Chevron Left
Volver a English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
2,395 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Principales reseñas

TL

14 de mar. de 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC

25 de sep. de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!

It was a very good learning experience!

Thank you!

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 705 revisiones para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Carmelo L

30 de oct. de 2020

This is my first time in this course. For me, this module is well made, really brings knowledge, the teachings are clear, it may not be the last. If I am allowed to I want to learn more, To the teachers, Pennsylvania University and builders of Coursera, Thank you!

por AGBENOU K

25 de jul. de 2017

The course was so interesting. It helped me not only to widen my knowledge at English but also to understand more about the causes and the impacts of climate change and the solution ways to save our planet from those impacts.

I recommend this course to everyone.

por Lindy L

18 de nov. de 2017

Taking this course is really a great help for me. I've been teaching SCIENCE in grade 9 and the topic climate change will be discussed on the third quarter. A lot of information i get from this course which i can use in my class discussions.

Thank you so much.

por PRADO G M A

19 de abr. de 2020

This was a pretty good course for someone who is in an intermediate level of English and even it helps for some C1 too. This climate change issue it's very important so everyone needs to see this as a real problem rather than something that "just happen".

por Hisham K

22 de jul. de 2017

I liked the articles.

I was able to know more things about climate change and global worming.

The video presentations were marvelous with the cartoon illustrations and experiments.

The whole course was informative and added to knowledge.

Thank you so much!

por Сорокин З Ю

26 de abr. de 2020

The course taught me to understand the text in English, to be able to speak and write well. He also spoke about the environmental problems of the world, about their solutions and consequences. I realized that the future of the Earth depends on us.

por Karina I

11 de may. de 2020

I am very happy to have completed this course. I got a lot of new knowledge on the topic of STEM. The organization of the course is very well structured and prepared. Watching a video is a pleasure. Thanks a lot for the opportunity to get better.

por Sridharbabu Y

30 de abr. de 2020

WOnderful course, well explained each and every part of the course. Thanks to Mr. Jack Sullivan and Ms. Alyssa Swanson. I also learned how impressively and effectively one can explain a concept. Great experience. I strongly recommend this course.

por Sandy Y

24 de feb. de 2019

This course is so great, I've learned so much from it. I've learn how to read STEM articles, how to write essays, how to present my thinking, and so forth. I really recommend this course to anyone who intend to step into college or academic area.

por Cristian F A C

23 de sep. de 2021

THANK YOU! I really appreciate this oportunity, learning about the environment, learning how to read and scan articles, technical vocabulary and many things, easy to understand and very helpful. I'm grateful with this course. Thank you coursera!

por Orakan K

29 de nov. de 2019

This course opened my mind to learn more about climate change and new technology. I never realized before that the climate situation that we faced now is bad. Anyway, I think I improved my language skill. Thank you for making the useful course.

por miguel a g g

21 de may. de 2019

It's a course where you can learn many words else what are the causes of the climate change, differences between climate change and global warming, how help to the environment etc. I'm very satisifed with this course. A great greeting everyone.

por César S H

11 de nov. de 2020

Fue un curso que me ayudo con mi ingles, ya que me aprendí de un tema que es de interés por mi carrera, así que en resumen, es un gran curso, no solo si estudias alguna carrera de ciencas básicas, sino también, si es de tu interés estos temas

por Maha N E

3 de mar. de 2019

This course is very useful ,added to my knowledge a lot , made me aware of the changes which are happening around us and encouraged me to make change in my lifestyle and be a part of the solution to help our environment to get better. Thanks

por Angélica J S C

31 de jul. de 2019

Es un curso muy completo, en el cual pude aprender una gran cantidad de vocabulario relacionado con el tema STEM y mejorar mucho mi inglés en cuanto a pronunciación, lectura y escritura. Los profesores son muy buenos también, muchas gracias!

por Bianca B

13 de may. de 2020

Great course for beginner students of English. Also it s a oportunity to study two topics and the same time: English and Science. The topic about Climate Change is actual and demand discussions and understood about consequence for our world

por Purevjargal D

2 de dic. de 2020

This is my first online course and it was amazing. I am a non-native speaker so firstly it was hard then slightly adjusting it. Now I can know about the greenhouse effect and global warming besides my English have improved a lot. Thank you

por Sergio M

9 de may. de 2018

This course has helped me very much to improve my English communication skills, because an English learner I need interesting themes like this to continue practice. I will definitely take some other courses of University of Pennsylvania.

por Gilles B C

6 de dic. de 2021

O Curso enriqueceu meu vocabulário e me ajudou em várias questões gramaticais. No curso que for desenvolvido no futuro, sugiro introduzir temas variados com relação a tecnologia, com isso o curso será mais rico em vocabulário e cultura.

por Maria E

7 de dic. de 2019

This course has favored me a lot to learn in the English language, and what better, taking it with the subject of my interest, renewable energies and the damages that we cause in the environment!

Thanks for everything, very good course!

por DULCEMARIA G S

21 de may. de 2020

The course is intense compared to others on this platform (double or triple content, homework and tests) for the same reason you learn a lot. It is very pedagogical, scientific, interesting and strategic. I love it! 100% recommended!

por S Y

1 de ene. de 2018

It's very helpful course to understand some scientific terms, both the instructors are very good. It helped to increase my knowledge about current major issues and how to use English to explain scientific terms more effectively.

por Lourdes I S B

27 de ago. de 2020

It's a great opportunity to improve your reading comprehension and listening skills. This course is easy to follow and it will help you to understand some of the most current environmental problems. I really enjoy all the topics.

por KARTHIK K

16 de ago. de 2019

Really A Fantastic Course. Before I enroll I thought it is only an English course, but the contents used made the course very informative. I sincerely thank the Professors for their commitment in this course. Thank You one again.

por Gigi T

21 de may. de 2021

Great and understanding course which provides all basic information that a person must know about in present. Learned a lot and gave me motivation to learn even more. thanks to everyone who participated in creating this course.