Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Teaching Language Online

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Teaching Language Online por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.4
estrellas
42 calificaciones
21 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Whether you have already taught English as a Second Language and want to start teaching it online, you've already been teaching ESL online and want to sharpen your skills, or you are new to teaching and interested in teaching ESL online, ASU and VOXY provide you with the basic ideas and concepts you need to know in order to successfully teach ESL online. This course uses a fun and interesting theme of "International Travel" to deliver content in an entertaining way. There are also plenty of real, recorded online session videos from VOXY in the course to show you examples of what it looks like to teach ESL online. In this course, you will learn about the best practices for teaching English as a Second Language online. This includes an introduction to online teaching, Second Language Acquisition theories and how they apply to ESL learners, conducting a needs analysis, curating content for your courses, designing lesson plans, and effective teaching strategies that will help you to become an successful online ESL teacher. The course consists of a variety of videos and readings, followed by quizzes. In the last module of the course, actual VOXY online ESL teachers share their experiences in the online classroom....

Principales revisiones

KI

Nov 19, 2019

Great skills though the practicum is too expensive. Thanks for the wonderful experience though.

GS

Jan 24, 2020

Great course. I recommend to anyone who wants to improve their language teaching skills.

Filtrar por:

1 - 21 de 21 revisiones para Teach English Now! Teaching Language Online

por Kiyingi I

Nov 19, 2019

Great skills though the practicum is too expensive. Thanks for the wonderful experience though.

por Romanovskaya M V

Nov 30, 2019

Было очень полезно

por Gretchen

Oct 30, 2019

Good solid background course for teaching language on-line. Some course material seemed out-of-order, and some was repeated. However, all material was applicable, and I enjoyed the presentation and pace of the course. Thank you!

por Bonnie S

Jul 25, 2019

Overall, the course was helpful, but it needs some better QA.

The pop-up quizzes during the videos were often right BEFORE the material answering the question was presented. (So you could only answer the question correctly if you read ahead in the transcript before answering.)

The fill-in-the-blank questions were very hard to get right. Even when I copied text verbatim from the course, it was marked wrong. E.g., "switching pairs for each activity" was wrong, I needed to enter "switch pairs." A human would have marked my initial response correct.

Some of the multiple-choice, multiple-answer questions were also frustrating, such as "why do you take notes during the lesson?" -- there would be one answer clearly supported by the course material, but the lesson quizzes demanded multiple answers to be marked correct. But then when you got to the same exact question on the final exam, it was a single-answer multiple -choice question.

por Supriya Y

Mar 29, 2020

Course material and organization of the course are great. Though it's an online course , I felt like the instructors are with me in my efforts to take my first steps of online teaching. The theory is so systematic, scientific and interactive that makes me more enthusiastic about creating my first online lessons. Thanks to Coursera and Arizona University People.

por Galpadi G N S A

Mar 02, 2020

This is a wonderful course which helps new ESL teachers on how to conduct online classes effectively. It was so interesting, fun , challenging and useful. It was not an average boring video course. So Thank you so much for the great experience.

por Graciela R S

Jan 24, 2020

Great course. I recommend to anyone who wants to improve their language teaching skills.

por Noor H

Mar 27, 2020

I have been through an amazing experience.. i am really excited to teach online.

por Osama S

Feb 26, 2020

I have learned a lot of things thank you all of the respectable teachers

por Jayrome N

Jun 30, 2019

very useful course and informative

por Тауекел А Г

Apr 07, 2020

really useful nd interesting

por Kaique B C

Sep 24, 2019

Incredible simply!!!

por Muhammad A A

May 30, 2019

Lovely course

por Vasilenko M V

Apr 04, 2020

Excellent!

por Gökhan Y

Mar 28, 2020

VERY GOOD

por Pedro M

Jan 27, 2020

Very good course, I really feel it was totally worth it and now I feel confident to teach English online and face-to-face. 4/5 stars since the first tests need to be polished; there are too much ambiguous answers and some mistakes, but that's just a technical issue, the content of the course is amazing.

por Rita M

Mar 12, 2020

The course would've been better had there been more samples of what online lessons for different macroskills at various levels (of English) looked like. Also, a list of resources (e.g. where to find authentic listening or reading materials) would've been very helpful. Finally, there could've been at least a module spent on teaching academic English online. On the technical side, there were errors with how one of the (earlier) quizzes was set up (as noted in the Discussion Forum).

por Rafael G

Feb 12, 2020

It's almost impossible to give the right answer to the questions in which you have to type, even knowing the right answer.

On the second test of the first week is not possible to give a right answer to the seventh question.

por Kelly R

Mar 16, 2020

Course itself offers good content. The quizzes, both during videos and for each lesson, have huge errors though.

por Valeria d C

Apr 08, 2020

Good content, but that is all. No peer interaction, no possible way of asking questions or talking with someone from the course staff. Several errors in the quizzes which nobody bothers to correct

por Tabaev R D

Apr 07, 2020

It's awful. Most of quizes are incorrect with answers, that students can't find in the course videos. For example, quiz 2 in week 4 has questions that we even haven't heard before. In order to have 100% for quiz 1 in week 1 you must choose incorrect answer in question 7 (or it doesn't relate to this week). What is more, you need to pay approximately 25 dollars for that profanation! I've already passed three courses from ASUs' TESOL certification, and those courses were awesome, they have really helped me in my present career. But, nevertheless, this course is a shame for the entire Arizona State University. Fix it, please, or don't lie to your students!