Chevron Left
Volver a The Business of Product Management I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Business of Product Management I por parte de Impulsar a las mujeres en la tecnología

4.5
estrellas
607 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Learn to excel in product management roles while learning directly from industry-leading product managers and real-world case studies from Amazon, Intuit, Procter and Gamble, Barnes and Noble, Whole Foods, Google, Twitter, Tesla, Dropbox, Eventbrite, Blue, Samson, Coffee Meets Bagel, Mixpanel, and more! Featuring expert product manager instructors including: * NANCY WANG, Head of Data Protection Services, Amazon Web Services; Founder and CEO, Advancing Women in Product * WAYNE DUSO, Vice President for Edge Computing, File Services, and Data Services, Amazon Web Services * ARUM KANG, Co-Founder & CEO, Coffee Meets Bagel * AMIR MOVAFAGHI, CEO, Mixpanel; former Global Head of Business of Operations, Twitter. Sponsored by AMAZON WEB SERVICES (AWS). This is the first of four courses in the ACE Recommended Real-World Product Management Specialization. When you complete all four courses, you can earn up to 6 college credits....

Principales reseñas

RR

2 de dic. de 2020

Fantastic course. I really enjoyed the interviews with industry experts. They were extremely insightful. The exercises and assignments were super useful and the templates made it easy to get started.

SS

4 de abr. de 2021

I really enjoyed this course because it was a good balance between the lectures and assignments. Doing the assignments not only helped me increase my confidence but also helped me expand my thinking.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 325 revisiones para The Business of Product Management I

por Markus W

1 de jul. de 2021

Boring

por Lomie T

9 de ago. de 2021

I chose to enroll in the course to explore a possible career change and so far it has not disappointed. The videos and examples used have been insightful, and captivating. I enjoyed discovering the nuts and bolts of various companies I am familiar with. I have also discovered that I gravitate to gathering competitive intelligence, writing the PR statements and drawing up customer personas - in that order.

The TAM, SAM and SOM exercise was a little anxiety inducing, especially when I couldnt find the information I needed to validate my insights or assumptions. I am/was determined to use the product I was developing for each assignment, and getting information for some of the exercises was challenging.

the other stumbling block were the peer graded assignments. There was a technical issue with one submission, and it kept on getting marked as 0 because the grader couldnt open the link. Having to resubmit it 3 times was not fun. The other issue was another grader who gave me a positive comment on my submission, like... great work, but then promptly selected 0 for every question - I had to resubmit that one too.

Besides the above stumbling blocks, I think another way to improve the course would be to get actual PMs to comment on assignment submissions, to let us know how were doing. As someone looking to break into the industry, that kind of feedback would be priceless for me.

All in all though, my experience has been a positive one, I would highly recommend the course.

por Jennifer A

23 de sep. de 2021

I am so excited that I found this course on Coursera. When I signed up for Coursera's trial I had actually enrolled in a PM course that I quickly realized was not a good fit for me. After searching if Coursera had anything else for PM, I stumbled upon the AWIT course and decided to give it a try. It was absolutely perfect for what I was looking for! I also didn't realize until halfway into Week 1's lesson that there were 4 parts to this series. The course gave me so much motivation to continue my goals in PM, and also some validation that I am on the right track and I am capable of being successful in the field. I liked that I was able to revisit the quizzes multiple times in case I missed a question, and I also enjoyed the peer reviews, it's always great to have someone else's perception on your work! Thank you!

por Dana H

31 de ene. de 2022

I enjoyed this course, The course is both educational, nicely paced and enjoyable because of teaching examples. The conversations with Arum Kang and Amir Movafaghi were engaging and there is a lot to learn.

There are two pain points that I noticed.

The first is a Coursera problem, students have difficulty submitting their work. It's difficult to peer review when I can't access their work because it's not a link, and I can't copy the URL to a browser.

The second issue for me was the User Journey mapping explanations were not as clear as other topics. From other student submissions, it seemed they might have had the same issue. In any case, it was a great starting point to introduce the topic, and I looked into it a bit more to make sure I got a clearer understanding.

por Balazs L M

1 de dic. de 2021

sometimes the video material could use some different picture in picture edits. I felt a few times that the presentation slide or example that was used was just in the background in a small image and the bigger picture was Nancy in the front of the screen. It was many times distracting. Usually, it is better to do it in a Zoom conference presentation fashion where the presented content slide is the larger part of the screen and the presenter is a smaller window at the bottom right or left.

Also, I felt a few times that Nancy's voice was a little monotone with not enough dynamics, and punctuations that could help the audience to focus on the content.

Other than that it was very useful and I feel I learned a lot!

por Rebecca N

14 de mar. de 2021

The course covered a lot of great material that I haven't learned yet. I found the sections on MVP, Developing Personas and Sizing the Total Market exercises very helpful - especially when put into practice. I also shared them with my colleagues.

The only downside was the amount of work on the projects. While I loved the projects, I really wish I had more time to complete them in the time period in which they are due. It's almost like this course needs 5 weeks to complete instead of 4 weeks. I'm a busy professional and sometimes fell behind because I only have about 2-3 hours a week to study. Weeks that had more than one assignment usually put me a bit behind. I will be signing up for the next course though :)

por Zoe T

24 de feb. de 2022

I honestly felt overwhelmed after the first few topics in the first week as this is a very unfamiliar subject to me. I want to change my career path to be a PM in the near future.

The "See One, Do One, Teach one" was very helpful. Nancy has structured the course very well and very informative. After the first week, I felt like I finally grasped the content and the knowledge. The assignments has become less daunting and given me much more excitement.

I particularly like how Nancy has invited industry experts to discuss relevant topics on how to become good PMs, PM traits, and how to navigate one's career path.

Thank you so much, Nancy. I can't wait to continue my journey.

por Thais D C

3 de dic. de 2022

I can say that I’m genuinely satisfied with the content of the first course: The Business of Product Management I. As someone who already works with product development but not as a PM yet, I felt very comfortable with the course and most of the activities, the method See 1, Do 1, Teach 1 always made sense to me. But I would suggest a stronger lesson specifically about MVP and Competitor Analysis. These two subjects are very important to a PM daily life and I believe they need a deeper approach, with more examples to See before the student get ask to Do the activity, to build more confidence in that matter that is so important to perform this job.

por Maria-Lida K

13 de feb. de 2022

thank you Nancy for delivering this course, which covers most of the PM aspects that are not covered in that detail so frequent from other courses. I am referring to the PRD, PR, market sizign and competitor analysis where with your "See one, Do one, Teach one" we (the students) can better digest the material and learn.

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it. The content is well organised, deep and focused on practical situations. I particularly enjoyed business elements that I would like to get more confident, and feels like I achieved it by attending this course. Looking forward to completing this specialisation.

thank you again.

por Jayakumar K

18 de may. de 2021

The course is just about right sized and right paced for someone who is committed to spend time and learn. It was very helpful for the course to have given a rubric or a checklist that tells whether the primary goals of each product manager output (or analysis) is met or not. It helped to build confidence and focus on what is important. The interviews from real world, true to the name of the course itself also helps to build confidence. My long term goal is to contribute to the success of banking business or related ones. Having worked as Project Manager for over 15 years, I was keen to learn the intricacies of Product Management.

por Zeynep T

30 de mar. de 2021

This course made me realize that Product Management is actually inside of every job and responsibility. I found myself thinking about my before projects and how I performed a little bit of product management. I become more self-aware that it is really core at today's business world and I really become a part of it. Thanks to Nancy and all other guest speakers for this amazing journey. This is a super opportunity in our world that I can enroll this course and learn all this stuff from Amazon's one of Product Managers. I strongly recommend every person to learn basics of PM and start somewhere.

por Cheikh S N

11 de nov. de 2020

Great course, with great insight really practical. I felt overall confident into pursuing the course but I felt lt also a bit overwhelmed by the characteristics of a good PM.

On the plus side : a lot of down to earth template that focus on the essential and are practical, a good overview of PM role in real life situation, a step by step approach to product management with competence and skills and advice from potential recruiter that is a plus.

On the room for improvement : the go to market part is very light.

I can't wait to go to part 2 of this class.

Thank you very much.

por Ayomide A

2 de dic. de 2022

This course was carefully crafted with a lot of intentionality. I believe the purpose of learning is to become better than your old self and this course has made me wayyy better than I ever was. It has helped to engrain product management into my whole system. Since the start of this course, to its completion and beyond, I have caught myself thinking product at every hour of the day.

So many lessons to be learnt, so many skills to be acquired, so many industry players to derive a thing or two from. I am happy and grateful for the opportunity given by this course.

por Aliza R

26 de sep. de 2022

Excellent course! It would be great that after each major topic if there was some reading points. I love the videos but sometimes it helps to read the info to truly understand it. Similar to the Google Project Management Course where they have some reading material follow important concepts. But otherwise great course Nancy! I completely understand the Google does have more resources than AWIT. Thank you for making this an enjoyable hands-on experience. Truly appreciate all of the templates provided and the extent of the assignments. See you in Course 2 :)

por Svetlana Š

3 de abr. de 2022

I have enjoyed this course because it is more of a intor to a mindset of a product management, than some strict techniques guide. This is a way that works the best for me, with the short videos that just hold my attention. With every new subject, I have questioned myself about the approact to the work that I have now and how can I adapt it to a more product oriented approach. My current work is very conservative and not user or product oriented, but even for current tasks the customer persona and the competitve analysis are going to be benifitial.

por Angeles L

12 de dic. de 2021

I really loved how up-to-date the course is, with great examples and speakers! I really liked to learned about TAM, SAM, SOM, mapping customer persona and the mapping the road to effectively analyze the pros and cons about our product/service. In some questions from the quizzes I was a bit frustrated because I don't think we had much information about the matter and maybe some information was assumed to be known by the student or it could be that I just didn't catch or understood some things. But overall love it and I'll be taking more courses!

por evi k

9 de dic. de 2020

I love the pace of the course, the examples and real-life flavor it brings. Things that could improve: for our see one, do one, teach one, I would prefer if Nancy picked a single product and use as an example to all exercises. I think it would improve the story telling and it would make some PM aspects more clear. Also, regarding some topics like competitive analysis or TAM/SAM/SOM I would love some ideas and examples on how to use these artifacts apart from drafting them. All in all I enjoyed the course and I'm looking forward to part II!

por George P

1 de may. de 2022

This has been an amazing course which is really to the point with practical advice and training exercises to help you get the best possible Product Manager you can be. Nancy's experience is apparent in every section and getting this distilled knowledge I find it invaluable. For example nobody had spoken about Competitive Moats until I heard it in this course. The interaction with other students by the learning method of Learn-one Do-One, Teach-one should be a defacto way of learning in general. For sure one of the best courses in coursera

por Miracle S

15 de ene. de 2022

i had fun while taking this course. i started with no idea on what product management is about, and now? i have learnt so much and this is just the first course. yes, here were times i became lazy adn overwhelmed because it seemed everything was just so difficult to grasp and think about but i am glad i passed those stages. i am grateful for the quizzes, the assignments, the peer to peer grading and review because i learnt a lot from others and for this opportunity to learn from Nancy. she is the real deal. thank you!

por Illianes V R

23 de may. de 2022

I didn't know what to expect but from the very beginning, this course has been detailed, organized and straight to the point. I feel I've learned so much in just a few weeks without HOURS of work. I'm confident in the skills I'm lerning and more excited for what's to come. I am understanding the product discipline so much more and my interest grows more with each video and assignment. It was also great to have guest lectures, inspiring PMs to be more than just numbers and data. Thanks, Nancy and AWIT!

por Elena B

28 de ene. de 2021

I really-really enjoyed this course and found myself being so excited that I wanted to learn faster than I had time for. The course covered a lot of material that I already knew, but I really liked that it walked us through the scope of product management step by step, introducing some techniques I wasn't aware of and building on top of the previous material. I also quite enjoyed the assignments. They were detailed enough to require actual work and time, which made the results very fulfilling.

por Yin M

12 de mar. de 2021

I really enjoyed this course. The course content is well structured, concise and on the point with many interesting real-world business cases as examples. Having had experience in product development, I find myself reflecting a lot on what I did right and what I did wrong on my past projects, and what I should do more and what I should avoid doing in future projects. There are not only principles that you should follow but also very practical tools that you can apply in your PM job.

por Joan Y X

29 de dic. de 2021

This course provides a wonderful exposure to the fundamentals of product management, and goes through detailed examples of skills that you will require to understand your customers (how do define target personas, map customer journeys), do competitive analysis (TAM/SAM/SOM market sizing, competitive benchmark) and invites speakers from reputable organisations. It was very useful! However, I do wish there can be more feedback and help given in completing the assignments.

por Monika J

17 de oct. de 2022

The course is amazing for beginners into Product Management field. It is well structured with enough details to understand the topic. Nancy's presentation is very good and clear. Her passion for this field and coaching appears very clearly in each session. The level of difficulty of most of the graded assignments and peer-graded projects is adequate. Especially the peer-grading concept is pretty cool. It gives near real-life experience of learning with others.

por Menna R

23 de oct. de 2021

This course was so insightful , Although am a product manager for 6 years now, but it connected the missing dots for me. our daily tasks as product managers that we thought it was kinda of distracting & ovelapping with every department ( development , sales , marketing , and client success ). But actually that's how it is , and with full understanding of this course, things became crystal clear .

Special thanks for Nancy Wang