Chevron Left
Volver a Systems Thinking In Public Health

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Systems Thinking In Public Health por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.6
estrellas
646 calificaciones
152 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course provides an introduction to systems thinking and systems models in public health. Problems in public health and health policy tend to be complex with many actors, institutions and risk factors involved. If an outcome depends on many interacting and adaptive parts and actors the outcome cannot be analyzed or predicted with traditional statistical methods. Systems thinking is a core skill in public health and helps health policymakers build programs and policies that are aware of and prepared for unintended consequences. An important part of systems thinking is the practice to integrate multiple perspectives and synthesize them into a framework or model that can describe and predict the various ways in which a system might react to policy change. Systems thinking and systems models devise strategies to account for real world complexities. This work was coordinated by the Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research, the World Health Organization, with the aid of a grant from the International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada. Additional support was provided by the Department for International Development (DFID) through a grant (PO5467) to Future Health Systems research consortium. © World Health Organization 2014 All rights reserved. The designations employed and the presentation of the material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the World Health Organization concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. Dotted and dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement. The mention of specific companies or of certain manufacturers’ products does not imply that they are endorsed or recommended by the World Health Organization in preference to others of a similar nature that are not mentioned. Errors and omissions excepted, the names of proprietary products are distinguished by initial capital letters. All reasonable precautions have been taken by the World Health Organization to verify the information contained in this publication. However, the published material is being distributed without warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied. The responsibility for the interpretation and use of the material lies with the reader. In no event shall the World Health Organization be liable for damages arising from its use. Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health has a non-exclusive license to use and reproduce the material....

Principales reseñas

NM

Jun 08, 2019

This is an excellent-excellent course and provides a good primer even to somebody (like me) who has only a very limited exposure to public health and none to the concepts of systems thinking.

VS

Mar 12, 2018

The course is one of the best that I've attended on Coursera. This will be highly useful in my current course "Healthcare Operations Management" that I am offering for MBA students in India.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 148 revisiones para Systems Thinking In Public Health

por Juan S C

Jan 18, 2017

This is a very good introductory course into systems thinking. It provides the basics to understand this approach, with a right balance between being easy and deepening in the subject enough to be interesting.

por Zhao L

Jun 10, 2019

Thank you for this course! I have learnt about useful tools and ways of thinking in systematic way. It is very helpful for my work which requires exactly the skills. I'm happy to have taken this course!

por Nachiket M

Jun 08, 2019

This is an excellent-excellent course and provides a good primer even to somebody (like me) who has only a very limited exposure to public health and none to the concepts of systems thinking.

por Venkataramanaiah s

Mar 12, 2018

The course is one of the best that I've attended on Coursera. This will be highly useful in my current course "Healthcare Operations Management" that I am offering for MBA students in India.

por César D M

Feb 05, 2017

It was a great course tat not only teaches you the theory behind systems thinking but it also teaches you how to use some tools (software) to use systems thinking approach to solve problems.

por Jonathan O A

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent perspectives and helpful references; and because its an introductory course it opens up possibilities to utilize the knowledge in different public health related problems.

por Dr H S

Oct 08, 2019

The course was excellent but Q7. And Q8 is a country perspective and thus my perception does not match with your thinking that is largely based on the model of developed countries.

por Steve S

Jun 06, 2016

I thought this course was top notch - the lectures were very well designed and course production quality was first rate. An excellent introduction to an important subject area.

por Vishnu G P

Apr 07, 2020

This is a good course to pick up knowledge and skills on causal loop diagrams, stock and flow diagrams, agent based modelling and the relevant software needed to develop these.

por Ishani D

Jul 24, 2020

It gives a very deep perspective of a particular program along with developing personal skills and also the course develops understanding the needs and necessaties around.

por Rajal B S

Nov 08, 2019

This course is well structured and informative. The contents have been laid out in a clear and concise manner to help the learner gain and retain information with ease.

por Payel A

May 27, 2018

I learned a lot. Although the concepts were familiar to me, the tools were not. The instructors did a great job at introducing the Vensim and NetLogo. Thanks a bunch!

por Mandeep S

Apr 24, 2020

An extremely amazing course and the way the instructors have gone about explaining the things has been crystal clear. It gave me a lot of insight into this topic.

por OLANREWAJU A

Apr 15, 2020

The course is very insightful. I learnt a lot of new concepts and I hope to spend more time to master the skill of using the great tools for creating models.

por Michael J

Aug 04, 2020

Coming from a lean background, this really helped drive a deeper understanding and showed me some things I can add to my own practice with more confidence.

por Gina D

Oct 03, 2020

Very worthwhile and challenging enough to know that I have learned more about the Systems Thinking concept in public health. Excellent course, thank you.

por Jose E M H

Oct 08, 2019

Very good course to understand the concept of systems thinking and the modelling technique of systems dynamics applied to problems in health care.

por Elizabeth M W

Oct 14, 2018

I learned a lot from the course that provided both theoretical constructs and examples of practical applications of the learning.

por Stella O

May 05, 2020

I'm thankful that I had the opportunity to participate in this course. It was a great course and I definitely learnt a lot.

por Elizabeth A M O

Sep 21, 2017

Complex and very ilustrative course. I enjoyed it, although I think is it better to have some background knoweldge first.

por Edgar I

Dec 21, 2016

It was a great dive into system thinking. It can be used not only in Public Health but also in other fields. Nice course.

por Nathaniel J

Jan 02, 2020

Very well done. Gives students an overview of theory, and practical tools on two types of software to help build models.

por Helge T

Aug 30, 2019

Excellent and accessible introduction to systems thinking as it relates to health. Thank you for putting this together.

por Nicholas B

Aug 19, 2020

This was an excellent course and I will be integrated it into the systems thinking aspect of our MPH curriculum.