Chevron Left
Volver a The Music of the Beatles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Music of the Beatles por parte de Universidad de Rochester

4.8
estrellas
674 calificaciones
252 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The Music of the Beatles will track the musical development of the band, starting from the earliest days in Liverpool and Hamburg, moving through the excitement of Beatlemania, the rush of psychedelia, and the maturity of Abbey Road. While the focus will be on the music, we will also consider how recording techniques, the music business, the music of other artists, and the culture of the 1960s affected John, Paul, George, and Ringo as they created the Beatles repertory. There is probably no band or artist that has had more written about their music than the Beatles. There are many good books on the band's biography, several insider accounts offering glimpses behind the scenes, books that interpret the meaning of the songs, and even books that catalog dates and people regarding the band. This course will try to synthesize much of that information into an account of the Beatles' development as musicians and songwriters....

Principales reseñas

SS
12 de jun. de 2020

Great class. For someone who grew up listening to the Beatles (thank you, Mom!), I learned things I did not know and will listen to the songs with a different appreciation and approach. Thank you!!!!

MM
7 de mar. de 2016

I have always been curious about the beginnings of the Beatles and in fact I have been playing and singing some of their popular songs. I'm glad there is a free on line course about them.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 250 revisiones para The Music of the Beatles

por Jim R

16 de abr. de 2018

Muy buen curso, aprendí bastante y logré dimensionar el avance la música a través de la experiencia de los Beatles. Me hubiese gustado oír un poco más en cuanto al trabajo de George Martin o Geoff Emerick, pero en general el curso está genial!

por Dave U

5 de mar. de 2021

The course is definitely impacted negatively by the complete absence of Beatles music and by the inability of the instructor to state any of the lyrics. But the instructor is very good.

por Dwight H

15 de feb. de 2021

Very good history of the Beatles and their style of music.

A little more about the Beatles lives and their travel dates over the years would have been added interest.

por Jaime R

1 de nov. de 2019

Excellent course, maybe it should go deeper in composition, beside the analysis of form. Harmony for instance. Thanks a lot, it was a thrill.

por Ewan K

29 de jul. de 2017

Had lots of fun, great course. Good insight into the history of the Beatles, now I can enjoy the albums in a new light, Thank you Professor.

por Kay F

13 de may. de 2021

Some information does get complicated. While I understand about copyright laws, it's a shame we couldn't listen to examples. Thank you.

por Fok s k

1 de nov. de 2016

The course is great and it helps me in understanding and appreciating their music.

por Evelyn G

10 de feb. de 2018

Muy interesante, en especial para quienes amamos la música de los Beatles.

por Heather M

30 de abr. de 2018

Very interesting course, especially if you are interested in the Beatles.

por Felipe R

17 de abr. de 2016

Buen curso, bien detallado y organizado. Muy bueno.

por Laura A A T

9 de sep. de 2020

Hace falta escuchar fragmentos de la música

por Luc L

21 de dic. de 2016

Really enjoyed learning about The Beatles

por Antonio R M

16 de abr. de 2017

Muy interesante

por Sokrates V

26 de ago. de 2015

That was great!

por Jose C P

24 de may. de 2017

muy bueno

por Todd S V

5 de sep. de 2018

The course was ok. For a free (or $50) course that is based on True False and Multiple Guess questions drawn from the instructor's videos, it isn't bad. Regrettably, with all the music, reference materials, etc. out there, the course could be so much better! No true, required discussion forums, no research, no papers, no essay questions. The recommended reading materials are an excellent foundation. Too bad they aren't needed for the course (as everything is predicated on the videos). Perhaps University of Rochester (or some other Coursera community center of learning) could offer something a bit more thought provoking and educationally stimulating for "advanced" Beatles Fans? Peace and Love.

por Chingiz S

14 de jun. de 2016

Apparently, the instructor is well-informed in the history of the band.

Nevertheless, information is delivered in a huge portions, sometimes cluttered and it s easy to lost in the narrative.

Sound quality is bad (the volume is jumping sometimes and there is a lot of noise)

May I suggest that you provide a short arts of songs you are talking about?

I understand, there are copyright issues, but still, something should be done about it.

All in all, I wish to enroll in the second, improved release of this course

por yaoyaoholiday

8 de mar. de 2017

The professor is very knowledgable. However, the course has too much memorized stuff to remember (especially when students try to finish the tests). One more thing, though at the beginning of the class, the professor notified that Beatles songs won't be played in the class due to copyright reason, but when students really go through the whole class, it is very hard to follow. Isn't music all about feeling? But the class is more like a history class. : (

por Eylül K

18 de mar. de 2017

The content of the course is very nice. Especially the part about the instruments is very good. It's good to see exact instruments of them. Hovewer, I think, a course about music should include a little bit music :) It will be better to figure out the problem about copyright. I prepared a Spotify list that includes the songs mentioned during the course but It's better to listen the music or see the lyrics during the course.

Thank you very much :)

por Anthony P

8 de dic. de 2015

I'm grateful to the professor for constructing and delivering this course. I learned a few things but the lack of musical analysis was a disappointment. I know that form is important but there was no mention of modulation, chord progressions or cadence styles (John versus Paul). I feel the course should have been titled The History of the Beatles.

por marc b

26 de nov. de 2016

Clearly, the instructor is passionate about the Beatles (as am I). However it's really hard to talk about the music of the Beatles and not nine able to even quote from their songs, much less play their music! No songs, no music for fear of being sued!

Takes a good deal away from the course!

por Deleted A

27 de jun. de 2016

You can't have a "Music of the Beatles" course without playing some of the music. Surely under the Fair Use provisions of the Copyright Act parts of the Beatles music could be played as well as parts of YouTube

por Rahul R

5 de may. de 2020

I like all the zeal and passion. But, there has to be music. Else, it's as good as just a history class.

por Lionel J P

1 de feb. de 2018

Too much talking head. Not always well researched. Naïve and coy presentation.

por fabian r

28 de ago. de 2016

it has to be reviewed