Chevron Left
Volver a Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments por parte de Universidad Duke

4.6
estrellas
2,189 calificaciones
594 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Principales reseñas

SM

Jun 11, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 588 revisiones para Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

por KLARCK N

Sep 22, 2017

Es un buen curso para comenzar. Permite comprender lo básico de la argumentación: identificar marcadores, supuestos implícitos (que no son evidentes) y, en definitiva, a entender mejor las cosas.

por Guilherme G V

Jul 23, 2020

I would like to give a special thanks to Professor Walter Sinnott-Armstrong for his incredible teaching and charisma. He is awsome. And thanks to Coursera for making this course available.

por Amelia T P

May 31, 2020

This course is very enjoyable. The instructor is engaging and have a sense of humor. The lessons and examples given here are clear even for myself which English isn't my native language.

por Librada M D v

Feb 23, 2018

Realmente fascinante, encantada con la coherencia e impresión de cotidianidad que le ponene a esto. Las preguntas exigen comprensión real del contenido y su aplicación a la realidad.

por Milecia M

Oct 12, 2016

This course goes super in depth on how arguments work. I learned things in this course that'd I'd never heard of before and it gave me a more critical view on how people say things.

por Pavel P

Jul 08, 2019

An extraordinary course that would help to make the right decisions, convey your thoughts to others and thinking in a structured and organized way. Highly recommended for everyone!

por Richard P F

Mar 04, 2019

The course gives a clear technical insights with regard to analysis of arguments which will help in better understanding it thereby promoting learning also on how to construct one.

por Emmanuelle P

Feb 19, 2018

I took it a while back before it was divided and did not pass, so now Im happy that it is divided, 1) to see if I understand better this time 2) to show that i did learn something.

por Orlando M

Feb 02, 2017

Este curso me ha ayudado mucho en mi vida personal y profesional. Gracias a todos los responsable de la preparación de este valioso material didáctico.

Saludos,

Orlando Maldoando

por Ali H

Jun 08, 2020

the course really pushes you to understand that there is more to an argument than originally meets the eye. it is worth taking the course to learn how to analyze an argument.

por Fran R

Jan 24, 2020

To me, this course is a Coursera classic. I really want to see the rest of the lectures related to this one, and it's a personal goal of mine to do so. Such a pleasant class!

por Andrew C

Jul 04, 2020

A very thorough taught subject . This is the first time I`ve taken a course on improving my critical thinking skills and this course really got me excited about learning it.

por Achal M

Feb 27, 2019

It is really appreciating to coursera for framing such a good course and very intellectually designed , you need to very attentive and analytical to understand and crack the

por emilio

Sep 16, 2019

A must for anyone looking for better writing or maths in reading proofs certainly is helpful to know what people is assuming in the proof so it is easier to understand it.

por Cynthia W

Jun 03, 2018

Brilliant course. The professor is engaging, the material is well organised and detailed without being obtuse or intimidating. One of my favourite Coursera courses so far.

por VINAYAK K

May 11, 2017

While I did previously realize the importance of presumptions in arguments, the course explained the importance of suppressed premises well. This course was really useful.

por Ru'Kaiel J

May 14, 2020

MOST excellent and informative course; I appreciate the presentation of the materials and how reasonable and personable the Professor presents the arguments. THANK YOU!!

por Fadhlan A A

Aug 17, 2020

This is a really good course with an entertaining speaker so I am not easily bored when doing this lecture. All of the theory with the examples are very understandable.

por Molly S

Jul 31, 2020

I really enjoyed how to break everything down in an argument and how to use close analysis to identify what is what in an argument. I am ready to go on to learn more!

por Hiranshi M

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great course! The videos and the exercises really help to make you understand the topics. Kudos to the professor in the videos for making it entertaining!

por Michelle D

Jun 11, 2020

Learnt a lot during the course. The professor was amazing. Everything taught made a lot of sense as first i was skeptical about it being so helpful. Thanks coursera

por Aiden K M

Jun 02, 2017

The instructor and the course content are excellent. The instructor is very knowledgeable and lively. The course content is well designed and very much on point.

por Daniela E

Jul 13, 2020

Great course. The professor is very clear in his explanations, and he really teaches in a way it is fun for students to understand and engage with the lectures.

por Alain M

Jul 22, 2018

Excellent course! It really makes a difference in providing you tool to analyze arguments. I recommend to buy the course book to better understand the clasess.