Chevron Left
Volver a Technical Support Fundamentals

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Technical Support Fundamentals por parte de Google

4.8
estrellas
31,664 calificaciones
8,058 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course is the first of a series that aims to prepare you for a role as an entry-level IT Support Specialist. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of Information Technology, or IT. You’ll learn about the different facets of Information Technology, like computer hardware, the Internet, computer software, troubleshooting, and customer service. This course covers a wide variety of topics in IT that are designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in this certificate program. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● understand how the binary system works ● assemble a computer from scratch ● choose and install an operating system on a computer ● understand what the Internet is, how it works, and the impact it has in the modern world ● learn how applications are created and how they work under the hood of a computer ● utilize common problem-solving methodologies and soft skills in an Information Technology setting...

Principales revisiones

DP

Mar 06, 2018

Awesome course designed by google. Thank you very much. Knowledge gained in just introductery leactures started burning desire in me to complete whole syllabus. Every bit of program is worth the time.

YC

May 25, 2020

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 8,059 revisiones para Technical Support Fundamentals

por Gordon O

Feb 23, 2019

This course has been fantastic so far and truly proved to go beyond my initial expectations, particularly with how engaging it has been. The videos offer a much-needed break from the monotonous reading of text I am familiar with in other courses and being able to look at a real person and listen to them is an entirely different way to learn that will benefit people of various learning styles. The material is really interesting and to the point, while covering a variety of topics in the field. I especially enjoyed this last Module in Week 6 where we dove into some of the finer points of actually landing a job through resume building and interview prep. This is ultimately what myself and I suspect most of the other students are looking for by taking this course so I found this section to be extremely helpful. I wish I had finished this part before my interview last week! I'm very much looking forward to continuing on to the next course. Can't wait!

por Noe K

May 16, 2020

I rediscovered the IT world, I was able to improve values ​​and acquired new skills in the way of analyzing the problem, giving treatment, and above all it reminded me and helped me to understand that the IT world is vast, we don't know everything but that with commitment we arrive at the objectives. Without forgetting that it is not enough to be an excellent professional in the field, but above all you need to know how to take care of, care for the client as new work will come.

Redescobri o mundo da TI, pude melhorar valores e adquiri novas qualodades na forma de analisar o prblema, dar tratamento, bem como acima de tudo lembrou-me e ajudou-me a entender que o mundo da TI é vasto, nao sabemos tudo mas que com empenho chegamos aos objectivos. Sem esquecer que não basta ser um excelente profissional no campo, mas acima de tudo precisa saber cuida, tratar do cliente pois dai advirão os novos trabalhos.

por Deleted A

Oct 25, 2018

I took this course twice. The first time I scored a 99% and moved on to the bits and bytes of computer networking. Once in the class, I realized that although these courses are self paced, I did not give myself the time I needed to really learn and absorb the knowledge. So I actually went back and took the fundamentals certification all over again. Now again, moving onto the bits and bytes of computer networking with a stronger foundation. These certs are good for entry level and remedial education for veteran techs. The proverbial 'they' did a great job putting these courses together ... hitting a lot of wickets that are missed in other venues such as skillsoft's A+ Net+ & Sec+ where you learn facts often entirely devoid of the contextual knowledge of how to apply what you are memorizing. To each their own, but if you are looking to have a cert series you will actually use ... look no further! ;)

por Katelyn R

Dec 10, 2019

I just finished the first week of the course and I am hooked. I am excited to be paving the roadway for my career with this course where I learn all the basic fundamentals of technical support. The material matter is up to date and very informational. I am soaking it all up and am loving the variety of videos and quiz exercises. I just wish they had more activities in to break up some of the longer video portions. I am able to maintain my focus, but for other users I can see how it might come off as intimidating. I would also maybe label the Quiz portions something different. Some users see the word "Quiz" and clam up. This could be completely avoided if these portions were labeled as "Week _ Exercise". This way more users would be likely to continue the course and add to the successful passing rate of this very user friendly program.

por April S

Nov 18, 2019

This is the first online course I've taken, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but I was pleasantly surprised. I've always been hesitant to take online courses, because I felt like I'd be missing out on the real classroom experience and not actually learn as much as I should. But after seeing a Google sponsored course, I decided to give it a try and have no regrets!

At first I felt like this so course was so long, but I now appreciate how in depth the instructors go into the topics discussed. And the labs are so helpful that I don't feel I'm missing out on anything. Everything is so detailed and laid out step by step.

As someone with no IT experience whatsoever, I know I still have a lot to learn, but I definitely feel like I've made so much progress just in this first course, and I'm excited to see it through to completion!

por David E T

Apr 17, 2019

I found that this course was pretty much what I needed. At first, I didn't think I would be able to take the course. When it was presented last year, I really wanted to get into the course because I felt that it could offer me more background information that what I had received in school. But I thought it was real expensive. So, I shied away from it. But, when an opportunity presented itself for me to get involved, I jumped at the chance.

I have completed my first module. I'm looking forward to the next module so I can go onward to completing the course and get myself into the field. I do hope this certification will help me.

One thing, how come Coursera don't have a course dealing with CompTIA A+, Network + and Security +? Many would benefit from this. Something to look at.

Thanks,

Dave Thomas

por Naomi

Sep 23, 2019

This course was amazing. I love how lots of information was broken down into lots of short videos to make learning fun and flexible! I look forward to the rest of the courses! Thank you, tech support, for all of your help so far. Thank you, classmates, for posting your technical difficulties with solutions for everybody to learn from while going through this course. I love how the presenters in the video shared their back stories. I love how we were assessed along the way so that we could go right back and re-watch the videos to re-learn the material. And, I absolutely loved the fact that the entire course is self-paced , as well as being able to re-take the assessments until achieving a 100% test score! I look forward to receiving my certificates of completion for each of the 5 courses!

por Wan M A B Y

Oct 31, 2018

I like it very much. Coming from a mid-to-late 20's growing up in an environment to see how computers evolved throughout the years, I would say this course definitely helped me pick back some stuff from high school and even taught me new things. I think Google does a great job in helping to educate the public. I love computers but I never thought that I would take this course since I studied something else during college. Now, I think I will go for a career in the IT industry because what this course taught me is that the field of technology is very broad and depth. Almost every company would require somebody who practices and is literate in IT. I will most probably continue with the specialization courses because I think it will be useful in the Real-World scenario.

IT and Google rocks!

por Sofiya G

Mar 27, 2020

This is a good course for those who were training for CompTIA A+, as there are the fundamentals of Hardware, Software, and Networking. It seems like a vendor-neutral professional certification because here we can use both Linux and Windows GUI and CLI interfaces. It has a good Lab, and I did it several times from different computers: I have iMac with Linux Ubuntu on it, Windows Microsoft, MacBook Pro. (I used a USB flash drive to copy the keys and to move it to the other PC's Download folders). And I used all the computers to do the Lab Tasks. All the steps to complete the task were really easy and clear. I recommend this course for those who want to obtain skills in using Microsoft Remote Desktop (on Windows and Linux) and Remmina (on Linux Ubuntu). Thank you for this Lab experience!

por Justin M

Oct 16, 2019

I'd like to thank Google and Coursera for the opportunity to enroll in this Technical Support Fundamentals course. I am very grateful. This course is very practical for an entry-level role in an IT business environment. As a Management Information Systems (MIS) major, I am very pleased with the information provided here and I suggest anyone with minimal knowledge in IT to enroll. Much of this coursework was a recap of what I studied, such as network infrastructure, data integrity, security, troubleshooting, and binary code. Exposure to Linux and how to run commands was especially noteworthy.

Again, this is a very practical course which utilizes fundamental information technology concepts into concise, easy-to-follow labs and modules. Highly recommended! Thank you.

por Anthony " O

Oct 26, 2019

I'm so happy that I started this journey. It's exciting and feeding a passion to learn more about technology. The presenters have been amazing and inspiring. Every aspect of this course has been targeted and strategically built to help everyone succeed. I found myself reviewing notes when needed and paying attention to items called out in the videos as key. The supplemental reading was interesting and I often found myself learning a lot about how the history of technology has impacted today and the processes that are still used (and often expanded upon). I'm looking forward to more! It feels like the rush of an amazing quest game, only leveling-up is hitting those 100% graded assignments and the benefits are personal growth; a win-win!

por Cody T

Nov 14, 2018

I really enjoyed going through this first course out of the Google IT Support Professional Certificate. There was a lot of things that I had already knew about just from my personal life and growing up. But there was also some great knowledge that I learned from this introductory course. Overall, the course did have some bugs here and there, however, the course was a great introduction into the field of IT. I cannot wait to continue with this certificate program and continue to learn more and eventually at the end of this certificate program land a new job in the IT world to show my passion and change my career.

Thank you Google & the professors that put this program for people like me to use in order to get into the IT field.

por Kel L

Jul 16, 2018

I think this was a great course to start with for this particular certificate. It places the ground work for IT support. This course explains why IT Support is so important to businesses and why there is a need to have people in these kind of support positions. Most end users are intimidated when it comes to computers and tend to shy away from using them unless they really have to. Being able to simplify or fix something for an end user and explain it in terms they understand build a rapport and trust with the end user. By taking this course, it provides the basic knowledge to help end users. I can now zero in on the root cause and fix problems so that they do not happen again in opposed to putting a bandaid on an issue.

por Maureen V

Mar 15, 2018

This is a comprehensive course that doesn't assume anything, and as such is learning-accessible to the entire spectrum of potential students. If a person already has knowledge of some of the material presented, this highly organized course will fill in the gaps in a logical and engaging manner. If one were a true beginner (as am I), this course encourages the student through the curriculum, building on knowledge and tasks as it progresses and helping to dispel any lurking insecurity about learning IT Support with each step forward.

It is a task-based model which considers mastery of the subject the desired outcome, rather than an old-school grading system.

I highly recommend this course.

por Hailey G

Oct 30, 2018

I really enjoyed the different learning styles that were used through out the course. It was very hands on but at the same time I was able to do the course at my own pace. I did notice a couple bugs and errors with typo's and compatibility issues but i image as the course grows they will be worked out. Nothing sever. I would change the personal bio videos as being a requirement of the course. Although I do find them beneficial, I might suggest creating instructor profiles then put an option on the home page to go to their profile and learn about them. This could even come as a "Suggest Reading" . I was very engaged through out the course and am looking forward to the next one.

por Philip A

Aug 23, 2018

It is so marvellous to realise how capable I could be when I am being taught by trailblazers like Googlers themselves. The exercises are very helpful and they help me to stay alert and challenge my thinking about technology. I am very sure I am going to work hard to complete the course in the shortest time as possible. I cannot wait to recommend this program to my friends and family. Thank you, Google, very much for exposing or unearthing my technological talent because I never anticipated I could come to this far considering my background in technology. The courses are very insightful. I like the way Google has simplified complex tasks to the level of a novice like me.

por Navaira F

Mar 20, 2020

I took this course as a beginning to my IT career and also because it is a requirement for my program. This course was very helpful, as coming from a non-IT background, I had no knowledge about technology but because of the simplicity of content in this course, it excelled my basic knowledge about computers and networking. I loved everything about this course, the content was easy to understand and the instructors just perfectly explained every topic in words that could be understood by someone like me with no IT background. I would like to thank everyone who was a part of this amazing course because of great instructors like you, students like me can learn everyday.

por Faezeh J

Apr 26, 2020

First and foremost, I would like to thank Google and Coursera for providing such a wonderful learning opportunity. I really enjoyed learning from the best of the best. These overview lessons were thoughtfully designed to engage learners and keep us motivated. I've never been so eager to learn about computers and how the Internet and every aspect of it works before. The most interesting part of this course for me was working in virtual machine and learning about remote access. I had a great experience getting help and learning from Google IT specialists when I needed it. I appreciate it and truly look forward to learning more details about IT automation and security.

por TYLER S

Feb 25, 2020

This course has really been a surprise! I saw an add for the course come up on instagram one day and thought maybe it was something worth looking at. I didn't finish college and I've always been good with electronics so I figured it was worth a shot, and it was! I learned a lot about computer networking, software instillation and much more all within a 6 week time frame. There is a ton of learning that goes into IT and the time spent in this course gave a good look into that, but also showed that it isn't impossible to learn. I would highly recommend this to anyone who was interested in dipping their toe into the IT field, plus you earn a certificate at the end!

por Amanda S

Feb 19, 2018

I enjoyed this course. I have been in the IT industry for years I was able to pick up some valuable information. I think the key to being successful in this course series is having an open mind and accepting that there is more than one right way to do things. While some questions lack detail and are open to interpretation, being mindful of the instructor and the information they specifically cover helps narrow down what they are looking for you to get out of the program. If you are attempting to test out, it may be necessary to watch a handful of videos to ace the quizzes. I've just begun series 2 week 2 of this 6 part course and I recommend you to keep going!

por Thomas J M

Jan 17, 2020

So far I love this course. Very thankful they put it together and offer at an affordable price. It seems to go pretty deep eventually after looking at all the course content. It is all very well put together and ready for anyone to dive in. All the instructors do a great job and help make the learning process flow better IMO. Turns out when it come to IT everything pertaining to computer science in involved. I know I need to catch up with the time LMAO. What I mean by that is if you feel a passion for computer science at all the DUH IT is the real thing! Even programming, coding, security etc etc etc. I appreciate the time and effort of those who made this.

por Larry H

Feb 17, 2020

As I began this course I started to realize that this is my calling. I've always had my hand in IT related things from the automotive and manufacturing industry and it showed by the way I breezed through this course without skipping a beat. I wasn't a challenge but it was cool to go through a few extra steps to setup a VM since I am currently on apple products for the quizzes that involved performing tasks on Windows and Linux OS's. I didn't try to rush at all and I was able to complete this 6 week course in a about a week with minimal IT skills. This certificate is well worth going through for anyone looking to get their foot in the door with IT.

por Neo S M

Oct 10, 2019

Having to do this course helped me a lot. I now have the Adhoc fundamental skills to grow my business both in tech support and customer service aspects.

I enjoyed learning about remote support possibilities and working on virtual machines. That was pretty awesome.

I struggled a bit with connecting to the Linux VM, however, tends out I had to use another different network.

And, lastly, I am really looking forward to the next course.

Thank you so much for funding me. I really appreciate it. If I could find you who have approved my application, I would buy you coffee - as a token of appreciation. Thank you so much. Looking forward to the next course.

por Chanchal B

May 18, 2020

great stepping stone to encourage you to learn more in this industry. all my life i have struggled in school and after High school graduation struggled again to focus in community college resulting in giving up my education and just making money in restaurant field. This is the first time i feel i have accomplished something. The lessons that have been provided don't directly go into extreme technicality which can discourage a person like me to shut down. I really appreciate the info they give you to understand the basic topic in the most simple way and i believe this is the type of education is needed for a lot of people like me.

por Aditya A

Feb 27, 2020

I was an awesome experience to learn with you guys. I really find myself lucky to be a part of the program and this course. Thanks to all the mentors for all the knowledge and thanks to Coursera team for such an awesome platform and thanks to Google for launching this program for all the people who have keen desire to learn about technologies but don't have much resources to get to a good college or a university. I know this is just a glimpse of IT knowledge but it can't be ignored because it's the foundation for what I will be tomorrow. Thanks again to all of you. I don,t not enough words anymore to describe my feelings.