Chevron Left
Volver a Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments por parte de Universidad Duke

4.6
estrellas
2,267 calificaciones
615 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Principales reseñas

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM

Jun 11, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrar por:

576 - 600 de 610 revisiones para Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

por NIRMAL K

Jan 18, 2019

g

por mahesh g

Nov 10, 2017

s

por Greg G

Aug 16, 2016

Dr. Sinnott-Armstrong does an amazingly thorough and detailed job, and the progression of the course is well planned and well executed.

I wanted to give the course a higher rating, but unfortunately, the good doctor's explanatory skills only served to confuse and frustrate me, the further I progressed through the course. Extemporaneous examples were unintentionally and unnecessarily muddled. There were numerous misspoken or confused terms that could easily have been re-recorded or edited. And the splicing between the old course and the new one is sometimes discontinuous (though, to be fair, they warn us about that at the beginning).

Nevertheless, I would still highly recommend the course to anyone looking for a thorough-going university-level course in critical thinking, and basic argumentation.

por Ahmed S G

May 31, 2020

It was good, but it provided too much attention to argument evaluation. I guess knowing which kind of arguments I am having right now, which is valid or invalid, doesn't make me deal well with the argument. It may be satisfying to say that these premises are not good, real, or related to the conclusion. I hope I will be wrong and find that detailed section so valuable.

por Daniel

Jun 30, 2020

I thought it was overall a helpful class that underlined very important, lifelong skills to arguing, but, at times, it struggled to keep my interest, as much of it was redundant. However, I loved the enthusiasm from the professor and the colorful examples.

por Sophie P K

Jun 03, 2018

There was a lot of new information, I learned a lot. A bit too long for me, since I'm only 9 years old. I'm happy I accomplished it, though! The reason why I gave three stars is because the due dates on the quizzes did not show. It made me rush at the end.

por MAHMOUD M A E

Oct 15, 2020

it is a good course .. thanks to the author .. i don't deny that i expected better than this, but thank you sir for your effort, appreciated.. (I think time could be better managed to half that time probably!).. thanks again :)

por Dorothy H

Aug 17, 2016

Hoping that the next sections won't be so laborious and focussed on analyzing texts in detail. If you want to know how to do such things, then this would be a 5-star course for you.

por Wong H Z

May 07, 2020

Some of the examples are useful/helpful in illustrating the concepts, but there are too much time spent on elaborating the unnecessary or repeating the points.

por Ana I R M

Apr 26, 2020

Se ofrece el curso traducido a varios idiomas pero sólo los videos están traducidos. Los cuestionarios y las preguntas emergentes no están traducidas.

por Joanna C

Apr 19, 2020

There should be more written resources available given the volume of content covered. It was a little hard to retain it all by watching the videos.

por Chandana P

Sep 26, 2020

It was interesting but later i found it boring .But it was a good experience.

Walton sir you were very good.Thank you for giving this class.

por Kseniia L

Mar 06, 2018

First part is quite intresting, but then lectures are too long and repetitive. I suppose previous course was much better.

por Charles E D

Feb 17, 2018

One of the questions I got wrong on the final quiz suggest all birds fly as a correct answer, wrong ALL BIRDS do not fly.

por Regina C

Aug 05, 2020

This course was a struggle for me. The quizzes were sometimes hard to follow when it came to breaking down arguments

por Aijaz A

Jun 23, 2020

The course is overly theoretical with little real world application. This is the reason I lost interest.

por KatieD

Oct 24, 2017

Videos cut off before the end and would instantly start replaying from the beginning

por Gloria L

Aug 06, 2020

I am not too fond of the examples used

por Marilyn M

May 27, 2020

A lot of "okays?' Interesting class

por Charmaine

Aug 05, 2020

A bit boring, sometimes confusing.

por Roger K

Jul 09, 2020

Pretty heavy on the linguistics

por Emil

Jul 11, 2020

This was a strange course.

por Nicole R

May 22, 2018

Somewhat outdated videos.

por Ricardo S

Jul 13, 2020

No es lo que esperaba

por Deepali

May 17, 2020

Super