Chevron Left
Volver a Applied Public History: Places, People, Stories

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Applied Public History: Places, People, Stories por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.8
estrellas
51 calificaciones
17 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces learners to applied public history: understanding and interpreting the past today, and engaging diverse communities in the practice of making and sharing histories. The course draws on project case studies, expert insights and diverse perspectives to model exciting approaches to researching and sharing the history of places and people. Learners will develop a toolkit to apply in their own practice, by participating in discussion, quizzes, creative activities and mini masterclasses. What kinds of stories can we discover through research into the history of places and people? How do we engage diverse communities with those stories today? What kinds of imaginative approaches can we use to interpret the past? And what tools and opportunities can we create to include new groups and individuals in local research initiatives? Led by the Centre for the History of People, Place and Community at the Institute of Historical Research, University of London – the UK’s national centre for history – this course investigates these questions and helps learners develop transferable approaches to their own local history and heritage interpretation....

Principales reseñas

OI
22 de abr. de 2021

I just will say that it worth every minute spent! Very inspiring, clear, interesting. Lot of examples. Boosts creativity even in such academic discipline as history. Beautiful speakers!

JB
19 de nov. de 2020

A very engaging course for anyone interested in public history. Helps in thinking creatively and about considering who is missing from your audience.

Filtrar por:

1 - 19 de 19 revisiones para Applied Public History: Places, People, Stories

por Claire R

12 de ago. de 2021

I have really enjoyed this course. It gives an excellent introduction to and overview to the subject of Applied Public History. It is very accessible and will give even beginners the confidence to devise or take part in public history projects. It will be a very useful toolkit for me to refer back too and I will be recommending the course to my colleagues.

por David H

20 de dic. de 2020

Very enjoyable course and inspires the use of social media and the internet to not only engage with the public, but to turn them into co-creators through crowdsourcing.

Well done

David, Christchurch, NZ

por Олеся И

23 de abr. de 2021

I just will say that it worth every minute spent! Very inspiring, clear, interesting. Lot of examples. Boosts creativity even in such academic discipline as history. Beautiful speakers!

por Janette B

20 de nov. de 2020

A very engaging course for anyone interested in public history. Helps in thinking creatively and about considering who is missing from your audience.

por Dr. R R

9 de dic. de 2020

Awesome course for those who really want to change the perspective towards the application pf human science in daily life.

por AIKATERINI C V

11 de feb. de 2021

Excellent combination of academic knowledge with a more down to earth practical approach to the subject.

por Stephen L

15 de feb. de 2021

Very professional and stimulating, with lots of good example projects to learn from.

por Aditia M P

26 de jun. de 2021

A lot of inspiraton for making the history relate for today. A very good Course

por Wildan H Y Z

24 de jun. de 2021

Awesome. Thank you University of London for giving us such a great explanation.

por Ven. K R T

13 de mar. de 2021

This is very helpful for improving historiography skills.

por Isobel A

26 de nov. de 2020

Super interesting and really well presented - thanks.

por Luiza K B

2 de sep. de 2021

Everything I expected; Excellent.

por NINO M

26 de ene. de 2021

Great experience!

por Viviane G d R

27 de feb. de 2021

Great course.

por José N J L

25 de mar. de 2021

It is a good introduction to Public History, not from theory and debates but from actual practices and experiences. The course could benefit from other experiences outside of London to, at least, give a glimpse of how does Public History work in other contexts. I learned a lot even though I had some prior Public History experience (from college and international conferences). I absolutely recommend this course for people remotely interested in History outside Academia.

por Kev B

5 de abr. de 2021

I have always been interested in history and I do have some familiarity with doing history from a more academic perspective. However I learned from this course that history has happened and is happening all around me. Gives me a new pair of eyes with which to view my surroundings...I do wish that this project had been a little more inclusive of doing public history in places other than London and the UK.

por Kathryn B

6 de oct. de 2021

This is a well devised course, with plenty of opportunities to explore the topics further. I enjoyed the quizzes which were well devised. I found the discussion forums less easy to negotiate, but appreciate the idea of these. Overall, this is a great way to build a toolkit of ideas to explore and communicate history, engaging others in co-creating projects.

por Peter R C

26 de mar. de 2021

This has been a very enjoyable course with lots of examples of different projects involving lots of different communities. The projects chosen illustrated the wide range of community history projects available.

por Janet F

13 de feb. de 2021

Very interesting perspectives. I would have liked more that related to small scale rural projects that could be undertaken with limited human and economic resources.