Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,242 calificaciones
865 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

BG
3 de ago. de 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

JC
28 de jul. de 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 838 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Zackary A K

5 de jul. de 2017

This was a very enjoyable introduction to Typography. The more I study typography, the more I am able to appreciate the high quality of this brief introduction.

por Giovanny V

15 de sep. de 2019

clear, concise information delivered on every lecture... I really enjoyed the assignments they got me out of my comfort zone and challenged me to experiment...

por Kristen B

24 de may. de 2018

I absolutely loved this class! The teacher is so thorough and the assignments make implementing what I learned so much better. Everyone should take this class!

por Sanskruti

18 de abr. de 2016

Great intro to typography. I enjoyed it and feel more confident in understanding basic typography and now know where I can find information on type! Thank You

por Stephen M H

8 de ago. de 2020

Anther Kiley provided a very concise, yet detailed, history of typography that kept my attention, hitting upon many of the big events in typographic history.

por Ginger H

23 de mar. de 2016

I have been working with Typography for the last 10 years and still learned a lot from this course. Very informative and will be useful in the years to come.

por Maria F

20 de jul. de 2020

An awesome introduction to working with typography. Learning the basic rules, history and putting it into practice has really helped my overall design look!

por Konstantinos A

29 de may. de 2019

Great Course I learned so many things! In fact I do not hink that I would be able to set up my design master Thesis if not for this course 💪🏻☝🏻 great job

por Kushal S

11 de feb. de 2018

A must course for anyone who wants to start using fonts/typefaces wisely. The course content is very well curated - covering all the basics of typography.

por Zulhaj R

21 de sep. de 2020

The course give many insight about designing related to the typefaces; selecting different typefaces and its impact, modifying its properties, and so on.

por Malak M

18 de jun. de 2020

I loved this course and it will for sure help me with my further education and help me identify any sort of typefaces and their uses in different places.

por Saba A

10 de jul. de 2020

really loved this course. it made me realize how just mere curves or thinning the lines could make a whole lot of difference to the way your text looks.

por Magdalena P

14 de jun. de 2019

This course is very interesting. Includes both theory and practice and changes your mind about things you thought you already knew regarding typography.

por MD. Z H

25 de jul. de 2020

I like how the videos were created. I like the teachers speaking style. Also it was a fun course indeed. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the course

por Franklin C O

7 de ene. de 2019

I have learned how important the connotative part is typography, I have learned to express feeling by the Type. This course has been very useful for me

por Bonnie K

9 de feb. de 2018

This was such a fantastic class. I learned A LOT and definitely was my weakest area. I feel much more confident now as I continue to learn. Thank you!!

por Junsong L

10 de abr. de 2016

I think the most important thing of an online course is to arouse the curiosity so I can continue my exploration on the topic. This course has made it.

por Harika s .

3 de sep. de 2020

I had a great learning experience, thanks to the friendly instructors. And appreciate the course structure and not to forget, interesting assignments.

por Nathanael W B W

12 de may. de 2020

informative, offers quite the range of contextual information. Some repetitive elements, but overall really helps newcomers in the world of designing!

por namrata

24 de may. de 2019

It has been very interesting to build patience & learning in this course. Typography has made me look beyond the four walls and built my own typeface.

por Luka D

6 de abr. de 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

por Mine I

9 de ago. de 2020

This course is very beneficial for beginners to typography. If you are interested do not miss it. Assignments can be improved to be more challenging.

por SYED Q

19 de jun. de 2017

one of the important course for every graphic designer who wants to do some thing new and play with there art should choose this.

very helpful for me.

por Nick P

31 de oct. de 2020

Gives a really nice background in typography to give you a nice base. Really just focus on one typeface, but a nice way to dive in and play with it