Chevron Left
Volver a English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
2,397 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Principales reseñas

TL

14 de mar. de 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC

25 de sep. de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!

It was a very good learning experience!

Thank you!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 707 revisiones para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Safia B

10 de jul. de 2020

The course has certainly deepened my knowledge on climate change and has given me more valuable information on how scientists are working to mitigate its effects by using renewable energy and nanotechnology. This course is really priceless and It worth more than five stars. Thank you to the instructors and the university of PENN.

por Alaeddine G

14 de ene. de 2020

it's really an interested courses i have ever gotten. i understand all about climate change and global warming etc ; now i am able to distinguish between notions and vocabularies related on climate afterwards i learned almost all pioneering and promising methods to create clean an renewable energy. It's really outstanding !

por Donald K B

13 de feb. de 2021

Your course is very interesting and I love it. It enhances communication skills in English language. I makes me understand global warming and climate change and how we reduce the cause and/or impact for climate change. Thank you very much for allowing me to finish this English for STEM course. This is a great achievement.

por Nicolas F

1 de jun. de 2020

It´s a extremelely complete course. Interesting and useful for anyone who is interested in climate change. Also the teachers are clears and the interviews are really informative. I highly recommend it to you if it is your first time here or if you want to learn some new vocabulary and new information about climate change.

por สุทธิพันธ์ ห

19 de may. de 2020

This course provides a wider range of contents about global warming and English strategies. The learners implement strategies in order to communicate effectively under STEM contexts. This course is recommended for those whose English is not their native language, especially those who involve with science and teaching.

por Benedict M P A

17 de nov. de 2017

Thank you for this graduating this course. It is timely as part of my classroom teaching. The Global warming theme is such timely to teach now to educate my students about their part in alleviating this global warming trend. Once again, thank you so much to my instructors: Mr. Jack Sullivan and Miss Alyssa Swanson.

por Mahmudul F

29 de may. de 2020

The design of this English STEM course makes me to gather knowledge more about what may be next and the instructor show the way how I can feel like in the real life class room. I am owed to Coursera, UPenn, andU.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs .

por Абдыкаримова Г

30 de abr. de 2020

This course is the first I've managed to complete and this is mainly due to how interesting it was! Moreover, all the information in the course is very important and I think everyone should try it! Also, I am very thankful for the opportunity to study and to get the certificate for free. Thank you very much!

por Rodrigo A M P

26 de may. de 2017

It is one great English course in which grammar is given within the course's content! I think the course is also good for advanced learner's as it reviews grammar points, gets in touch with the American English (for the ones who has been studying the British and Aussie variations), learns new skills!

por Prapaporn P

8 de sep. de 2019

I love this course! Even though English it's not my first language but teachers are using the easy sentence and talked slow. It's helped me a lot and make me craving to learn more. I have bachelor's degree in Materials Science and I think I'm going to get my master soon. Thank you for inspiring me!

por Нарджан М

20 de dic. de 2020

Hi everyone! My name is Nardzhan. I'm online student of coursera. Right now, I'm so happy because I finished my course English for STEM. COURSERA it is big online course system, if you want to study at there you'll never regret. Because COURSERA- the course of your dreams...

GOOD LUCK to everyone!

por Deleted A

7 de jun. de 2020

I just loved this course! Thanks a lot for such a brilliant opportunity! I will definitely share this info with my colleagues and friends! Things I have learned in English for STEM course I statrted using in my lessons with 9-10 graders. Many thanks to coursera team and our presenters))))))))

por jamal m

6 de jul. de 2017

It was a great course. I think it works for everyone. While you are learning about modal verbs, present progressive, and intensifiers, you will learn a lot of information about climate change and renewable energy. It is great especially for every one likes to work as a scientist or engineer.

por Santiago

28 de ago. de 2021

So good, for increasing my low level of English and prepare for the TOEFL or Cambridge Exam. Also observing what is the rhythm of courses in this types of great universities, new experiences for me who come from a small university in Cuba ( Matanzas ) , almost invisible on the world.

por Jennifer F

11 de jun. de 2017

I am not ESL but I have always had trouble with science. I took this course so I could take more courses in science and be able to understand them. I think classes like this should be made available to people like me from elementary school on. I'm glad I was able to take it now.

por Chin M Y

12 de may. de 2018

I like this course. It helps me with my vocabularies and the tutors' teaching method is fun and interacting with games and discussion forums, and the assignments are just cool and helped me with my pronounciation and of course give me a better understanding in global warming.

por MARCIO D S C

9 de jul. de 2017

This was one of the best English language courses I've ever attended. Bringing a real background to study, in this case climate change, has not only made it easier to learn the English language, but also gave us a deeper understanding of what is really happening to the world.

por Aline C

16 de ago. de 2021

This course allowed me to expand my knowledge in the environmental area. The methodology is very practical, it is not exhaustive and when you see it, it has already been an hour carrying out the activities. The professors who teach the course have an excellent methodology.

por Muhammad W

29 de ene. de 2021

So much easy course and also easy to understand.You can learn different here about the world's any issue e.g.Climate change.You can many english skills to acknowledge the right use of words in any prospects of the life..Great course.Thank you coursea for having me....😁😁

por Marcelo M

17 de jul. de 2017

Thank you

I liked the course, the didactic way in which the course was presented, the slow way of speaking helped to understand the pronunciation well. I liked the games that encouraged you to learn in a didactic and fun way.

Congratulations on the teaching method. Hugs

por BO G

6 de jul. de 2017

I strong love this practical and efficiently online courses. I think I catch the main ideas of each chapter. The ways of expressing STEM ideas will help me. Although there are some minor mistakes in the courses, I still believe it is a high quality course for everyone.

por Mario F

1 de may. de 2020

I want to say thanks for this nice course! it was innovative, with real new and awesome information, you can improve your English and at the same time, you learn more about climate change and the researches done to reduce and mitigate its impacts on the plant's life.

por Kamran J

30 de may. de 2022

It was a great oppotunity for me to be participated in this course. I really appreciate the coursera team for giving me the chance to involve in this course. I wish you best things. And I also thank of my teachers in this course. They taught me a lot of new things.

por Yatsenko S

19 de may. de 2022

Frankly speaking, I was impressed with the interesting topics. Some of htem were new for me. What I enjoyed most of all is the given opportunity to learn about difficult scientific topic at such a short and easy way. Thank you for doing your job. It was a pleasure