Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Obesity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Obesity por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.6
estrellas
393 calificaciones
101 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, we’ll look at the facts and misconceptions around obesity and discuss key physiological and psychological concepts around the brain’s control of appetite and body weight. We’ll consider the biological and environmental pressures that make it easy to gain weight (and hard to lose it!). Most importantly, we'll give you the opportunity to reflect on your own knowledge and assumptions around the subject. We deliver course materials as a mixture of videos, audio-only MOOCcasts, and a selection of short readings. There are short weekly quizzes, a peer-reviewed exercise, and discussion activities on the forum. These will help you prepare for the final project. In it, you are invited to demonstrate your evidence-informed understanding and express how you'll develop it beyond the course. The course features Citizen Science projects. We'll collect data from you (anonymously, of course) and use it to drive participant-led discussions of controversial ideas. In this way, we hope to explore ideas around diet and obesity. These projects also give a taste of how scientific evidence is collected and interpreted by scientists, and give some indication how much there still is to discover and understand....

Principales reseñas

DA
26 de abr. de 2021

Enjoyed every minute of this learning experience. Appreciate the layout of the course, content, relevance to my work, and the global needs of the current day! Thank you.

AD
18 de ago. de 2017

Very well addressed from different aspects. Helped forming a solid foundation to address the obesity problem as well as to make good food choices with portion control.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 101 revisiones para Understanding Obesity

por Karla i H V

20 de may. de 2021

Excelente

por Анарбеков Қ И

18 de ago. de 2020

Very good

por Тынышбек А И

18 de ago. de 2020

Very good

por mayada m m k e

19 de feb. de 2019

Very good

por Kaio M R

11 de ago. de 2017

Muito bom

por SHAKIL A

31 de ago. de 2020

amazing!

por Amna T

30 de ago. de 2020

amazing

por Mona A A

30 de may. de 2021

GOOD

por Elsemarie V d W

28 de abr. de 2020

Some interesting studies are mentioned, dispelling some common beliefs around obesity. I was hoping for more instructive conclusions that could be applied to assist in relieving obesity. I would like to receive a sporadic summary of truly useful action steps from the last assignment in the course when consolidated by the research team at the University of Edinburgh.

P.S.: item 2.3 seems to be missing from the structure of the course.

por Adhithya S

23 de abr. de 2020

This course was well constructed, it took a conversational approach of discussing and explaining the concepts. I felt that the instructors could have tried to summarize every session. It would have been beneficial. Overall a good insight into obesity and weight related disorders.

por Ange R

1 de oct. de 2017

Great for a podcast-type learning experience. I question some of the research results they mention, which is my only concern. Otherwise a great course and very educational! Corrects a lot of common misconceptions and does a good job of getting in-depth without being specialized.

por Helen B C

7 de may. de 2018

This course was really interesting, it covered a wide range of topics and supported assertions with evidence. It was quite quick and easy to complete, but I certainly learned new ways to tackle my own unhealthy eating habits. Thank you

por Monica

21 de ago. de 2017

Updated introduction and understanding of this popular topic in health. Worth to take time to learn not only for health promoter but those want to help friends and family members on this.

por Borbála B

2 de nov. de 2017

It is a great course but I didn't was so happy when I could only listen. I prefer the videos, this is why I give only 4 stars. But it was really interesting, thanks a lot!

por Afonso J

10 de ene. de 2018

Great experience

This was great experience, with thouthful insight’s.

Looking forward for STEP 2 - Episode 2, “UNDERSTANDING OBESITY_Univ Edinburgh”…

por Rosario C d l G V

27 de ago. de 2020

Course was great, but it was unfortunate many sections where blocked therefore,I took so long to complete it

por Kate B

7 de mar. de 2019

Why wasn't the world's sedentary lifestyle not discussed as a cause of weight gain?

por Dahlila V

29 de abr. de 2021

This is a great course for a beginner to take. Thank you.

por Dr. S

16 de sep. de 2020

Role of gut microbiota on obesity should be included

por Fumio S

19 de sep. de 2018

It was a very interesting lecture.

por Ahmad A

6 de ene. de 2018

thanks for an excellent course

por Julie M

24 de may. de 2021

Cool

por Leigh-Ann S

19 de feb. de 2017

A good introduction for "beginners", aka people who are not involved, educated or interested in public health, healthcare. Alternatively, seek another course because it is very simple.

por Sean W

13 de ene. de 2021

A Good Introduction to the field, certainly easy to absorb informative and short enough to establish the current areas of interaction in the realm.

I recommend.

por Iram A

6 de dic. de 2017

Because can only take the final quiz once and its not really related to what i studied... :(