Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
3,067 calificaciones
632 reseña

Acerca del Curso

COURSE DESCRIPTION This course provides an introduction to the most powerful engineering principles you will ever learn - Thermodynamics: the science of transferring energy from one place or form to another place or form. We will introduce the tools you need to analyze energy systems from solar panels, to engines, to insulated coffee mugs. More specifically, we will cover the topics of mass and energy conservation principles; first law analysis of control mass and control volume systems; properties and behavior of pure substances; and applications to thermodynamic systems operating at steady state conditions. COURSE FORMAT The class consists of lecture videos, which average 8 to 12 minutes in length. The videos include integrated In-Video Quiz questions. There are also quizzes at the end of each section, which include problems to practice your analytical skills that are not part of video lectures. There are no exams. GRADING POLICY Each question is worth 1 point. A correct answer is worth +1 point. An incorrect answer is worth 0 points. There is no partial credit. You can attempt each quiz up to three times every 8 hours, with an unlimited number of total attempts. The number of questions that need to be answered correctly to pass are displayed at the beginning of each quiz. Following the Mastery Learning model, students must pass all 8 practice quizzes with a score of 80% or higher in order to complete the course. ESTIMATED WORKLOAD If you follow the suggested deadlines, lectures and quizzes will each take approximately ~3 hours per week each, for a total of ~6 hours per week. TARGET AUDIENCE Basic undergraduate engineering or science student. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - What are the prerequisites for taking this course? An introductory background (high school or first year college level) in chemistry, physics, and calculus will help you be successful in this class. -What will this class prepare me for in the academic world? Thermodynamics is a prerequisite for many follow-on courses, like heat transfer, internal combustion engines, propulsion, and gas dynamics, to name a few. -What will this class prepare me for in the real world? Energy is one of the top challenges we face as a global society. Energy demands are deeply tied to the other major challenges of clean water, health, food resources, and poverty. Understanding how energy systems work is key to understanding how to meet all these needs around the world. Because energy demands are only increasing, this course also provides the foundation for many rewarding professional careers....

Principales reseñas

MJ

23 de jul. de 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

AM

24 de feb. de 2021

Courses from the University of Michigan are always awesome. Hats off to Margaret Wooldridge, mam. Thank you so much, Coursera and the University of Michigan for making this outstanding experience.

Filtrar por:

526 - 550 de 628 revisiones para Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

por SMRITHI N

12 de jul. de 2020

The course is extremely helpful if you already have some prior knowledge in thermodynamics. It helps you to work on your prior knowledge with in between questions and the quizzes after every week help you to assess yourself on how far have you come across the topics covered. the only thing you need to do is read the topic carefully and need some help with the numericals with other practice from some books.

por Jakob M

24 de feb. de 2017

Great course and a very friendly professor :) However there were some mistakes here and there, which are annoying because you do not expect a professor to make such mistakes. Furthermore there could be more up to date, data. Especially data on energy use etc should not be from the year 2004 if we are in 2017. Overall though a biiiiiig thank you!

por Svetoslav D

14 de abr. de 2019

Overall good and informative course, for those who never get in touch of thermodynamics. I found it little hard since my field is computer science, but in this course I manage to get basic idea of thermodynamics. I can say that I see the world little different now and have explanation of some of the events round us.

por Alexey K

7 de jun. de 2020

Decent course. Goes into enough detail to give a nice broad view of thermodynamics overall, but not too much detail that it becomes boring (although there are some cumbersome moments in the course). I would recommend this course if you want to learn more about this field and are aspiring to study/work in it.

por sone k

23 de abr. de 2021

Very good lectures. Clear explanations. I really liked the overview of the current state of energy sources and renewables ones in the world. The only drawback is that I think it should be more practical examples which will clearly show the principles of thermodynamics. Anyway, great work!

por Steven G

1 de oct. de 2016

This is a very interesting and rewarding course. It would help if the format was broken up a bit more. Perhaps with some video of power plants, turbines, etc. I enjoyed the "excursions" to see the jet engine and internal combustion engine. More like that would liven the material up a bit.

por Haojian ( B

21 de feb. de 2022

The whole on-line leanring experience is fine, but for this course, it is highly recommended to have more working examples prior to the Quiz of the week. Also if you did something wrong within the Quiz, there's no feedback around how to solve the question around it which is a big nono...

por JOSE F G M

29 de nov. de 2021

Un buen curso, a la altura de mis expectativas. El único problema que encontré son los subtítulos. Al activarlos llegan a cubrir parcialmente las imágenes del video y como en repetidas ocasiones aparecen las anotaciones hechas por el profesor, los subtítulos estorban.

por Andrew L

16 de ene. de 2017

Excellent overview of the First and Second Laws of Thermodynamics. I gained insight into how power is generated across the world and became more fluent in working with concepts such as work, enthalpy, entropy, total internal energy, specific heat, and others.

por Sumit M T

7 de may. de 2020

it was really good course i learned lots of stuff during this course . high qualified teacher tough us lost of key knowledge of this particular topic. i personally enjoy to have this course and i took lots of positive from this course

por John R

2 de ene. de 2017

A useful course for anyone in chemical engineering. I enjoyed the material. Its well structured. Would be nice if Professor Wooldridge gave more example problems.

por sohaib

2 de nov. de 2016

Course is great and very useful for thorough understanding of Thermodynamics. But Exergy and Second law efficiency was not discussed. It should also be included

por Ravikumar T

23 de may. de 2020

I strongly recommend this course who wanted to learn basics of thermodynamics. Good understandings of subject and author was explained the concept very well.

por ATHARVA P

20 de ago. de 2020

Some terms like entropy and enthalpy could have been explained in detail . Use of the real life problem was one of the best aspect of this course. Loved it.

por Ritik N

1 de abr. de 2021

Jansh ia ka ialv kanbzj zofamafvniahaf iqka iqngja uabjaibkq janu hajaare jaijay na jb sbka kahi kab aa abhineta isne bailgadi jana.

por N C V K

31 de ago. de 2020

I really enjoyed learning thermodynamics in online classes and way comfortable to understand the concepts.. thanks a lot

por Oscar C

13 de mar. de 2017

Very good for an introductory course, clear explanations and exercises. looking forward for more courses in medium level

por Rodrigo L

6 de ene. de 2019

Nice, but should have explored more the 1st and 2nd laws, and a bit more of pictures and videos of real components.

por Sahil K

15 de ago. de 2020

After having thermodynamics course two times in academics, this one was very interesting to take and complete.

por Dipak S M

1 de dic. de 2020

This course is best for clearing your Doubts and clear your basics concepts about the Thermodynamics subject.

por Soroush S

17 de ago. de 2021

helpful course Thermodynamics: An Engineering Approach book by Cengel is good for study beside this course

por Marcus E

8 de nov. de 2020

With minor corrections to the course content and the platform, this review would be upgraded to five star.

por Mahmoud A

25 de jul. de 2019

very good introductory course but it's quite light, a denser curriculum would have made it an easy 5-star

por Sojjwala P

9 de jun. de 2020

the assignments are simply superb which enhanced my subject grip. thankyou coursera! will be doing more

por Hasan F

29 de nov. de 2020

While the overall course content was really good, the videos were a little longer than necessary.