Chevron Left
Volver a The Science of Well-Being

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Science of Well-Being por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
22,767 calificaciones
8,497 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Principales reseñas

EN
30 de may. de 2019

I absolutely enjoyed and learned a lot about happiness from this course. I will definitely recommend it to my peers, as it gets me to the core from my misconceptions to developing the right practices.

PS
19 de ago. de 2020

This is an outstanding course! I was able to change into a more positive and productive mindset as taught in this course. I highly recommend it to everyone regardless of your profession or background.

Filtrar por:

8101 - 8125 de 8,493 revisiones para The Science of Well-Being

por S S

11 de feb. de 2020

I am so grateful to you Professor Santos. I was searching for how to be happy and fortunately, I find out coursera and your course. Your course means a lot to me, you have profound experience and your dedication to improve our life is significantly important. I was practicing meditation for sometimes but not with consistency but now, I am devoted towards to goal of real meaning of life. All these credit goes to you. All the best to you and your family ! I wish I could see you and shower my respect to you directly at Nepal or US one day :)

por Julie Y

9 de jun. de 2020

I appreciated this interesting course, it provided an excellent review of information I was aware of previously as well as new facts and compelling data. The "notes" concept was good, but the execution was a bit strange (not in chronological order). In one video, the instructor compared Yale with Harvard, and unless you went to these universities, it was difficult to understand. The final assignment was a bit superficial - would have preferred a more in-depth analysis. Overall, I'm glad I completed the course. Thank you!

por Ethan v B

1 de may. de 2020

This course was very interesting, and I like the way that you have presented it, and it explains everything very well (maybe even a little too well). However, the videos were quite long (20 minutes to convey one point). If I had made the course, I would have just stated the point (e. g. 'You should do XYZ'), and then done one or two (not lots) examples (e. g. 'Smith did a survey, here were the results, so you should do XYZ'), and then how to do XYZ or how to do it easier (e. g. 'This app helps you do XYZ because it is ~~~'),

por Ying H T

21 de may. de 2020

The practical aspect of the course is what makes this great, back by real data and research, and a rewirement challenge that really transforms you life. Missing the last star because the peer graded assignment meant sometimes you get ridiculously dumb students who just rate you zero even though you have clearly gotten the answer right, because they don't take helping other students seriously and just want to pull down the score of others on purpose. Just wish there is a way to screen out bad students.

por Marilyn S

18 de may. de 2020

I liked the course and felt its content was well presented and relevant to today's issues. I signed up after Christianne Amanpour interviewed Laurie Santos on CNN, and they discussed well-being in the time of the coronavirus pandemic. The course really gave good instruction on surviving and thriving in the world today. The audience of students was not a very enthusiastic group, and of course, since the content was geared to them and college-student problems, I found that a little distracting.

por Edoardo T

15 de may. de 2020

I've often been a pessimistic person but "The science of well-being" helped me using different approaches and points of view. I don't pretend a course can change my life, but it gave a little bit more of mental serenity and suggestions to think about. I tried to accomplish them during the Coronavirus pandemic and I'll try even more once the Emergency is over. I would recommend to attend the course, in order to begin to put into practice a different perspective to look at life. It was worth it.

por Maria R

27 de ago. de 2020

Very knowledgeable Prof. She knows her stuff at her finger tips. I really needed to concentrate though, otherwise I would get lost, cos most of the course is for the auditory learner, and I know that I am a visual learner. There are very few visual aids and most of them are grafts, which really flew over my head. Having said this, I really found Prof Laurie Santos to be very thorough in the subject and I have learnt a lot that would help me focus on the positive strategies she imparted.

por Paul R B

25 de abr. de 2020

Excellent course! There is just one aspect of well-being that this course is missing - that of religion. Studies have found that having faith in God has a bigger impact on happiness and resilience than any other single factor, including medication or counseling. I think religion could be introduced into this course without having to get denomination-specific, and I genuinely believe that it could take this course to the next level. I will definitely be taking more coursed from Yale again!

por Ana M N

15 de jul. de 2020

I really loved the course! Laurie masters the subject, and leads each theme very well. I did not grade the 5th star because it feels too intended for young students, and I could see other participants more towards my age (I am 58 as of yesterday, jejeje). Our age dynamic and thinking process is quite different, so I would have appreciated some part of the videos and contents focused on our "age segment". All in all, I definitively feel a lot happier inside, as a way of living. THANK YOU!

por Emily d C

4 de jul. de 2020

I absolutely loved this course. It is the best one I have taken so far from Coursera. The professor is very engaging and the lectures are easy to follow. If one really commits to doing the assignments each week, I believe one can really implement some great habits and overall be happier, and live a healthier life. Even though the lectures were very informative and giving, my only complaint is that they were a bit long sometimes and that my focus started to go down after a while.

por Michael D

28 de ago. de 2018

I love the content and theme of the entire course. I like the order in which the modules were presented. In some cases I had trouble understanding the structure or organization and where to go next. I also had trouble with the rewire app and gave up on it early. That was a disappointment because I find tracking apps very helpful for new habits - apps like My Fitness Pal or Fitbit, or a meditation app that I use. Overall this course was amazing and I will recommend to others.

por Kevin M

11 de jun. de 2020

I thought the course provided value in achieving a happier life. It was a nice combination of some basic information and more in depth data. The course showed that there is a science to well-being. If you proactively put the skills the course introduced in play improved well being can take place. I would liked to have seen some more current research. Much of the studies that were presented, while valuable, was many years old. I thought the course was worth my time.

por JOHN D B

3 de jul. de 2020

It was really interesting. I have learnt very many new concepts which are simple and easy to follow. The Course teacher explained the concepts in a simple way and I am able to easily understand the concepts. The Interview with experts was very interesting and I am able to get the first hand information from the experts.

The research data used are a bit old (2987, 2009, 2010 etc.) if current research findings and data are used it would be very impressive.

por Mariya M

21 de jun. de 2020

The course covers interesting topics, but doesn't really include some important problems, such as how to handle stress and overall stays on the top of the matter, without really resolving common issues. Also there is this strange viewpoint that your grades and salary /or future/ are not that important and this won't make you happy, when the right angle should be more like that you just need to change your perspective and not stress too much about it.

por Sona S S

26 de jun. de 2020

An entirely different course from the ones that I have alotted for in Coursera. This was an really interesting course for me in terms of my happiness that I lifve for my life. I strongly suggest to all the students who wish to have an idea about their experiences, expectations, happiness etc. And Thank you Prof. Ma'am for using your valuable time for doing an entirely different course like The Science of Well-being for all of us who wish to learn it.

por Kathleen K

27 de sep. de 2020

I basically liked the course, but was dismayed when a month after finishing, I got an e mail saying I hadn't finished the course. The questions about WHY I DIDN'T FINISH THE COURSE gave no possibility for indicating that I thought I had. I finally found that you believed that I hadn't done peer reviews when in fact . I had done several. So in the end I did 2 more which you had indicated I lacked. Took a bit away from my 'happiness' .

por DRA. R R

12 de jun. de 2020

The information is very valuable and the way it is structured is great, however the certificate earned looks cheap and unprofessional like if anyone made it not from Yale University. Those like me who value the certificate as a way to show their new knowledge will be kind of disappointed on the way it looks. My plan was to share it on my LinkedIn profile and now I don't think it looks as something earned from a reputable source.

por Stephanie R

7 de jun. de 2020

It was a really insightful and fun course. It really gets you thinking how am I contributing or taking away from my happiness. This course makes you see the difference and then the steps in order to make happiness more accessible than you think.

Just not sure how when people are peer reviewing that is your grade. If you feel like you answered all the questions but the other person doesn't, how does that get settled?

por Suresh A

2 de may. de 2020

Excellent course to differentiate work and happiness. Socializing and building relationships gives us long term happiness. If we savor there is happiness in every moment it multiplies if we share. There is happiness in being kind and showing gratitude. We can be physically fit by sleeping well and doing exercise. we can be mentally stable by meditation and yoga. Try to adopt new transformations by using WOOP.

por Terhi M

17 de ago. de 2020

This was an excellent course, thank you! Usually I don't have the patience to watch videos for too long but Laurie was wonderful and it was a pleasure to listen to her. I must also say that for a non-native English speaker it was nice to listen to her - her way of presenting was clear and easy to follow. The only reason I didn't five 5 starts for this was that I feel there was a bit too much repetition.

por Tara B

23 de abr. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I found it reasonably smooth to complete. I put that down to my age and experience. I would certainly recommend it to pretty much everyone though as you will always come out with a bit more knowledge and understanding of how to be a life long learner in improving your own life and others around you, I thank you, Laurie, my peers on the course and the Yale team involved.

por yogita J

4 de mar. de 2020

The course has given a deep insight about a lot of things which we know in general. It not only helped in acquiring knowledge but also helped us to put the acquired knowledge in practical use. I have started a few things after this course and it has really helped in my WELL BEING. I can see the difference in my life. Thank u COURSERA for such amazing courses. Laurie Santos was an amazing Coach.

por Steve L K

27 de may. de 2020

Great and easy to understand. The course at times has a strong focus on students (which is logical given the context the course was designed for them) but is well suitable for people of any stage in life. The course is intuitive and entertaining and I fully recommend to have a look at it if you need some fresh ideas on how to make some small but effective adjustments for a happier living.

por Brian

1 de jul. de 2020

I loved the material and great insights. I thought the lectures and discussions were well presented.

My criticism was in that it was difficult to resign-in from different devices. I also had trouble following the

final project. It would have been helpful if this was further explained and showed a templet that indicated what you had to do to finish the course and links to all undone items.

por Elizabeth W

21 de mar. de 2020

This course really helped me to improve my well-being over ten weeks, and left me with many useful tools to continue working with on my now in the future. There is a lot of research behind everything that is taught. This class is really easy and there is almost no work required other than practicing a rewirement in your own time. I would have like to have been challenged a bit more.