Chevron Left
Volver a Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Story and Narrative Development for Video Games por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.7
estrellas
779 calificaciones
187 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Principales revisiones

CS

Dec 31, 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

DA

Nov 07, 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 178 revisiones para Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

por John L N d S

Oct 28, 2016

It was a great course and I`ve learned a lot with him!

I recommend for all student who want to get start on game design area.

por Marina Z

Aug 01, 2016

Course materials are a little bit obvious, but I really like the original version of The Shooter and Jane's personality

por Jorge T

May 16, 2016

The course is fun, but as the previous part of the specialization a bit simple for what it charges for the certificate.

por Paul B

Dec 04, 2015

Fun, interesting, good pacing and case studies. Instructor was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and presented material well.

por Eduardo B M

Jul 30, 2019

This really makes you work hard. Lots of writings. Definitely a good way to practice how to create a Game document.

por Sérgio C C

Mar 22, 2016

I liked the course. To improve, could become more dynamic , but the teacher is to be congratulated .

por E. C C

Aug 14, 2017

Great course for expanding your writing skills in relation to storytelling in games.

por Daniel

Feb 24, 2016

This course gives actionable ideas about design characters and story lines.

por Antonia P C

May 30, 2017

I enjoyed a lot this course, showed quite well technics and tips to write

por Anirudh C

Dec 17, 2018

pretty interesting. so many aspects to learn about story writing.

por Carlo S C

Sep 10, 2016

A nice course, but there is lack of teachers participation.

por Mikiodelg

Nov 17, 2015

Really nice way to know hot to present a Story!

por Ruaan G

Nov 30, 2018

Best part of this specialization

por 万锦阳

May 04, 2017

The course was good!

por Petros K

Dec 03, 2015

quite enjoyable :)

por Fernando B B

Sep 29, 2017

Great course!

por Shanna S

Mar 19, 2019

This course was a little bit a shock for me. It had no continuity with the previous one, which was kinda a pity. Also, I had a hard time with the last two homework of week 3 and week 4, since a ''story'' is imposed to you, and you have to re-write within that...I would have preferred that we did the same exercise with the kid story chosen in the first two lessons(week 1 and 2). I wouldn't recommend it if you have already experience with writing because it was very discouraging for me, I almost wanted to skip the course, but I want that specialization so I had to complete it. But if you don't have experience in writing at all, maybe it could help you because the teacher explains to you his method to help you find your ideas for building your narrative, and also for describing your characters and their motives etc.

por Brit T

Nov 17, 2016

I appreciate knowing more now than I did before about story writing. I know better now how to approach assessing a story and critiquing it, and I really want to work on a story of my own next!

Not going to lie, though, this course was difficult to immerse myself in simply because of the examples: I'm not into guns, not into muscle, not into violence, and every single example was either of men, or how a female's mission centered around the men in her life. If I could suggest a change in this course, it would be to consider all the different backgrounds of the people taking the course, and give examples that are more inclusive.

por vanessarocks

Mar 01, 2018

I like that the instructions and lessons are easy to follow for a beginner. I am not a hardcore gamer but still I was able to understand the lessons and the examples given were quite helpful. What could be improved though is the Peer Review mechanics - I have submitted my assignment early but the review of my work came late. I don't want to pay for the course again in the next month, I really wanted to finish on time, but apparently that is not even in your control even if you submit on time.

por Kristen F

Aug 17, 2017

This was ok, but not really for me. I feel like this can be very helpful for some who struggle with story and narrative writing, but for those who have taken courses and studied this already, it was repetitive and tiresome.

por M L W

Oct 17, 2016

Concepts are interesting, the assignments are not. Writing and re-writing about the teacher's generic game example. Not much opportunity to work on your own content.

por Tatiana W

Sep 20, 2018

Great course content but only 3 stars because after being finished for over a month I am still waiting for someone to review my final assignment.

por Juan C D M

Dec 24, 2015

The course is ok, but it doesn't give any certificate of completition for free users (something that many other courses do give).

por Deborah M M

Nov 19, 2015

Good overview of narrative and a breakdown of key story elements such as character and setting.

por レヷブレート サ

May 14, 2016

The material is OK, but it just felt so boring