Chevron Left
Volver a Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers por parte de Escuela Icahn de Medicina del Monte Sinaí

4.8
estrellas
97 calificaciones
30 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The course is a comprehensive set of didactic lectures surveying fundamentals of transgender medical and surgical treatment. The material is meant to provide the student with core knowledge that is essential for current primary care providers caring for transgender patients. There are 10 modules led by the expert clinical faculty from the pioneering Center for Transgender Medicine and Surgery, located within the Mount Sinai Health System and the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York City. The course begins with an introduction to frame the sea change that has taken place in the current medical practice of transgender health care. Subsequent modules allow individuals to learn key elements necessary to provide quality transgender medical care. As a whole, the modules provide an opportunity to develop a knowledgeable approach to behavioral health, primary care, hormone therapy, and the surgical options. Module 1: Introduction - Joshua D Safer Module 2: Making the Determination - Hansel Arroyo Module 3: Primary Care for Transgender Women - Zil Goldstein Module 4: Primary Care for Transgender Men - Zil Goldstein Module 5: What are the Essential Strategies to Transgender Hormone Therapy? - Joshua D Safer Module 6: Initiation and Maintenance of Hormones for the Trans Masculine Patient - Joshua D Safer Module 7: Initiation and Maintenance of Hormones for the Trans Feminine Patient -Joshua D Safer Module 8: Transgender Surgery: Chest & Face - Bella K Avanessian Module 9: Transmasculine Genital Surgery - Bella K Avanessian Module 10: Transfeminine Genital Surgery - Bella K Avanessian...

Principales reseñas

RR
11 de ago. de 2020

It was an amazing course throughout and a special appreciation to the meticulous surgery modules which manged to cover the entirety of the procedures and still managed to be short and crisp.

DB
8 de abr. de 2020

Great course to understand the medical and surgical management of Transgender population. Strongly recommended for anyone who takes care of such patients

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 31 revisiones para Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers

por Anamaria S

15 de abr. de 2020

Even though this class is listed as intermediary, it is quite basic, I expected more detail and harder quizzes. I do really like the MD and NP instructors. Also, no activity in the forums whatsoever, seems I was the only person in this class.

por Stacie P

5 de ene. de 2020

Very good course for a broad overview of transgender healthcare and can help get you started on hormone therapy education.

por Bentawich S

30 de dic. de 2019

such an excellent course for Family doctor and primary care providers

por Alicia R

3 de ago. de 2019

excellent

por Kinusan D S

7 de may. de 2019

Good course, a step further may include actual footage of various operations with medical context, and patient interviews pertaining to surgeries, healing, and satisfaction.

por Sharon S B

12 de mar. de 2020

the course was helpful to me as a primary care physician

However, there were at least 2 glaring errors in the presentations. Because of these errors, I am forced to worry that there were additional mistakes that I didnt catch and that I have been misinformed about some aspect of transgender care. There were also a number of typos in the text versions of the oral presentations. The 2 errors which I spotted were: 1) in the psychiatry presentation, it was stated that the "rate of suicide" among transgender people is 40%, and that this is 8X the rate in the general population. This is a gross overstatement of the suicide rate in the general population, and presumably apparently also an overstatement of the transgender rate; I assume the lecturer meant suicide attempts. 2) regarding the possibility of pregnancy in transgender men, the lecturer, Zil Goldstein, suggested that the use of testosterone is not detrimental to the fetus (this may have been implied, rather than stated outright, but it was certainly misleading). In fact, testosterone definitely has an effect on the fetus, and this should have been discussed.

Thank you

por Mariana L

17 de oct. de 2020

Good overview of the implications of the surgical techniques to be able to initially discuss them with interested patients. Excellent source of initial information about what is available to the patient interested in transitioning. Good overview of hormone therapy. Would have liked an option to ask questions about topics mentioned but not fully discussed in the videos and a deeper discussion of tools and strategies available to support patients dealing with social rejection causing mental health distress.

por Gustavo F A d A

17 de jul. de 2020

This is a must-do course for every medical practitioner or medical student! Unfortunately, we still don't learn a lot about transgender care on medical school, and this is a great opportunity to understand it and enhance the quality of our assistance! Strongly recommended!

por Esdras P d S

11 de jul. de 2020

EU AMEI! Faço medicina em uma universidade pública do Brasil, mas esse tema sobre pessoas trans nunca foi abordado. Esse curso me caiu como uma luva, pois quero ser um médico com um olhar mais holístico sobre os meus pacientes. Eu só tenho a agradecer! Muito obrigado!

por Giovanna B

20 de mar. de 2020

Evidence-based, thorough introduction to health care for transgender patients. My only critique here is that content is repeated a few times, and that I wish there was more, in-depth content to go through, because what I saw in the course so far is excellent!

por Alicia C

18 de oct. de 2020

All the medical terms and the explication are easy to Understanding. I love the short but very complete videos. Awesome classes, I hope you can make more Courses with university credits. Greetings Fromm Panamá

por Ramakalam.A

12 de ago. de 2020

It was an amazing course throughout and a special appreciation to the meticulous surgery modules which manged to cover the entirety of the procedures and still managed to be short and crisp.

por Filiz Y

16 de ago. de 2020

That was amazing! Many thanks from bottom of my heart:)) I have learnt the basic of transformations and ı found it very useful to mutual understanding of trans people.

por Dr. S B

9 de abr. de 2020

Great course to understand the medical and surgical management of Transgender population. Strongly recommended for anyone who takes care of such patients

por julie d

25 de oct. de 2020

Thank you! This was very basic, but still very helpful to me to make sure I was up to date on transgender care after practicing it for 30 years!

por Hussein J

5 de abr. de 2020

The course was very extensive and covered all the aspects of treating a transgender patient. I highly recommend it for all physicians.

por Gulzhaina N

2 de may. de 2020

Very informative course, the concepts are explained very clearly and presentations are straight-forward.

por Javiera P

27 de jun. de 2020

Excelente curso, incluye temas que como médico general no son vistos en la malla tradicional.

por Joanne C

2 de dic. de 2020

Very clearly presented and helped me a lot to understand transgender care

por Victor Z

21 de nov. de 2020

Amazing Course. I believe every physician should go through his course

por Juliana P M R

11 de jul. de 2020

Very educational, with updated and pertinent information.

por Shani E M

2 de sep. de 2020

I got to learn so many new things about transgenders

por Jimena M M M

18 de jun. de 2020

Gran material para cualquier profesional de la salud

por Belakhdar A

12 de may. de 2020

a good scientific cours!

por Winston A W

9 de jun. de 2020

Excellent, thank you.