Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management por parte de Universidad de Virginia

4.7
stars
2,327 calificaciones
589 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Projects are all around us. Virtually every organization runs projects, either formally or informally. We are engaged in projects at home and at work. Across settings, planning principles and execution methodologies can offer ways in which projects can be run more effectively and efficiently. Project management provides organizations (and individuals) with the language and the frameworks for scoping projects, sequencing activities, utilizing resources, and minimizing risks. This is an introductory course on the key concepts of planning and executing projects. We will identify factors that lead to project success, and learn how to plan, analyze, and manage projects. Learners will be exposed to state-of-the-art methodologies and to considering the challenges of various types of projects. As a Project Management Institute (PMI®) Registered Education Provider, the University of Virginia Darden School of Business has been approved by PMI to issue 12 professional development units (PDUs) for this course, which focuses on core competencies recognized by PMI. (Provider #2122)...

Principales revisiones

SH

Mar 19, 2018

The course provided a good introductory lessons on project planning and management. The course was organized clearly with interesting exercises and the instructions were helpful. Thank you very much.

AK

Jun 26, 2019

Interesting course which covers all necessary topics in Project planning and management. The case study used in this course was very nice which helps even a beginner to understand the basics.

Filtrar por:

451 - 475 de 576 revisiones para Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

por Kuljeet K

Mar 01, 2017

Good

por Pedro O

Jul 25, 2016

I am

por IVETHA R

Aug 17, 2019

EX

por Seong E ( S

Aug 28, 2018

g

por Ratul M

Feb 08, 2017

G

por Alex H

Dec 13, 2015

This was my first online course and I like it a lot. The course was well structured, well taught and covered relevant aspects of project planning and project management. It made me think about things I or our company is not doing (I'm not a project manager but impacted by it). And it gave me some tools to improve on individual and on company level. Everything was very practical and insightful. The cases helped as well and I liked the YouTube material. If there were topics that I would like to have had more information, then on Agile Project Management, as this becomes more and more important in my industry. And then it would have been helpful to get more insights on how to estimate time and especially budgets, knowing that this course is not about financial or ressource planning and understanding that these aspects vary from company to company and from project to project. Nevertheless it might have helped (me) but the course provided everything to figure it out anyway. Overall I can recommend this course for a solid base and inspiration in project planning and project management.

por Aneesh V

Apr 23, 2019

As the name suggests, this course offers various tools and techniques for PM at an introductory level. While the content of the course was good, an area of improvement would be in the execution of the case studies. I believe that they really held the key for a complete understanding, by providing an opportunity (in a virtual setting) to assess when and how to apply these tools. Case studies were present in every section of the course and I tried to make the best of it. However, it was more like a 'comment' section, since our assessments were not appraise/evaluated. Or it would have been appreciated if a 'correct assessment' was provided (after submitting our answers of course). Hope the course is updated in this respect.

por Umar S

Oct 30, 2016

i like how the course covers metrics to track project tracking and how lecturer walks you over how to do plan projects in MS project. I feel like i can plan my projects better with the knowledge I've gained to create WBS. However, I do feel that at times the professor superficially covered subjects that i'd like her to delve more into. For example, dealing with complexities and ambiguity as a form of risk. The least she could have done is supplemented a useful article. She also doesn't talk about PERT, but implies it in her risk variance lecture (e.g., in her Tornado Chart). I also noticed that she condenses the 5 PMBOK phases into 4 by amalgamating Monitoring and Control with Execution.

por Rona B

Mar 05, 2018

Good overview of the full cycle of project management. the instructor was personable and presented professionally. The first two week's material was much easier to understand than the last. I felt the instructor went from beginner to intermediate, when the entire class should have been beginner . Students unfamiliar with project management terms and processes will have to view the lessons several times. While reading all the recommended support materials is not necessary to pass the course, it is critical to really understand the concepts covered.

por Tony O

Feb 21, 2017

This is a great introductory course to project management. The material is delivered very well and the material well chosen. The only negative I have is that some of the lectures are quite long, compared to other online courses I have done and I think would have benefited from some mini quizzes during the lectures to keep the student engaged and ensure that the material stuck. In the past I have worked as a project manager on software projects and I wish I had taken this course before starting the job. It would have helped a lot.

por Daniel D

Dec 29, 2016

The course was quite interesting and provided lots of literature sources for further reading. The instructor was lovely and pleasant-to-listen. The content was very easy to understand and pretty diverse. However, I was not satisfied with the fact this MOOC can be finished by passing 4 simple tests in order to achieve the grade. I definetely wanted to practice the knowledge deeper in the weeks' assignments.

por SHAMILLAH N

May 29, 2017

It was a very informative course for me and in my opinion the Professor explained it in such a nice and simple way and made it much easier to understand. I would have loved it however if we could have had more direction on the software tools and how to use them as the directions provided don't really show you how to use these tools effectively. This would have made it an even greater experience.

por Willem

Jan 18, 2017

Good and interesting course on the basics of project management. Videos are very clear and the information is good accessable. It could be stuffed in 1 week but spread it out over 4 weeks is better to let it sink in. It may be interesting to add a quick overview of other management styles, for example, for projects with very high uncertainties and different types of business.

por Ananth G

Nov 29, 2015

A very good insight into the basics of Project planning, easily executable strategy and MSprojects intro was eye-opener. Tried on one small project and was able to feel the difference before the course came to an end. Thankyou very much. Some more information and detailing required in project execution(week 4).

por Fritha J

Nov 20, 2016

An overall excellent course. 4-stars are attributed purely because of the limitations of when a quiz can be re-sat (twice in 7 days). This elongated the duration of the course.

The material learnt within the course has been immediately applicable in my job - with success.

por Pablo N

Mar 09, 2016

I like the course but I have a problem:

Within the task and figure that I passed but within the "Tasks " section no. And I passed the rest of the work and I still do not get the course certificate. What should I do?

A lot of peoble have the same problem.

por Chedza O P

Feb 18, 2018

I had a really wonderful time learning. She gave examples that were easy to learn. Made the calculations not look as overwhelming as they normally would to me. I'm very happy with the ease of learning and how much knowledge I picked up

por Luca B

Mar 30, 2016

The course is very well designed and the instructor is very clear and engaging! Moreover, a lot of useful tools and techniques are shown during sessions. Case studies could be improved, starting from the quality of videos and contents.

por Zoe G

Jun 12, 2017

Overall a good overview course. The course could have benefited from a wider variety of more complex examples. I was also disappointed that the instructor referred to all references to project managers as "him" or "he."

por Ilya L

Dec 27, 2015

It is a very good and intensive course of project management. Some pieces of information have been provided little bit balled, which made me make mistakes in quizzes. However I enjoyed all the stuff. Thanks a lot!

por Ashokkumar S

Dec 28, 2015

Excellent coaching by professor Yael Grushka Cockayne. Its explained in simple language that any one can easily understand. I happy with the way course moves and enjoying studying in my leisure time.

Ashokkumar S

por Yina G

Oct 31, 2016

This is a good fundamental course for the engineers like me who did not have any experience in the project management. I wish the course could include more examples to help us to understand better. Many thanks!

por Gustavo H P G

Nov 09, 2015

Es un curso muy bien planeado sobre todo por que da el enfoque de desarrollo de proyectos desde un punto de vista de un país desarrollado donde tambien muchos proyectos son exitosos pero tambien otros fracasan.

por Stuart M K

Dec 08, 2015

A really good course. I especially like the practical supplementary lectures on MS Project and Excel. Would be better if the assessments took on more challenging formats than just multiple choice quizzes.

por Cao H B T

Dec 31, 2015

Great course! For a know-nothing person like myself, this course has given me an opportunity to understand one of the most interesting and detailed-oriented subjects to learn. Definitely recommend!