Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,239 calificaciones
864 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

BG
3 de ago. de 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SZ
27 de ago. de 2020

i really enjoyed this course and i liked the part where we interact with other artists around the world. i learned a lot about typography and i think it'm ready to continue in my journey with art.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 838 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Fergus N

30 de may. de 2016

This was an excellent course with a thoughtful look at typography that achieves a decent breadth of coverage in the short timeframe.

por Alice C

7 de abr. de 2016

I learned a lot about typography and I find it very instructional for someone in the beginning. Thank you CalArts and Coursera team!

por Pavla V

23 de jun. de 2020

I learned a lot about typography. The length of this course is just right. I like the videos which were very informative and short.

por José R S L

27 de sep. de 2016

Fun and enjoyable. It has also helped me a lot at work. If you work in Marketing, Advertising and/or Design you'll love this course

por Xiomara C

28 de abr. de 2016

I love this course. I learn a lot about typefaces, I used to picked the type just because they look pretty... so wrong with that!!!

por Olena T

4 de abr. de 2016

It's very interesting fun and useful course. Every lecture is interesting, every minute! Thanks for your work and perfect lectures!

por Lucas B V

18 de ago. de 2020

Adorei o curso! Muito bom para aprender coisas novas. Ele é bem organizado e tem também uma boa dose de desafio. Recomendo muito!

por Julia G

28 de mar. de 2019

I think this is my favorite course in this specialization, I actually learned a lot about making my written text legible, thanks!

por Bongiwe M M

29 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course if you want to learn more about typography, now I know what I didn't know before. Thanks to cousera and CALARTS

por Ramesh I

12 de jun. de 2020

very informative and good basics. Must do this course and get a good historical grounding if you are keen on a career in design

por MD. T R

5 de jun. de 2020

This course will help you to know in-depth about typeface and its use. After completing assignments I felt I grew as a designer.

por Monique D

10 de ene. de 2017

Rich information about the main aspects of Typography for those who don't know where to start. It was a great experience for me.

por DILEEP K B

18 de feb. de 2020

Amazing experience and skills I learned, not only how to do typography but also I learned How to see the letters in the world.

por Lisa A C

9 de oct. de 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this. I won't look at type the same way again. Thanks to all those involved in making this course happen (:

por Fred R

19 de feb. de 2017

I loved the course and learnt a lot. Spending one month working on the same font is a great way to learn to see it and use it.

por Tomelilla G

4 de mar. de 2020

A fantastic course to give you the basics of typographic theory as well as practical skills for creating great type and text.

por Salem F A

22 de sep. de 2019

This is helpful course to learn typography and different typefaces, and know what's the best typeface for your design to use.

por Benjamin H

5 de oct. de 2017

Very clear and create video lessons. Examples shown were inspiring and I learned so much that I didn't know about typography.

por Eugen M

20 de ago. de 2016

Perfect presentation.

Full of information, but, being excellent exposed, it's relatively easy to understand.

Excellent course!

por Wai Y M

21 de jul. de 2020

This is a good course for those who like to improve typographic skill and for the one who wants to dive into graphic design.

por Yuliya S

27 de oct. de 2019

It was interesting and informative for me. I like the presentation of the material - everything is clear and understandable.

por Daniela C V

8 de sep. de 2019

Really great course! It explores the basics of typography while challenging the learners to practice the acquired knowledge.

por Andrés C M

29 de abr. de 2018

One of the best decisions I've taken was to sign up for this course. If you are interested in graphic design, thi is a must!

por Miroshnikova I

30 de oct. de 2017

Thank you for this awesome course! I am starting to understand now how typefaces work and what each of them is designed for!

por Mahitab H A E

15 de nov. de 2020

It was a real great and helpful course to get an overveiw about typography and how to use theoritical points in your design