Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
2,948 calificaciones
575 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales revisiones

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 548 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Priscila A d S

Mar 04, 2019

IT has amazing videos explanations and great history lessons about typography, but I would love to have a proper professor feedback on my designs.

por Stanislav K

Jan 19, 2018

As compared with the first course, this part I found less interesting from the point of view of didactics. My impression was that I did not learn much. It is true, I found myself interested with the matter of typefaces and other elements of the typographic art. So I got inspired to find books and other means to research deeper. I also found the formulations of the assignments not very inspiring, but rather formal, so I could not develop enough enthusiasm to perform more the the necessary minimum .

por David D

May 13, 2017

The good - The teacher is great, assignments are good as well.

However there was a lot more could be included in this 4 weeks course.

The first 2 weeks could easily be combined into one. Comparing this to the previous course, Fundamentals of Graphic design, I thought we could have learned a lot more in the given time.

por Digby D

Dec 13, 2017

The first two weeks' material serve as an unexpectedly good sleep aid. The last two offer a very bare-bones explanation of basic typographic principles. Fine for the absolute beginner.

por Liza D

Mar 15, 2016

Good material, but not nearly enough to justify a full course. Should've been 2X as many lectures and assignments at least.

por Andre

Aug 04, 2016

Good but nowhere near as in-depth as some of the other courses found on coursera.

por Sister E B

Jun 17, 2016

This was just a top-notch course. Despite the fact that the lectures were not particularly long, nor the assignments really onerous, I think I learned more in this course than in other similar courses. Perhaps it was because there were so many "aha!" moments, as I realized why my previous attempts to combine typefaces had not been so successful, or exactly what it was that attracted me (or not) to the appearance of a particular type family.

The story is that Steve Jobs was captivated by typography in the days when the text on the screen did not look at all like the text that would print -- people had to use codes for even simple things like bold-face or underline, and wouldn't know what it looked like until it printed on their single-typeface printer. He fell in love with type, and that contributed a lot to the way the Macintosh developed. I never understood that story until I took this course.

Thank you for a great course, and for giving me enough knowledge that I can continue to build on it.

por Diogo M

May 01, 2018

This course will help you view written text in a completely new light! You will learn basic vocabulary to describe fonts and vital clues for better text organization and hierarchy construction.

You will also get a glimpse of how a font can be molded to express a feeling, this is particularly useful for poster design.

The exercises are peer reviewed and consistent across the course, in a way that allows you to reevaluate your previous work.

The knowledge I got here improved the way I write simple documents, but also the way simple changes to your style can make a huge difference for the reader.

Thank you

por Cheryl O

Aug 13, 2017

As a complete beginner to typography, I found this course to be exactly what I needed to get competently acquainted with the subject.

Enjoyable and easy to follow, the course provides a fully comprehensive education from the basics all the way to the essential typographic conventions. My favourite part was learning about the the history and evolution of type, as the knowledge informs the progression up to what we know today as typography.

Tip: It's best to work on the assignments using InDesign, as the program allows full control of the type.

Overall an excellent course that I would highly recommend.

por Adler A

Jun 28, 2019

That was a useful and practical course, like the rest in the CalArts specialization Graphic Design. There were some challenges when I got low scores because my work hasn't passed the subjective criteria score given by peers. I still think that subjective criteria are needed, but want to ask, please don't be tough to peers cause it can letdown newcomers in the area. And those who faced the same situation I want to encourage - sometimes it's really not because your work is bad, there is much of subjectivity also and depends on who reviewed it. Just continue.

por Torsten R

May 23, 2016

Initially, I took the course just for general interest in typography. The nice experience I made here convinced me to go deeper into the material in the future. I definitely learned something that took me some steps forward.

I especially liked the well-made videos. They are very good to listen to and they are very clearly designed, it is making things easy to understand.

In the exams and in the peer reviews, it seemed to make a difference that some students had already taken the Graphics Design Specialization.

I can definitely recommend this course.

por Gail W

Apr 03, 2016

Great lectures & examples! Very appreciative of the California Institute of the Arts for creating this course and others.

One additional thing that would have been nice would have been an organised forum for each typeface to see what others had done. I always wanted to find others who were working on my typeface, but the review process was just random and I only came across a couple. I had some communication in a discussion forum, but only with one person. Would have been efficient to have organised forums by typeface & highly educational too!

por Gabriella P

Dec 13, 2017

This was a great and informative course. I still find a bit of fault in the fact that all assignments are peer-reviewed. It's hard to learn fully that way. While I appreciate that peer reviewing is incredibly important, especially when it comes to art, it would be nice to have instructor input as well. That being said, I understand that the instructors have a great load with their in-college classes.

por Amanda W

Apr 17, 2016

Great introductory course, that really helped me to understand typography a LOT better. I now get what my friends are on about when they get all excited about typefaces! I really like the way that the course develops your knowledge, and gets you to practice and upgrade your skills as you go. Although it was only 4 weeks, I feel SO much more confident in my knowledge and understanding.

por Anand P

Apr 19, 2018

A really useful course in learning about the basics of typefaces and typography. I was able to learn that Typography is what conveys the meaning in various designs compared to the other forms like colors and shapes. Also learning about the history of various typefaces and designers enabled a curiosity in me to learn more about the history of some of typefaces that i use often.

por Chana M H

Jun 15, 2018

I am finishing my final project and am amazed at how much I have learned in this abbreviated and accelerated course. As with all learning, you have to do a little unassigned research to expand on the info given, but the basics are nicely presented and easily understood.Thanks Coursera and CalArrs for this wonderful learning opportunity at such an affordable price.

por Anna E T

Nov 07, 2016

I really enjoyed this course as it made me stop, look, and think about the different elements within a typeface and how to typeset text in an interesting and professional way. Thank you for taking the time to make courses like this so easily available to those of us who do not have the time or money to travel long distances to a formal college.

por John A W

Jan 26, 2017

I really enjoyed auditing the course as I've been meaning to take a short course on typography for a while. Some concepts I already knew, but others were new to me, especially some of the technicality of measuring and displaying type. For designers, I definitely recommend taking this course as part of a holistic graphic design concentration.

por Teri L

Jun 24, 2018

This course was really interesting, brought about more awareness to my knowledge of words and typefaces and some histories of them. The assignments built upon one another and proved how working hard really pays off :) This was an easy to understand course, and definitely is essential if people want to go further into graphics design.

por Trang P

May 17, 2016

This course was incredibly interesting and informative, even for an introduction class. The layout made a lot of sense even for someone with only a little bit of experience in typography. Definitely do all of the assignments because they have been planned out with a lot of care and thought to further your understanding in the topic.

por Fatin I

Aug 23, 2016

I've always wanted to learn typography but learning on it's own without any practice is really boring. The assignments are really good in applying what I have learnt, making the learning really enjoyable. The course teacher is super zen and loving his style of teaching. I would want to take this full design course some day.

por Mohd. U Y

Jun 30, 2018

This course came as a savior to me. I had to make a project report during my summer vacations, and I did not the technicalities that have to be looked upon in text. I am glad I joined the specialization and enrolled in this course as soon as the last one was complete. I had a fun time learning. Highly recommend it to all.

por Heleina E

May 02, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. I learned so much things and I feel like my typography skills just went up on a whole new level. Signing up to this course helped me understand all the stuff I've been reading about typography. They teach typography in a way that's so easy to understand and process. Highly recommended. :)

por Aymen J

Dec 15, 2019

I was always confused whenever I've heard the word typography. This course opened my eyes to the world of typefaces and made me discover the richness and beauty of typography. Now I feel that I have a better understanding.

I can not go without expressing my gratitude for allowing me to benefit from this opportunity.

por Abhilash V

Dec 24, 2016

Typography is an important part of graphic design.This course will give a brief introduction to the historical context of typography and the evolution of typography in this modern computerized age.A great course for those interested in graphics design and can be used as a refresher for the working professionals.