Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,760 calificaciones
1,012 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

AS
12 de abr. de 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
3 de ago. de 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 995 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Juan C E

14 de nov. de 2016

This course works as a reminder and as an inspiring turning point for my career. Great job curating the contents and choosing the teachers.

por Angelica B

31 de oct. de 2016

I absolutely loved this course and I could see the impact it had on my design work. It has been the perfect basis to learn about Typography.

por Elina T

22 de nov. de 2016

Starting the course I wasn't that into typography. The seminar gave me an other more interesting and creative point of view on that field.

por Carissa F

31 de mar. de 2016

great introduction to key concepts of typography and typographic design. lectures were easy to follow, assignments had clear instructions.

por Utpal B

9 de feb. de 2017

This is a very helpful course with in depth coverage of typographic conventions, its impact and guide on creating marvellous type design.

por Esperanza A

8 de mar. de 2021

Ha sido una experiencia satisfactoria, porque he alcanzado nuevas habilidades y conocimientos muy útiles para el logro de mis objetivos.

por Rui A M d S

20 de may. de 2020

This was something I wanted to learn for a while. As an introduction, this part of the course worked really well and I'm very satisfied.

por Suneth

29 de abr. de 2020

This was a great course! Learned a lot about the development of typefaces and importance of them in a design and how to manipulate them.

por Pranjal S

22 de may. de 2016

This course is an essential if you want to be deft with Fonts and Typefaces.

Brilliantly explained! Thanks to the professor, loved it!!!!

por Elisabeth Z

4 de may. de 2016

Great course - lots of detailed information. The teacher spoke clearly and very deliberate. However, I just wanted to audit the course.

por Sakshi K

15 de ago. de 2020

Excellent content, wonderfully presented. I had a great learning experience. Thank you so much to the instructor, CALARTS and Coursera!

por Katsiaryna K

17 de dic. de 2020

A great tourse to start with the Typography studying. I like the amount of theoretical information and the practical assignments both.

por Alicia M

1 de dic. de 2020

Really enjoyable experience became a bit tedious at the beginning of the course but once we reached the assignments it was really fun.

por Felicia C

7 de jul. de 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! The assignments were manageable but still pushed you to be step out of the box and be more creative.

por Deleted A

18 de mar. de 2019

Brilliant! Cool projects and very well explained. I learnt a lot. Thanks and pls keep up the great work. This course is very valuable.

por Sarah P

14 de sep. de 2021

T​his one was great, I was concerned I would struggle, find it boring or dislike the subject of typography...but I LOVED it actually!

por Karina F

8 de mar. de 2021

It is a good course where you learn how to manipulate the letters so that they are clear and easy to read. I love it, I recommend it.

por Javier J B

20 de dic. de 2020

Really well structured and interesting course to get to know Typography and experiment with shapes, colors, denotation, connotation..

por Tawanna C

9 de ene. de 2017

Great course! It's a very introductory type course into typography. Very easy to understand and learn about typography. I enjoyed it.

por Sabreen S

28 de feb. de 2021

Informative and easy going course. Easy to be followed by anyone especially for those of us how is starting to learn graphic design.

por Martin L M I

6 de sep. de 2020

This was such a great learning experience! I was always interested in Typography and this course was everything I expected and more!

por MUHAMMAD T Q

17 de ago. de 2020

It enabled me to not just see the words but actually feel them, thank you for this amazing course CALARTS. More Power to you people!

por Mushtaq A R

17 de oct. de 2017

I got to learn some useful techniques, terminology and creative ideas in this great course. It's very good especially for beginners.

por Fergus N

30 de may. de 2016

This was an excellent course with a thoughtful look at typography that achieves a decent breadth of coverage in the short timeframe.

por Alice C

7 de abr. de 2016

I learned a lot about typography and I find it very instructional for someone in the beginning. Thank you CalArts and Coursera team!