Chevron Left
Volver a Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Story and Narrative Development for Video Games por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.7
estrellas
880 calificaciones
217 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Principales reseñas

DA

Nov 07, 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

RB

Feb 24, 2016

I am glad that I have chosen to sign up to this course. It has open up my vision to a whole new world. Thanks so very much. The professor is engaging and the course content is fascinating.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 208 revisiones para Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

por Laurene S

Feb 14, 2017

This is a very interesting course to learn the essentials of creating characters and stories that are captivating for the players, and how to ensure that your story works as a game. I really liked the assignement marked by peers.

por Jhon S R M

May 25, 2020

I really like the course, the feedback with other people really help, and although its a problem when there isn't sufficient people, in general i think that the course is good.

PS: the teacher is really good, I learnt a lot!

por Bojan P

Jan 27, 2016

This course is amazing for everyone who wants to learn more about story writing and presenting it, which than can be used for video games, but also for anything else as well.

Great course, my best recommendations.

por Alexandra

Oct 21, 2015

I was pretty upset by finding out there will be no Fran at this course, but Dariush is an amazing teacher too! I love how the material presents and exercises and examples are very interesting! 5 stars, no doubts!

por Miguel A P G

Jun 15, 2020

I really enjoyed every week. The course provides a lot of precious information on story writing for video games and I think it is a great complement for those who can't attend an university course in the area.

por Ignacio J M

Nov 23, 2015

A very interesting course about a subject that is probably overlooked by many gamers in favour of fun.

A compelling story (as well as memorable music and striking graphics) is what makes games an art form.

por Tushar L

Sep 09, 2020

Thank you for this course. It was very intuitive, learned a lot about how to expand the game story in terms of "game-play", and how to write synopsis, character briefs and Game Story Presentation Scheme.

por Carlos E E S

Dec 31, 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

por Rosana B

Feb 24, 2016

I am glad that I have chosen to sign up to this course. It has open up my vision to a whole new world. Thanks so very much. The professor is engaging and the course content is fascinating.

por Liv

Mar 07, 2019

What a fun course! Really made me think about writing, how to turn a story into a game, and how to ideate and create bigger concepts from small ideas. Loved watching all the videos!

por Shuchao C

Nov 16, 2015

The instructor carefully illustrates all points necessary for wring a game story. The logic is extremely clear, course materials intact and homework amount is decent for students.

por Adrianisa K S

Jan 09, 2019

The course is delivered very nicely with well-thought reading materials and lots of practicing. Like they always say, practice makes perfect.

Thank you for sharing the knowledge!

por Panagiotis A

Sep 28, 2020

Great instructor, very good material used for guidance and all concepts were fairly easy to understand. Highly recommend for beginners interested in narrative and story design.

por Steven V

Nov 01, 2015

The basics of this course are well defined and prepare you for proper story and narrative development in video games. I like the step-by-step process this course takes.

por Denis P

Apr 05, 2020

This is an absolutely stunning course, I feel like I've learnt a huge amount about narrative architecture, pacing, character development and gamification. Thank you!

por Devin C

Dec 14, 2015

Big fan of the last two assignments. Re-writing the game was fun, and made it more interactive with the rest of the class, seeing how others would change the story.

por Prakarsh D

Sep 07, 2020

Helped me a lot in building story for my game. A great short course for understanding narrative development in video games. Highly recommended for game designers.

por Xavier E

Apr 22, 2020

Great great great great course ! Dariush is very passionate about giving it, and the whole structure of his teaching is absolutely brilliant !!! MILLION THANKS !

por Guo T

Sep 04, 2017

Love how you dedicate yourself in the course making, great interpretation over the making of a story, and how they can developed into a game. Most grateful!

por Andrew T

Dec 06, 2015

This course is pretty cool. I actually learned a lot about analyzing narratives and writing that I hadn't really considered before... It's totally worth it.

por Sohaila A

Mar 12, 2019

i really loved every single bit of it. i loved the topics discussed, the way i was taught to think and get the ideas out so thanks alot. you are great.

por Wallace N O

Feb 22, 2016

It was not easy, I admit... but it was an awesome course, after this one i finished the four courses and I'm totally happy with everything I learned!!!

por Ekaterina S

Feb 28, 2018

Loved the coarse and especially the teacher! Was a real pleasure to listen to such a well constructed lectures. And the assignments very interesting.

por Денис

Jan 21, 2017

This is a great course! Very strong teacher and useful material. It's cool that you used in course for cases blizzard game Starcraft 2. I like it.

por Philipp v S

Mar 30, 2017

The course was very interesting and helpful! I learned a lot and the presented techniques are very helpful in all kinds of different projects!