Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,760 calificaciones
1,012 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

AS
12 de abr. de 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
3 de ago. de 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 995 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Magdalena P

14 de jun. de 2019

This course is very interesting. Includes both theory and practice and changes your mind about things you thought you already knew regarding typography.

por MD. Z H

25 de jul. de 2020

I like how the videos were created. I like the teachers speaking style. Also it was a fun course indeed. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the course

por Franklin C O

7 de ene. de 2019

I have learned how important the connotative part is typography, I have learned to express feeling by the Type. This course has been very useful for me

por Bonnie K

9 de feb. de 2018

This was such a fantastic class. I learned A LOT and definitely was my weakest area. I feel much more confident now as I continue to learn. Thank you!!

por Junsong L

10 de abr. de 2016

I think the most important thing of an online course is to arouse the curiosity so I can continue my exploration on the topic. This course has made it.

por Harika s .

3 de sep. de 2020

I had a great learning experience, thanks to the friendly instructors. And appreciate the course structure and not to forget, interesting assignments.

por Nathanael W B W

12 de may. de 2020

informative, offers quite the range of contextual information. Some repetitive elements, but overall really helps newcomers in the world of designing!

por namrata

24 de may. de 2019

It has been very interesting to build patience & learning in this course. Typography has made me look beyond the four walls and built my own typeface.

por Luka D

6 de abr. de 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

por Mine I

9 de ago. de 2020

This course is very beneficial for beginners to typography. If you are interested do not miss it. Assignments can be improved to be more challenging.

por SYED Q

19 de jun. de 2017

one of the important course for every graphic designer who wants to do some thing new and play with there art should choose this.

very helpful for me.

por Alex H

11 de feb. de 2021

Great foundation and good selection of topics even for people with existing typography knowledge. Good assignments to put the knowledge to practice.

por Nick P

31 de oct. de 2020

Gives a really nice background in typography to give you a nice base. Really just focus on one typeface, but a nice way to dive in and play with it

por Henry H

29 de mar. de 2020

Excellent course. Covers a good breadth of typographic info and then sets the student up to learn the process of designing and composing with type.

por Gaetano S

2 de abr. de 2016

It was truly inspirational. Loved the theory associated with more practical assignments and, above all, the teacher was extremely clear and concise

por Karen M

8 de feb. de 2021

I really found this course very informative and helpful. I felt challenged, and I do appreciate that. Thanks to all those involved in the process.

por Mohamed Q

10 de jun. de 2020

Very good course, it is straight to the point, I made tasks with my hand, and I've discovered creative ideas because of this course' instructions.

por Jen G

22 de sep. de 2016

Great course on typography. It gives great historical background on various typefaces and explains a lot of the technical pieces to them as well.

por Robert D

22 de ene. de 2021

Excellent introduction to the world of typography. Hit all the terms and techniques it needed to, and provided a good foundation to build off of.

por Aya E

7 de jul. de 2020

Not biggest fan of type and using it in graphic design, i however loved how this course pushed me into it, and made me see it in a different way

por Christopher G

5 de jul. de 2020

Really helped me! There is true quality content here! Even though I had done two semesters at Uni of Design I still learnt a lot of new things.

por Julie W

28 de mar. de 2020

Very interesting content (surprisingly so). Loved the brevity of the lectures (lots of info packed in small spaces) and meaningful assignments.

por Chryssel M B

26 de dic. de 2017

The course was really fun and knowledgeable. I am excited to apply what I have learned here and increase my chances of getting a full-time job!

por Dudy M

18 de ene. de 2021

I definitely learned a lot and look forward to learning more. Challenged me to keep diligent. Kept me motivated with many tools and reminders.

por Gerdel P

10 de jun. de 2020

This course was very well designed to learn typography. The assignments were accurate to understand type and it was overall an amazing course.