Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,156 calificaciones
846 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

MB

Jul 26, 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 822 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Kristen B

May 24, 2018

I absolutely loved this class! The teacher is so thorough and the assignments make implementing what I learned so much better. Everyone should take this class!

por Sanskruti

Apr 18, 2016

Great intro to typography. I enjoyed it and feel more confident in understanding basic typography and now know where I can find information on type! Thank You

por Stephen M H

Aug 09, 2020

Anther Kiley provided a very concise, yet detailed, history of typography that kept my attention, hitting upon many of the big events in typographic history.

por Ginger H

Mar 23, 2016

I have been working with Typography for the last 10 years and still learned a lot from this course. Very informative and will be useful in the years to come.

por Maria F

Jul 20, 2020

An awesome introduction to working with typography. Learning the basic rules, history and putting it into practice has really helped my overall design look!

por Konstantinos A

May 29, 2019

Great Course I learned so many things! In fact I do not hink that I would be able to set up my design master Thesis if not for this course 💪🏻☝🏻 great job

por Kushal S

Feb 11, 2018

A must course for anyone who wants to start using fonts/typefaces wisely. The course content is very well curated - covering all the basics of typography.

por Zulhaj R

Sep 21, 2020

The course give many insight about designing related to the typefaces; selecting different typefaces and its impact, modifying its properties, and so on.

por Malak M

Jun 18, 2020

I loved this course and it will for sure help me with my further education and help me identify any sort of typefaces and their uses in different places.

por Saba A

Jul 10, 2020

really loved this course. it made me realize how just mere curves or thinning the lines could make a whole lot of difference to the way your text looks.

por Magdalena P

Jun 14, 2019

This course is very interesting. Includes both theory and practice and changes your mind about things you thought you already knew regarding typography.

por MD. Z H

Jul 25, 2020

I like how the videos were created. I like the teachers speaking style. Also it was a fun course indeed. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the course

por Franklin C O

Jan 07, 2019

I have learned how important the connotative part is typography, I have learned to express feeling by the Type. This course has been very useful for me

por Bonnie K

Feb 10, 2018

This was such a fantastic class. I learned A LOT and definitely was my weakest area. I feel much more confident now as I continue to learn. Thank you!!

por Junsong L

Apr 10, 2016

I think the most important thing of an online course is to arouse the curiosity so I can continue my exploration on the topic. This course has made it.

por Harika s .

Sep 03, 2020

I had a great learning experience, thanks to the friendly instructors. And appreciate the course structure and not to forget, interesting assignments.

por Nathanael W B W

May 12, 2020

informative, offers quite the range of contextual information. Some repetitive elements, but overall really helps newcomers in the world of designing!

por namrata

May 24, 2019

It has been very interesting to build patience & learning in this course. Typography has made me look beyond the four walls and built my own typeface.

por Luka D

Apr 06, 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

por Mine I

Aug 09, 2020

This course is very beneficial for beginners to typography. If you are interested do not miss it. Assignments can be improved to be more challenging.

por SYED Q

Jun 19, 2017

one of the important course for every graphic designer who wants to do some thing new and play with there art should choose this.

very helpful for me.

por Henry H

Mar 29, 2020

Excellent course. Covers a good breadth of typographic info and then sets the student up to learn the process of designing and composing with type.

por Gaetano S

Apr 02, 2016

It was truly inspirational. Loved the theory associated with more practical assignments and, above all, the teacher was extremely clear and concise

por Mohamed Q

Jun 10, 2020

Very good course, it is straight to the point, I made tasks with my hand, and I've discovered creative ideas because of this course' instructions.

por Jennifer H

Sep 22, 2016

Great course on typography. It gives great historical background on various typefaces and explains a lot of the technical pieces to them as well.