Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Systems Biology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Systems Biology por parte de Escuela Icahn de Medicina del Monte Sinaí

4.3
estrellas
508 calificaciones
105 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

Principales reseñas

SV
6 de feb. de 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR
7 de ago. de 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 103 revisiones para Introduction to Systems Biology

por Samuel M V

7 de feb. de 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

por 李俊宏

30 de ago. de 2017

It's really a nice introduction of system biology. I have learned a lot of new ideas.

Professor Iyengar is quite interesting! Still I hope more mathematical details can be included!

por Rene R I

16 de ene. de 2016

Great course! It explains very generally but clearly all different aspects involved in Systems Biology. The material used is good and so are the articles used for learning.

por Balu R

8 de ago. de 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

por PALE L

16 de nov. de 2020

This course has been a very instructive course for me. I would like to thank ISM and Dr. Iyengar for his sacrifice for sharing his knowledge!!!

por Ganeshan J

7 de jul. de 2020

Really helpful in both gaining confidence and knowledge! Such a wonderful online platform to expand our knowledge in our field of interest

por Cristina B

3 de may. de 2020

excellent introduction by one of the most outstanding expert in the field, Prof Iyengar

many thanks from Cristina , Milan , Italy

por Lun X

19 de jul. de 2016

Ravi is a great researcher. This class is taught with great clarity and expertise. Subtitle is much less impressive though.

por Nurzhan A

16 de jun. de 2020

A fantastic introductory course. One should really treat this as an overview that needs to be followed by further study.

por Amirhossein M

18 de may. de 2021

Coursera make it different...

I'm pretty lucky to find a systems biology course like this.

por Doreen B

7 de jun. de 2019

Great introduction and overview. Exams are especially well thought out.

por Zhengyuan X

24 de jul. de 2018

Really great course! Can't wait to learn more about systems biology!

por JOHN Q

18 de jul. de 2017

fascinating, difficult, and interesting course. Thanks so much!

por Mac D G

14 de ene. de 2018

that corse was really beneficial and useful for me. Thanks a lot

por Ana D T

20 de jul. de 2020

aulas muito dinâmicas e muito bem explicadas, adorei o curso.

por SHERRY C B

12 de jul. de 2021

This online course is very helpful and very educational.

por KOUMENE T G I

2 de mar. de 2016

Very very very interesting!!! First step in a new field.

por Areej Q

26 de ene. de 2018

This course was very engaging and extremely insightful.

por Reghan M

1 de sep. de 2021

Its a good course, covering wide area in Biology

por Oluwafeyikemi O

13 de oct. de 2021

Wonderful, I really learnt a lot

por 刘文昊

6 de feb. de 2016

A good step to learn this area.

por Mrinal V

29 de dic. de 2015

3rd week and I am loving it! :D

por Aakash S

23 de feb. de 2019

Dr. Iyengar was a cool guy.

por Aditya A D

10 de jun. de 2020

Good course content!

por changhao l

18 de may. de 2016

It's very helpful!