Chevron Left
Volver a Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones

Osteoarchaeology: The Truth in Our Bones, Universiteit Leiden

4.7
259 calificaciones
90 revisiones

Acerca de este Curso

This course is about what we can learn from examining the human skeleton, and how we can use this knowledge to reconstruct the lives of people who lived in the past. In archaeology and anthropology, human skeletal remains can provide unique insights into the past and the present; insights that cannot be gained otherwise. These insights are explored in five main themes spread out over five weeks of learning. First, it is shown how age-at-death, sex and stature can be estimated by the close examination of (archaeological) skeletal remains. In subsequent modules it is shown how human bones can provide information about the diseases and injuries that people suffered from and what they ate. Also, it is shown how the human skeleton provides information about the kinds of activities that people engaged in and about how they migrated and moved around their landscapes. In this course, you will examine all aspects of the human skeleton that can provide us with information about these different facets of life. Together we will explore the scientific field that is known as human osteoarchaeology. - Human, because it is about us and our ancestors, - Osteo, because it is about our bones, - Archaeology, because we use this information to better understand the behaviors and events experienced by past people. During the course, you will decipher the clues left behind in the skeletons of past peoples with the methods and techniques that are presented. You may also discover some clues hidden in your own skeleton and what they reveal about the life that you are living. Want to know more? You can take a look at the course trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJi22TxzpRw...

Principales revisiones

por SS

Nov 08, 2016

Very informative, a good grounding in the subject, I really felt like I gained a lot of valuable knowledge on the subject that will help me in future endeavors. Very well put-together and organized.

por PB

Nov 21, 2016

I took this course to find out what osteoarchaeology was all about. Excellent, excellent course! Well planned, laid out and , and very interesting. I have learned a lot. Thank you!!!

Filtrar por:

88 revisiones

por Daina Nicole Avila

Dec 11, 2018

I absolutely love this course (and I haven't even finished yet - almost done with the final module). The instructors are great and there videos are very informative. The optional videos are great ways to better visualize the lecture courses. I thoroughly enjoy the challenge and experience working of each module assignment that culminates into one overall project/case. The assignments are thought provoking, and it is interesting to see the different approaches and conclusions that other's reach upon reading their work for peer review.

The only reason I gave this course 4/5 stars is because, as someone who doesn't have a background in Anthropology or Archaeology, there were times when the technical content was hard for me to conceptualize. I wish that there were reading assignments that can be read in preparation for an upcoming video or module. I think that available reading assignments would have significantly improved my learning experience and understanding of the lesson material.

por Wojciech Wawrety

Nov 16, 2018

Amazing course with wonderful teachers and materials. I learned a lot of things about bones and how they help archeologists to understand the past better

por LUDOVIC CALLENS

Oct 03, 2018

Course extremely well built and documented. Very nice and exciting.

por Veronica Emily

Sep 20, 2018

I learned a lot and found the assignments relevant and useful for achieving a better understanding the material. Great course!

por A. Ruiz

Sep 01, 2018

The course is magnificent for people in and outside of the osteoarchaeology field. For beginners, it is a good way to know what our profession does and the multiple branches and data it might reach. To students of archaeology or biological anthropology, it is a good way to re-study the bases and learn minor details very important to us that could help us specializing in one of the many fields we have.

por Hasan mohamad

Jun 23, 2018

good

por Mike Brogan

Jun 21, 2018

I really enjoyed this course , it taught me a lot about the Human Skeleton and I will now look at Bones in a very different way, and will be able to "read" them a little, my thanks go to Dr Andrea Waters-Rist and her Team for an interesting time, thank you . Mike Brogan

por Melissa van Rijnen

May 21, 2018

I learned a lot, the assignments are very nice in my opinion! Very engaging.

por Ziggy

Apr 08, 2018

This is an awesome course but they have the cheesy "Peer-Reviewed" assignments. Even if you get 100% on the quizzes you still must do peer reviewed assignments. The course is basically impossible because the other "learners" are assholes who give you 3/5 and fail your ass.

por Roger Forster

Mar 27, 2018

Into the third week and it is very interesting. The 1st MOOC that I have done where there is a weekly assignment to submit!