Chevron Left
Volver a English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
2,397 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Principales reseñas

TL

14 de mar. de 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC

25 de sep. de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!

It was a very good learning experience!

Thank you!

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 707 revisiones para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Tun L A

15 de ene. de 2018

To develop systematically your English language skills and to improve scientifically you knowledge about global warming. This course will give you all above.

por Miguel A G

4 de sep. de 2020

Un curso que nos ayuda a comprender mejor los conceptos científicos en inglés y aparte nos nutre de vocabulario y gramática que se utiliza en la universidad

por Leandro S

24 de feb. de 2020

Excelente curso, adorei a metodologia, a qualidade dos textos para leitura, e dos vídeos dos professores, super recomendo, ampliou muito o meu vocabulário!

por Piangtawan C

17 de abr. de 2020

Very well-engineered course suitable for non-English speakers who are interested in science. No need for scientific background. Many engaging activities.

por Rick R C L

19 de dic. de 2020

Overall, the course was able to help me improve my English skills and proficiency while providing me information on how to take care of the environment.

por Willie V

1 de nov. de 2017

Great course to learn especially for those who have inclination to Science, where all the science concepts are applied in English sentence construction!

por Nofal S

12 de ene. de 2022

It is really an amazing platform by covering all aspects regarding STEM with relevant teachings of English language and its phrases used to express it

por Gabo

23 de feb. de 2021

It is a great course the couching and topics are very well and have information real of the pollution by use fossil fuel and effect of greenhouse gas.

por Mac A M F

9 de sep. de 2021

I found the course excellent, it was very well run, the instructors were very successful and conducted the lessons well, I am very grateful for that.

por Sophía G

10 de jul. de 2017

The topics covered in the STEM course are of transcendence for all of us, how it is alternative sources of renewable energy and reduce global warming

por Mohammad M A

29 de may. de 2017

A very very big thanks for providing such an amazing course, after taking this course I really become more comfortable with my career in Engineering.

por Karen M S

5 de dic. de 2019

Me gustó mucho. Es un gran curso para dominar vocabulario en inglés y aprender más sobre diversos temas relacionados a la ciencia y las matemáticas.

por Emilia R

5 de dic. de 2021

A​n excellent MOOC ! It introduces useful vocabulary with simple but accurate definitions. Both teachers are very clear and interesting. Thank you!

por Dolores S

26 de feb. de 2021

The most interesting part of the course was Going Green wherein there were new technologies/discoveries creating new solutions in renewable energy.

por Richard E N O

14 de jul. de 2019

Nice way to combine science and learning english with interesting topics such as climate change, new technologies, renewable energy sources, etc.

por Adrián B

24 de feb. de 2021

Even some years after releasing this course is still actual. It is pointing at problems which should be solved already but we know they are not.

por Enderson N C

3 de may. de 2020

Excelent!! The course helped me to improve my language skills and my knowledge STEM subjects.

Materials are very intresting and useful.

Thank you.

por Akrm s a

9 de jul. de 2017

It's great opportunity to improve my English skills, while I'm gaining new scientific information.Thank you very much to all coursera community.

por Pauline M A

7 de jul. de 2017

I would love to experience this again. I learned a lot from this course and I will really recommend this to my friends or classmates. Thank you!

por Marcus L

22 de may. de 2020

Great course with appropriate language and vocabulary. There are valuable discussions about very important subjects, especially climate change.

por Jorge L G T

14 de abr. de 2021

Great course! I learned a lot of about science.

The teacher are really good and explain you very clear.

You should take this course.

100/100.

por José F P B

14 de oct. de 2019

This course has everything necessary to learn English , makes me more confident in this language , I feel very happy to have this opportunity.

por Professor A F

1 de dic. de 2019

O curso é muito bom!!! Os instrutores são extraordinários. Os conceitos científicos foram apresentados com clareza bem como a língua inglesa.

por SANTHA A

17 de ene. de 2018

A very interesting, useful, wonderful course, through which I learnt a lot about global warming and saving Planet Earth. Thank you very much.

por Alessandro F

10 de may. de 2022

The difficulty level of this course is intermediate; it is particularly useful for those who write scientific papers or engineering reports.