Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,610 calificaciones
974 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

BG
3 de ago. de 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS
12 de abr. de 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 949 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Elisabeth Z

4 de may. de 2016

Great course - lots of detailed information. The teacher spoke clearly and very deliberate. However, I just wanted to audit the course.

por Sakshi

15 de ago. de 2020

Excellent content, wonderfully presented. I had a great learning experience. Thank you so much to the instructor, CALARTS and Coursera!

por Katsiaryna K

17 de dic. de 2020

A great tourse to start with the Typography studying. I like the amount of theoretical information and the practical assignments both.

por Alicia M

1 de dic. de 2020

Really enjoyable experience became a bit tedious at the beginning of the course but once we reached the assignments it was really fun.

por Felicia C

7 de jul. de 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! The assignments were manageable but still pushed you to be step out of the box and be more creative.

por Deleted A

18 de mar. de 2019

Brilliant! Cool projects and very well explained. I learnt a lot. Thanks and pls keep up the great work. This course is very valuable.

por Karina F

8 de mar. de 2021

It is a good course where you learn how to manipulate the letters so that they are clear and easy to read. I love it, I recommend it.

por Javier J B

20 de dic. de 2020

Really well structured and interesting course to get to know Typography and experiment with shapes, colors, denotation, connotation..

por Tawanna C

9 de ene. de 2017

Great course! It's a very introductory type course into typography. Very easy to understand and learn about typography. I enjoyed it.

por Sabreen S

28 de feb. de 2021

Informative and easy going course. Easy to be followed by anyone especially for those of us how is starting to learn graphic design.

por Martin L M I

6 de sep. de 2020

This was such a great learning experience! I was always interested in Typography and this course was everything I expected and more!

por MUHAMMAD T Q A Q M

17 de ago. de 2020

It enabled me to not just see the words but actually feel them, thank you for this amazing course CALARTS. More Power to you people!

por Mushtaq A R

17 de oct. de 2017

I got to learn some useful techniques, terminology and creative ideas in this great course. It's very good especially for beginners.

por Fergus N

30 de may. de 2016

This was an excellent course with a thoughtful look at typography that achieves a decent breadth of coverage in the short timeframe.

por Alice C

7 de abr. de 2016

I learned a lot about typography and I find it very instructional for someone in the beginning. Thank you CalArts and Coursera team!

por Pavla V

23 de jun. de 2020

I learned a lot about typography. The length of this course is just right. I like the videos which were very informative and short.

por Jose S

27 de sep. de 2016

Fun and enjoyable. It has also helped me a lot at work. If you work in Marketing, Advertising and/or Design you'll love this course

por Xiomara C

28 de abr. de 2016

I love this course. I learn a lot about typefaces, I used to picked the type just because they look pretty... so wrong with that!!!

por Olena T

4 de abr. de 2016

It's very interesting fun and useful course. Every lecture is interesting, every minute! Thanks for your work and perfect lectures!

por Lucas B V

18 de ago. de 2020

Adorei o curso! Muito bom para aprender coisas novas. Ele é bem organizado e tem também uma boa dose de desafio. Recomendo muito!

por Julia G

28 de mar. de 2019

I think this is my favorite course in this specialization, I actually learned a lot about making my written text legible, thanks!

por Bongiwe M M

29 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course if you want to learn more about typography, now I know what I didn't know before. Thanks to cousera and CALARTS

por Ramesh I

12 de jun. de 2020

very informative and good basics. Must do this course and get a good historical grounding if you are keen on a career in design

por MD. T R

5 de jun. de 2020

This course will help you to know in-depth about typeface and its use. After completing assignments I felt I grew as a designer.

por Monique D

10 de ene. de 2017

Rich information about the main aspects of Typography for those who don't know where to start. It was a great experience for me.