Chevron Left
Volver a Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice por parte de Universiteit Leiden

4.8
estrellas
2,826 calificaciones
683 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Principales reseñas

PR
28 de ago. de 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

WM
24 de feb. de 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 665 revisiones para Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

por jean c o e

4 de jun. de 2019

This course is simply great. I am myself an expert in security studies, but I admit that I have leaned a lot. This course has helped to update my knowledge in my major :International Security. The lecturer is actually a professional who explains things, concepts and phenomena with accuracy. The skills I have acquired with this course will undoubtedly help me in my career as a security expert as I shall soon start my new position as an intelligence analyst with the police.

por Gargi g

19 de jun. de 2019

didn't get my certificate just because i passed the deadline

por renaudb

16 de ago. de 2015

Great course, just one little problem : the "anglo-saxon" oriented theories on wich this course is based (nothing about the french scholars and studies, although France knows a lot - and a lot more than US scholars for example - about terrorism and specially jihadist terrorism that we unfortunately know since the middle of 80's. Some names : Gilles Kepel, Olivier Roy, Mathieu Guideres). Some assumptions about history of terrorism are factually wrong too: Narodnaïa Volia was not an anarchist movement, but a nihilist (Tchernytchevsky, Netchaiev) one. Militants came from russian aristocracy and their ideology was based on the education of the peasant people of russia when anarchists thank that the revolution would come from the workers and the new proletarian class. And anarchy came first from France (Proudhon, Fourier, etc…) and moved after to Russia. Finally, the role of PFLP in the history of terrorism is much more important than PLO (new modus operandi - plane high jacking and hostages, collusion with left-wing AND right wing movements) : of course I don't talk there about political influence but about history of terrorism, movements and modus operandi.

Check out the great book "Histoire du terrorism" - Gilles Ferragu, Paris, 2014.

Anyway i enjoy very much this course. Many thanks from a parisian student !!!

por Paige W

25 de sep. de 2016

Interesting course but:

1) The transcripts for each week are appalling. Here is a copied and pasted example: "Separatist groups remained active in almost 90% of decapitation cases where only a third of ideologically ideological organizations such as left wing and right wing organizations. Are damaged by it. And then, in general, in 17% of the cases. So 7% of the cases, decapitation led to the collapse of an organization." How are those that are hearing impaired meant to understand what the course leader is communicating? It took me so long to understand the transcript that I may as well have listened instead. The subtitles option reads the same as the transcript - not much good for anyone with anything but perfect hearing.

2) The estimated timings for each activity are somewhat optimistic. '10 minutes' is the recommended reading time for each week's reading content. Within this reading list are, on average, 8 articles, some of which amount to over 70 pages - if each article is roughly 25-40 pages on average, and there are around 8 articles, how will this reading activity take the student only '10 minutes' to complete?

Apart from that, I did really enjoy the course!!

por RBUlrich

4 de sep. de 2016

In general good, but not updated - seems from around 2013, so the new developments are not mentioned.

por Mauricio A T L

16 de nov. de 2015

El curso es excelente, sin embargo la calificación es desastrosa. Coursera debería crear un sistema distinto de calificaciones para no depender el "buen ánimo" de nuestros compañeros de clase. Tuve inconvenientes con la presentación de mi trabajo escrito dado que no hablo inglés y tuve que recurrir a traductores y a mi poco conocimiento en la escritura del idioma para finalizar mi ensayo. El resultado fue que muchas personas no entendieron bien mi trabajo y me han calificado con la nota más baja. Eso hace que el esfuerzo y el intelecto de personas que no escriben en inglés (pero que si pueden entenderlo), se vea afectado y no sea reconocido. Espero que puedan idear otra forma de evaluación más pertinente y acorde con las necesidades de los estudiantes.

por Scott A C

26 de ago. de 2016

Good review of the theory but course is outdated given the number of events in the last 2 years that relate to the information provided in the course -- particularly as it relates to attacks

por Leon Z

23 de may. de 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

por Massimo Z

21 de sep. de 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

por Greg I

11 de jun. de 2017

Excellent! Accessible, yet detailed, well researched and presented, thought provoking. A good glimpse into what security studies/terrorism academia can be like. I wish there were more!

por Jairo H

20 de ene. de 2019

excelente tema, me gustaría tomar un curso más actualizado por ejemplo un análisis del terrorismo mundial entre el 2018 y el 2019

por MDE, I J H G

5 de jun. de 2019

Excelente curso, diseñado de forma estratégica para envolverte en el tema.

por John G

2 de mar. de 2017

Interesting and informative, but the material seemed dated. The paper on Jihadi terrorists in Europe is from 2006, and information from the global terrorism database is from 2010, for example. Some of the lecture content also seemed years behind the times -- like the omission of any mention of the increase in terrorist attacks in Western Europe. (Yes, the lecture on foreign fighters was more current.)

Maybe it's there somewhere, but all MOOCs should disclose when the lectures were recorded.

por Bruno M

29 de sep. de 2019

Some readings were not up to date anymore

por Thomasybruce

15 de ago. de 2015

A very good and thought provoking course.

It is a re-run of an archived course and sadly a number of reference materials that had been on the dashboard are not reposted with it. Also there are references to discussion forums that don't exist. If the missing material and content were up to date it would be a strong and complete course.

por Colleen L

17 de sep. de 2015

When discussed in popular media, terrorism is a topic that is quite sensationalized. In contrast, Professor Bakker offered a very balanced view of terrorism in this course, tackling common perceptions of terrorism and counterterrorism in an organized fashion, and backing up his claims with arguments from both sides as well as hard data collected by scholars in the field.

I also like that the course was kept current with added discussion on Syria. The lectures on Syria were a bit less clear and organized than the previous ones, but then again, hindsight is 20/20, and the Syria conflict is a current event.

By and large, I liked that Professor Bakker did not "preach" his thoughts on terrorism, e.g. making leaps of faith and then expecting us to take unproven assumptions as the basis for a further argument. If I had to make one suggestion on how to improve the course, I would say that the handful of videos by external speakers were not properly contextualized in the course. In particular, I didn't understand why there was a video of a woman from Amnesty International talking about drone strikes and urging political action, since it was not referenced at all by other lectures.

por Wangari P m

25 de feb. de 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

por RAMON R M

6 de jul. de 2019

I highly recommend taking this course, which will allow you to acquire knowledge on the subject of Terrorism.

por Wellington L

29 de jun. de 2019

Great course. Really helpful.

por Ciara O

26 de jun. de 2019

Really interesting course!

por Ana L J

3 de jul. de 2019

Excellent!

por Hien S A

8 de jul. de 2019

Très bien

por Kerstin K

29 de mar. de 2016

Altogether a useful introduction to an interesting topic -- despite the generalizing approach and the sometimes conservative instead of neutral presentation.

por Víctor M C P

10 de abr. de 2019

Necesito la traducción en Español de todo el Curso. Gracias de antemano por su atención.

por Deleted A

13 de ene. de 2016

Bien explique pour le instructeur. bravo!

Manque quelque tractions en FRANCE