Chevron Left
Volver a Transformation of the Global Food System

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Transformation of the Global Food System por parte de Universidad de Copenhague

4.8
estrellas
659 calificaciones
170 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The UN predicts we will be 9-10 billion people on Earth in 2050. Providing so many people with nutritious foods is a massive challenge and one that cannot be met by simply upscaling current practices regarding food production and consumption. Providing humanity with nutritional food is at the center of all decisions related to sustainable development. Agriculture is responsible for 80% of global deforestation. The food systems release 29% of global greenhouse gasses. We use an area equivalent to North and South America combined for the production of meat for consumption or to produce the food necessary to feed the animals we eat. 70% of fresh water use is related to agriculture. These figures are staggering, and they show us, that we need to rethink and transform the way we produce, distribute and consume food worldwide. This course focuses on how food systems can become more sustainable. It consists of four modules where each focuses on an essential ingredient towards developing more sustainable food systems: (1) Boosting the small, (2) Transforming the big, (3) Losing less and (4) Eating smarter. In each of these key areas, we will meet people from different countries around the world, who labor every day to find and spread solutions that work. Connecting the challenges that must be overcome to develop a sustainable global food system with the solutions being developed by the amazing group of people you meet in this course has been a huge source of inspiration for me. I truly believe that the global food system can be transformed to sustainably meet the needs of 9-10 billion people and, with this course, I dare you to join me!...

Principales reseñas

RW
29 de oct. de 2020

This was a fantastic course and along with the other course in the sustainable development goals has only highlighted my interest in continuing this on after my masters research into a PhD. Thank you!

SV
9 de jul. de 2021

I can easily send a single powerful message :- switch over to labor intensive, cost effective, eco friendly and long lasting organic agriculture, unrefined diet and foods with no chemicals.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 176 revisiones para Transformation of the Global Food System

por Louise M L

18 de may. de 2020

The course has a good balance between problems and solutions with regard to feeding a growing population with less environmental impact than currently. The examples of how different stakeholders have developed more sustainable solutions within their community and/or field of expertise were very inspiring.

por Khyati S

21 de jul. de 2020

Indeed a good course for understanding about the sustainable Agriculture.

por Prakash. R

29 de jul. de 2020

I learned many of the information gathered in this courses.

por Rafiul A

8 de jun. de 2020

Better

por Heather G

16 de ago. de 2020

Very important content shared in this course. It is very inspiring to learn what many global leaders are actively doing, across the world, to help global citizens. There are loads of people working to make the world a better, healthier, sustainable place. I am excited to be aware of this information and will continue to learn and share, so I can also contribute to the goals. The Professor has curated great videos and supplementary readings to showcase many aspects of global pressures. Well done and highly recomment.

por Hope S

30 de oct. de 2020

This was a very well designed course. As a beginner level student to this topic, I found it extremely interesting and it gives me a very different perspective on this topic. It is encouraging to hear about current progress and initiatives all over the world. Although the goals for agriculture are very high, they do feel achievable if there is very serious, sustained effort across the world. The fact that it is achievable and there is a path to follow is encouraging.

por Ana C L V

4 de jun. de 2020

Amazing! Everyone should take some time to learn how their food choices impact food sustainability.

por Aurelia B

30 de nov. de 2020

Amazing course that provides fundamental knowledge in global food systems. I've learned that a sustainable transformation goes beyond personal eating habits and feel like I enriched my understanding of where I can be impactful myself. The course content is illustrated nicely by using many videos which cover existing solutions in the global south, Denmark, Netherlands and further supported by different studies and viduslized data which deepened my understanding further. I enjoyed it and can highly recommend it.

por MUHAMMAD A I

20 de jul. de 2020

It was really a brilliant effort. I would like to thank you all for creating such an inovative stuff. Human activites are the drivers for mass scale changes that threatening our survival on our own planet. There is really need to transform our technology, policies, food systems, behaviours and preferences. This course gave the whole scenario of where are standing at the moment.

por Nusayer A

11 de sep. de 2020

The whole course is about food & agriculture system. How the traditional food production system is affecting the world & how it should be transformed. How to achieve the sustainable food production to meet the SDGs is also present in the course. The examples were very clear to understand. Thank you very much Professor Katherine Richardson Madam, Coursera & all others.

por Chak M A Y

10 de oct. de 2020

Love this course. It exposes learners on all fronts of the global transformation happening in food systems. The course showcases examples from around the world of research, initiatives, and startups that work towards a sustainable food system on multiple fronts and gives a comprehensive overview of what works, and what needs more work. Inspiring and aspirational.

por Donavan R

5 de sep. de 2020

A fascinating course that offers hope to learner that we may be able to use technology and our current knowledge to achieve the SDGs and reduce our carbon footprint in the Global Food Industry. This course introduces learners to many interesting innovations that will dramatically change our lives and may in fact save our future.

por José E V P

30 de nov. de 2020

It helped me understand the reality of what we need to change and achieve in order to mitigate climate change caused by wrongly managing our food system. I can now start changing major aspects of how I consume food so I can reduce the negative impact I have on the environment, and eventually, invite other to do so.

por Adrianus N V

31 de ago. de 2020

I want to thank professor Catharine Richardson for the very interesting course Transformation of the Global Food System that helped me to understand better the enormous task we all have to feed in a sustainable way now and in the coming years the world population that unfortunately at the moment is still growing .

por Teo S K

19 de oct. de 2020

Great insight that give an overview of global food trends and their links to sustainability, food environments and food systems, the current global momentum for food system transformation and the need for nutrition scientists to leverage this momentum in terms of increased evidence generation and policy advocacy. Science-based social movements to catalyze climate action and reduce food waste in food systems. Too good to go food apps can be implemented globally and education and sharing of information is critical to save global food environment. Behavioral change, by producers and consumers alike and government intervention, is necessary for transformation. Social movements have the power to trigger transformation, spurring change by businesses and reduce GHG and food waste. Many thanks to all that contributed to this course, special thanks to Professor Katherine Richardson and Kate Raworth.

por Fazla Z A

27 de sep. de 2020

Brilliantly conceived and put together course covering the key touch points for sustainable food production moving forward, well done to the University of Copenhagen. Very interesting course. I recommend it for every person who cares about protecting the environment and who wants to lead a healthier life in a better world for the future generations. Eye-opener and inspirational. Gives you an in depth view of the world's agricultural system and food value chain. Learned lots of lessons from this course!

por Jacques v W

13 de sep. de 2021

As someone that is transitioning to consult exclusively in the area of food ciscularity, this course could not have come at a better time. The content and information in this course is given in a clear and easy-to-follow manner, without steering away from the importance of the subject.

I can reccomend this course to anyone who has concerns about the global food situation, especially in the light of how we will feed around 8-10 billion people in 2050.

por Fernando E C B

4 de sep. de 2020

Very good overview of the global food system situation, backed with research and different examples from around the world of what is being done. The supplemental readings are very insightful and I really enjoyed how Katherine lectured the course. You feel her passion for the subject and for making a change.

por Nigesh V

11 de jul. de 2020

From the course Transformation of the global food system I clearly got the point what actually a transformation is,how should it be & is it a possible story.Thank you for the course team & add more datas & informations up-to-date.Thankyou for the course team & the course instructor Katherine Richardson.

por Irene H

3 de ene. de 2021

The course was very informative and gave me a better understanding of what needs to happen if we want to feed 10 billion people sustainably. It provided examples from around the world which is very fitting as our food comes from everywhere and the choices we make have global consequences.

por Minah M

10 de mar. de 2021

It gives insight to which direction agriculture and food systems are shifting to in the future. What type of research is then necessary and how should it be financed. It also gives insight to what products entrepreneurs should be focusing on and which business innovations are a priority.

por Nestor N N

1 de nov. de 2021

A very helpfull trainning. All sujects are quite interesting.... we need to move the world, no plan B available. For sure, the best of the course are 2 videos: the first and the last one; really encouraging and powerfull, especially the 1st (amazing, Catherie Richardson). THANKS!

por Fortune M

20 de ago. de 2020

It was an eye opener on how to stop degrading the earth and start focusing on proper use of resources without damaging the earth. I am highly honored to participate in this course I learnt a lot of stuff which i am going to use in my everyday life indeed i have been transformed.

por Belén C

10 de feb. de 2021

This course has been a great opportunity to approach the current state of the art in terms of sustainable food systems. The way the modules are organised and the research, scientific papers and cases shown are perfectly picked. It has been very interesting and open-minding.

por Josip K

10 de feb. de 2021

This is a very good course, I learned a lot of new information and got a new perspective on the world around me and a way to improve my quality of life, improve eating habits and how to help improve the world and the sustainability of life on Earth in which I participate