete my CV in English to the area of Data Science. 


The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

por Cleber A

26 de may. de 2020

I learned the principles about climate change, the sources, the causes, and the effects. furthermore, I learned also the new technologies for slow down greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. This course helps me to learn more about grammar and the English language, the video lessons are so good to understanding, because they speak calmly.

por oswaldo m f

21 de abr. de 2020

This was an excellent course which made me learn too much about scientific topics that I did not know existed in the field of engineering was also surprising the way they developed the topics and vocabularies used are very good for someone who is starting to connect with the English language.

Thank you for the course and excellent work.

por Ludmilla L

6 de jul. de 2020

The course is wonderful! In addition to assisting in learning English on relevant subjects in the areas covered with innovative scientific research. With the course you can learn new vocabularies, grammar, improve reading and writing, text interpretation. Not to mention the range of knowledge you will acquire with the course. Amazing!

por Joan A

1 de mar. de 2021

The course is very much comprehensive! New learnings and discoveries were shared and learned which can be a great help as a teacher/trainer in imparting the knowledge to the students/trainees in the coming days. The course is a great help especially in the advocacy of saving our planet Earth and preserving it for generations to come.

por Ткачук Н К

16 de abr. de 2022

This course was fascinating - different types of work that helped to ease learning. Cooperation with other students on course ( anonymously) makes me be more attentive to the themes I`ve learned. Everething was explained clearly, many examples also helped a lot. I feel more confident about my knowledge. Nice and easy, i like it