Chevron Left
Volver a The Unix Workbench

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Unix Workbench por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
836 calificaciones
251 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Principales revisiones

RW

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 251 revisiones para The Unix Workbench

por Manuel X D

Jan 20, 2020

The title and syllabus of this course reflect accurately its content. The progression from week 1 to 4 is steady and allows one to gain the skill set required to complete the project. Highly recommended to anyone interested in pursuing the study of any branch of data science.

por NB

May 02, 2020

I thought the course was very well organized and easy to follow with lots of good resources provided as an external link. I especially liked that it was divided into short-enough sections that I could squeeze in one section here and there when I found time to sit down.

por Miguel M G

Jan 05, 2019

This is a very good course. The contents are very organised and understandable. It would have been great some more videos and a little less text; the course is mostly based on reading materials. However, the quality of the text is quite good so I could not complaint.

por Tracy N

Sep 28, 2017

Excellent introduction to Unix shell programming. The coverage of regular expressions, git, and remote server access was better than I expected from an introductory class. Highly recommended, and I also recommend the companion book as a reference and learning aid.

por Luis F T R

Feb 06, 2020

El curso es excelente, sin duda alguna, aprendes lo básico sobre los comandos de consola, git, github, un poco de como funciona la nube, los ejemplos son buenos, pero podrían ser más profundos al igual que los ejercicios. Excelente curso para iniciar en Unix.

por Miguel R

Nov 12, 2019

Very useful, practical, motivational and inspiring course. It is notorious Mr. Sean Kross make the book with all the intention to share knowledge with people in a wonderful way. I feel impressed. Thank you to the team, to Coursera and to Mr. Sean Kross.

por Zhengguan L

Nov 20, 2018

Very good overall, I will give it 5 starts!!!

But small advice, since it is written in markdown, I hope we can use code blocks to make the keywords like unix command stand out which can help us easier to find it and give more clear context structure.

por Rodrigo

Nov 21, 2019

Very straight forward course that teaches you the basics of Linux, Git and Cloud. After this course Linux becomes easy to use and you can start learning more advance commands. I would recommend this course for those that want to start using Linux.

por Vipul G

Jan 27, 2018

Not only the course covered the Linux from basic to advanced but also gave a brief insight on cloud computing as well as GitHub which proved essentially useful and practical giving it an edge industrially over other courses. Thanks Sean Kross! :)

por Benjamin B

May 27, 2019

Excellent! Peer review was a great first experience, but very worthwhile to look at other's work after thinking hard about the problem myself. Very well structured - and I now feel confident on cloud computers, bash, and UNIX/GitHub.

por Steven B C

Apr 10, 2020

I am a retired broadcast engineer. I never worked in IT or programming, but I have used Linux at home for many years. This is a great course for Linux users that want to know more about Linux, Github and the cloud. Great course!

por Sunil S

Apr 24, 2019

Overall, the course was well structured and easy to understand. The mentors reply regularly to any questions posted in the discussion forums. A wonderful learning experience that introduces you to the command-line interface.

por Vladimir O

Oct 12, 2017

Thanks you for your curse, it was very helpful for me.

Plus: Classes about GitHub

Minus: Overview does not contain check that the script is working fine, I mean some scripts failed if a user tries to enter invalid information.

por Keenal S

May 12, 2020

I like how the discussion forum was so helpful and I was getting my questions answered within a day. The content is great, informative and to the point. The exercises and projects are great as well. Loved the course!

por Nikolay M

May 16, 2018

Great introduction to get to speed fast. I didn't know anything about command prompt, terminal, bash and Git before starting the course, and I have mastered it after completing the course. Highly recommended.

por Marshall

Jan 09, 2020

My only complaint is that there are a few typos in the course instructions that are not in the e-book. Other than that, this is a great course for beginners that offers many suggestions for further learning.

por Jerome C

Nov 08, 2017

Very good class! I learned so much stuff about how to manipulate files, write scripts to automate actions on my "file explorer", and some basics about using a remote server. The course is very entertaining.

por Carlos A

Jan 02, 2018

Nice course to get started. Most of the time when you might think "hmm, but what if..." you just keep reading and you will get the answer. I liked the course format and the selected examples. Thank you :)

por Vũ Q H

May 20, 2019

I really want to learn Unix and Git for a long time but I was struggled with finding a good resource to learn. Thanks to Coursera and John Hopkins University, this course gives me what i really expect to

por Ruiping W

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

por Pieter F P

Jun 07, 2018

Very good course. I had a fair working knowledge to begin with, but the course expanded my understanding and skills to where I can actively apply them in my work. It comes highly recommended.

por Dejan M

May 10, 2020

Even though I had some Unix background before, the course helped me to significantly improve my understanding of Unix. Thanks to whole team for providing this beautiful learning material.

por Каранько А С

Apr 17, 2020

I have warm feeling about this course. I received basic knowledge of unix commands, bash programming, Git tool. And practice lessons helped me to increase undestanding of this things.

por Ajeetkumar V

Dec 31, 2017

Nice content to get you started with Unix and it's power. It would have been good if it would have covered symbolic links and file structure. those are anyway covered in the book

por Prakhar T

May 26, 2019

The course was really interactive. It was a fun experience.

Would have been better if you had provided the learning experience in visual form rather readable.

Anyways Kudos!