Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat por parte de Universidad de Maryland en College Park

4.7
194 calificaciones
58 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence housed at the University of Maryland, offers a course looking at the who, what and how of Terrorism Studies, by introducing students to cutting-edge research from the social and behavioral sciences and the experts investigating these topics. The course will begin with a unit looking at widely held myths about terrorism and utilizing empirical data to discuss the realities of broad trends and patterns in terrorist attacks over time. The course will then review the psychological factors at play in individual radicalization and recruitment into terrorism, followed by an analysis of terrorist group dynamics. The course will next look at terrorist group operations, including their attacks and some of the supporting behaviors that allow them to carry out attacks, including use of media, financing, recruitment, and training. The course will conclude by looking at the factors that drive terrorist group persistence or endurance versus terrorist group desistance, and will bring the varied course concepts together through a detailed look at the case of Al-Qa’ida. Throughout the course, students will have the opportunity to study and work with the University of Maryland’s Global Terrorism Database (GTD), the largest database of terrorist incidents in the world, learning its capabilities and developing basic skills in searching and displaying terrorism data....

Principales revisiones

JC

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

DB

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 55 revisiones para Understanding Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat

por Halwest A S

May 15, 2019

AMAZING

por Neisha

Apr 13, 2019

I enjoyed the content and it's presentation. I feel like I gained a comprehensive understanding from this course.

por Ivan M

Mar 08, 2019

Great course to build upon existing knowledge of terrorism, media and the impact of terrorism internationally. Highly recommend.

por Shawn J K

Feb 20, 2019

Pretty good course! Some of the content is outdated but I am still likely to recommend it to others.

por Donovan M

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent and a wealth of information. It would have been 5 stars if the content was current to at least 2017/18.

por Eduardo F

Dec 21, 2018

Great Course.

Well presented

por Ivan A B C

Dec 03, 2018

excelente me entrego las herramientas necesarias para poder iniciar mi trabajo en el campo designado.

por Tan J F

Nov 18, 2018

Great Course!

por Dominic B

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

por sion p

Oct 19, 2018

Great course, really enjoyed it.

por James C

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

por Carlos A

Aug 16, 2018

Excellent Course!

por Md J

Jun 22, 2018

this is a great plot to learn...

por Kofi B

Jun 21, 2018

This course is amazing and very insigntfull

por Brunaud

Jun 15, 2018

Very useful and interesting cours .

por Udo H

May 04, 2018

Definitely raises the understanding of Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat and puts a lot of bias and preconditions into the "right light". Worth attending!

por José W B d S M

Apr 24, 2018

Very interesting content presented by very good professors .

por Sam B

Apr 16, 2018

Outstanding material and great use of the GTD

por abdirizak m h

Apr 06, 2018

helpfull

por Katarina M

Jan 15, 2018

Very good course, I got a lot out of it. Recommended for its clarity, organisation, scope of issues that it covers and the way they are presented.

por Kevin T

Jan 15, 2018

This is an excellent primer for someone looking to pursue more knowledge on the subject of terrorism. Although slightly dated and needs to be updated with all the changes that have transpired in past 5 years in the world of terrorist activities it is a well organized class that was educational and rewarding.

por Ahmad T B M S

Jan 01, 2018

A good and comprehensive introduction course on understanding terrorism.

por KATSIVARDEAS V

Dec 05, 2017

Excellent work!!!!!!

por Alejandro A B

Nov 28, 2017

Es un curso que abre la mente a quienes nos interesa el tema, y particularmente a los que vivimos en paises que no controlan ni tienen en cuenta estos tópicos.

por Andrew B

Nov 18, 2017

Just a great class. Very informative. Helps you understand the scope of the issues that surround the subject of terrorism and counterterrorism.